Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 161 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 252 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byBethan painter July 19, 2019

Anger teen

This app is extremely annoying I cried to create an account and I use all the ages and every time it said I am On eligible for the app thanks anyway
Now o have deleted this app and I hope that however made it feel bad
Teen, 13 years old Written bygracylowe July 16, 2019

Depends on the kid

I just turned 13 but i’ve Had the app since the app was musical.ly and the app does have lots of videos with cuss words but most likely if your child goes to public so or probably even private or when they walk out of the door of your house to go to a friends house they are most likely going to hear way worse things and if you don’t believe that kids should act like that or do then as long as you trust your child let them have the app but you can download on your own phone and logging to there own account anytime as long as you know the password by logging into your child’s account you can see previous messages your child has received or sent you can see the videos they have been liking, there followers and the videos your kids are following and the videos they’ve been posting i recommend setting up the account to your phone number so you can change the password anytime you please and don’t have to worry about your child changing it.
Teen, 14 years old Written bylizzie.k July 12, 2019

Not like Musical.ly at all

i’ve had this app since the musical.ly days, and lemme say it’s changed. when the app was first bought and renamed TikTok, the app was just like it used to be. But now, it’s full of sexual content, swearing, and viowlncw. I think teen 14+ should be okay this app. no one below that age. i wish they brought back musical.ly

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Kid, 10 years old July 11, 2019

Adult Content

inappropriate
Teen, 13 years old Written byabigail_hallmon July 4, 2019

Kids under 13 think they know what the sounds mean but they don’t.

Younger kids shouldn’t be on this app. It has sexual sounds and other sounds that 13 and under shouldn’t use. There’s kids on there that are 11 or 10 or whatever. And they cuss and saying things they shouldn’t be. But parents,watch out for your kids on this app. It’s a fun app but there’s sounds your kids shouldn’t use.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 3, 2019

Why is it even a thing

This app is no good to kids. If you use ipads, iPods or iPhones in your household use family sharing were their devices will ask you if they can get it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written bykira khan June 30, 2019
Teen, 14 years old Written byIReallyLikeFood June 21, 2019

Screw this I just want the damn app

Like of course there’s swearing? But that’s completely normal? Like, if your kid isn’t homeschooled they probably can’t walk through the halls without hearing at least three different cuss words? Honestly, some parents are so overprotective. And sure, sexual stuff, yada yada, but once again, your 13 year old is probably used to at least HEARING, about it. If they’re a girl, she and her friends probably talk about it at lunch. Seeing suggestive positions won’t hurt her. But if they’re a boy, then screw you, I know nothing about them.
Kid, 12 years old June 16, 2019
TikTok is definitely an app where anything goes. I put my review as kids ages 13 and up because I think that kids already have heard most curse words and other inappropriate stuff at school or at other places. It really depends for each parent. If you don't want your child exposed to some of this stuff, than do NOT let them on the app. They will find it in every corner of the app. If you think your chld is mature enough, than they should be able to handle themselves on the app. Other things to note are

Tik Tok has an option called "restricted Mode" which is supposed to filter through innapropriate content for anyone under the age of 13. This does absolutely nothing. My friend has it on her phone, and we saw all sorts of bad and sexual content.

TikTok was recently fined 6 million dollars for illegally collecting childrens' data. Be mindful when using the app. Hope this review helped.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byteatreeoil7 June 16, 2019

really fun

im a teenager, and i love tiktok. its a fun app to express yourself, make funny videos, and much more. but, the app has a few downsides. there's violence and other stuff like that. the app is for 13+, but i think it should be 10+.
Teen, 14 years old Written byPkndecidedchoice June 9, 2019

Inappropriate

It’s really disappointing as a kid to write this!But Tik tock is not a place for kids. And Tik tock moderators are trash! They say it’s a safe place. No! They also have report button but it doesn’t stop it. I think this app is disgusting. It’s only for grown ups!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byI.like.muffins June 8, 2019

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 16 years old Written byLyndenJep May 27, 2019

Can be inappropriate

It's a fun app to be on but I have encountered extremely in appropriate adults on it

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old May 27, 2019

cringey as heck :/

honestly, its just terrible. there are a bunch of young kids (like, 8 year olds??) trying to look cool and sometimes trying to look funny, alothough its a place where some memes are born (hit or miss, i guess they never miss, huh?) some of those kids end up ruining it. a lot of people here are saying that they're seeing porn, yet i havent run into any, although i guess i dont use the app that much. :p also, one more thing i wanna say, you can make your videos eitheir private (only you can see them), friends only (only mutal followers can see them), and public (everyone can see them).
Teen, 13 years old Written byiamhere May 13, 2019

MUST READ FOR ALL PARENTS

Any Age Ok, so tiktok isn't really that bad. Many younger kids use it fine. If you are under 13, you aren't even able to share your videos, so nothing is posted. It is basically another camera app. This is why it's appropriate for any age. However, if your kid does what most kids under 13 do and lie about their age they will be able to post their video. With this they have the abilty to make their account private so only approved followers can see their videos. Note that ALL ACCOUNTS ARE PUBLIC BY DEFAULT, so your kid will need to switch their account to private if you want them to. If they have a public account, anyone can see their videos, but they can still block people who are hating. Safety isn't really a major issue, just make sure your kids know not to give out any private information (where they live, how old they are, their full names, etc) to strangers. I think it is fine for kids to put their first names in their bio, but putting their last could be risky. There is some swearing, but if your kids know not make videos using songs that swear that should fine (or if you don't mind them swearing). There is absolutly NO nudity or anything and if someone tries to post a video revealing innappropriate parts tiktok will delete. There is not really anything about sex and if your kid is young it will probably go over their head, but if they are older, I would give the "The Talk" if you haven't already.I would personally let my kid get this app, because a lot of kids use and you don't want them to be the social misfit but that's just my opinion. I reccomend you said rules with your child such as if they can get it or not, if they can lie about their age, if their account needs to be private, who they should block, if they can or can't swear, and stuff like that. I think tiktok is often misunderstood for a bad app when it's really not. I think this app is appropriate for kids of any age who know how to follow their parents rules.Its a really fun app.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkrrtGod May 6, 2019

Dope AF

Just so dope.
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Incarnation... April 15, 2019

no

oh god please no

I am the Incarnation of Suffering and even I think TikTok is cancerous.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bysadpibull April 13, 2019

horses in the back

i think its pretty fun myself. but if you get offended easily. you will be offended

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 12, 2019

Stupid app

Seriously common sense? 16+? I think I once saw a 4 year old on the app, getting famous. The app is stupid, cringey kids doing things they think are "cool" and then getting money. If your kid wants to become famous off of tik tok, tell them it ain't happening cause most famous tik tok users are very harshly critisized and disliked. There are a bunch of ways to make your child's account managed so it could be fine for private things like watching friend's tik toks and stuff
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2019

TikTok

TikTok is appropriate if you get a private account. There is an optional private account, which I personally have. You can communicate with friends in a fun way and it’s fun to see your friends videos, you can also decide if you want your profile available to find, you can choose if your video is published and shown to everyone or you can keep it private. TikTok’s fun and I hope you get the app!

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages