Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 156 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 245 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written byBadBass2001 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2017

Depends....

It depends on the kid of what he or she does. It has some bad stuff in it but you can moniter and make the account private. Its a fun app but can get adictive. Be sure of what the kid is doing because he or she can do some bad stuff pretty quickly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2017

Musical.ly

I think that this app entertains kids from ages 10 and higher. This app is a lip sync app where kids can lip sync to songs by any artist. If you are worried about your child getting this app, they can have a private account, where only their friends or people that they let can see their videos. Also, parents can create an account for themselves so that they can follow their kid(s) and watch their videos and see what they are doing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bytt16632 January 18, 2017

treniece

i think we should do a good commitey and i live in mexcio and w elom
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2017

Musical.ly Review from a Kid's perspective

Musical.ly is a fun app, where you can lip sync to your favorite songs. While being all fun and games, its also a social media app where you have your typical: followers, likes, comments, views, ect. It's not like that necessarily makes it bad but you should be aware that there are not many restrictions. If you are a parent that isn't so sure about this app, your child can always put their account on private. I think maybe kids around 8,9,10 should maybe wait a couple years but around 11 years old is probably when I think kids understand what to post and what not to. It also really just depends on the kid. Musical.ly is kid-friendly for the most part but does have some iffy language here and there. I think if you and your kid are just starting out this whole social media thing, musical.ly is a good place to start.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old January 6, 2017

Interesting

Very fun to watch friends and family, but there is some inappropriate content, like all social media. Just don't talk to strangers and don't trust anyone. It is not musical.lys fault if a child is posting songs with bad choices. For mature kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byscreamteamlotta December 29, 2016

For teens

Okay it says in the rules of musical.ly you have to be 13 or older. Yes there is a lot of swearing, but it is pretty fun. Kids, don't use it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bystealthgamer December 18, 2016

Good App For A Mature Child

The sexual content and language depends on how much/where your child browses. If your kid is going to be on Music.ly, I would recommend them to only browse through crowned musers (Jacob Sartorius, Jojo Siwa, etc.) and their friends. As far as the quality goes, Music.ly is fun and has many creative ways to make and edit your own videos.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written by22bradleyb December 14, 2016

Britney's review

I think it is the best because it has been the most amazing app ever seen.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bydisney_girl4 December 10, 2016

Really Fun

This app is really fun, especially with friends and family. They have put in a DM box and filters which I think is pretty cool but the filters aren't very attractive. There are also thousands of songs that you could choose. (A lot have cuss words.)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Written byAnonymous December 9, 2016

Boring and Shallow Excuse for Social Media

musical.ly is one of the most boring apps I have ever been on. Sure, it's a way to interact with friends, bur who wants to see a bunch of tweens bobbing their heads and lip syncing to sped up songs? Not to mention the interface is really glitchy. musical.ly is a total waste of time. Get something fun like snapchat or Instagram instead.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byTyler Brown November 28, 2016
Kid, 9 years old November 26, 2016

Are you kidding me?

Everybody is like "Oh my god if you type in (so and so) porn will show up!" Do you REALLY think kids and tweens will search that? Also, you can make private accounts where nobody can see your videos unless you approve. Swearing is really not a big issue your child probably knows a lot if not all of them unless they are extremely sheltered. I mean elementary school kids still swear! I can tell you this and I'm in 4th grade! About sex, well maybe your child won't be as innocent, but hey, kids have gotta grow up. If they hear a sexual song it's not like they're gonna copy everything and have sex behind your back! Goodness gracious these people are overprotective! God!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byDavis21savage2016 November 11, 2016

Advisory board meeting

The best thing about musically is you can make your own videos.
Teen, 14 years old Written bymiss_rican November 5, 2016
Teen, 14 years old Written byteen.14 years old. October 22, 2016

Good for mature tweens and older

This is a wonderful app! I love being able to lipsinc to music. You can direct message people, but there is a setting that only allows people you follow to dm you. I have had a private account since i was 11 and think that this is the way to go. With a private account, you get to choose who can follow you and view your videos. Although there is some mild swearing and suggestive dancing, it isn't enough to make me leave the app. It is difficult to find the VERY inappropriate things, unless you actually look. I personally have not looked and have not seen anything to suggestive.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old October 21, 2016

Amazing

i really think this app is amazing. Its really for everyone. You can make super fun 16 seconds videos like Comedy, Top hits . I also really think its really well orginized

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byhaileymaria139 October 19, 2016

Its not that harmful

This game is okay for 12 and older! People are saying its 16-18 but really I'd say its for 12 year olds. I am a musical.ly user myself.

DOWNLOAD THE APP ITS THE BEST!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old October 16, 2016

Awesome app!

I think young kids should be allowed to use this app. Kids that are really young should have their parents monitor their accounts. Their are swear words, but kids have the choice not to sing them or not lip sync them. Overall, this app is awesome, but if you are worried about your child's safety, just run their for them.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLizzie's Llamas October 15, 2016

Just some background....

Basically, as with any social media app, this app was meant to be good, and some people made it not great. Many kids are 9, 10, 11 using this app, but it physically says ages 13 and up! Just beware that it is meant to be used by teens. There is also some ...interesting.... content the app tries to hide this stuff pretty successfully, but some popular songs do swear. That's pretty much it though.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages