Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 152 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 239 reviews
Kid, 9 years old July 9, 2016

Musically

Well, musically is great application and though it includes language, you can make sure your child agrees to not doing musicals with that in it. Accounts can also be made private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 9 years old July 5, 2016

So Fun!!!

This is a very fun and easy app. You can have a private account so that only people you know will be able to see your posts. If you are young I would recommend a private account. I hope you like Musical.ly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byApap123 July 5, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bylaurel123 June 30, 2016

Teen friendly app

I am a 14 year old girl who had musical.ly and thought it was an ok app, not due to lack of safety, just lack of entertainment and value. I think that it is an appropriate app for those older than 12/13, and still should be checked in on once in a while.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2016

Fun, silly lip synchs.........some swearing/safety concerns

This is a great app for tweens and teens alike! However, beware swearing in certain songs, there is no censor. I have a private account, where only my friends can see what I am posting. I have been on musical.ly for a few months now, and I have seen no sexual content. You can report and block people who are mean/innapropriate. Overall, this app is a super fun way to interact with your friends and listen to music. This is for mature 10/11 year olds (suggest private account), but mostly 12 and up!

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old June 29, 2016

Parents need to chill

now, being a user of it, and personally knowing many people of my age group (tween) who use it. I can advise you that it is one of the safest social medias. Musically will defenitly let you have a private account, and only let people who your child knows follow them. Yes, there are hashtags. But if your account is private, then you wont show up there. There is an option to only let friends Direct Message them. And if some icons, or content has pornographic imagery, then if your kid is responsible they'll tell you. There is suggestive and sexual language, but they're not giving the kids that song and only that song, they have a choice to not pick the song, ans listen to the small snippet of it before creating the video. Like I said, if your kid is responsible, then they would not pick the song. There are WAY to many parents on here saying 18+ rating, ONLY because of language. If your kid is 6 years old and using this, WHAT ARE YOU DOING? You read the reviews if you left one, right? Your kid should know what swear words mean. And you're right, they don't know what they're doing saying those things. I can tell you that 99.999% of teens and tweens are COMPLETELY innocent. I can guarantee you that this app is safe. If you still don't belive me, then check their phone, tablet, ect., and make sure that they're following your rules and being safe. Thank you, and goodbye *jumps off soap box*

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byZozo1234 June 25, 2016

Musical.ly should be 9+

I think that it should be ages 9+ because you can interact with others, but also have a private account, then others cannot see your musical.ly. Personally I have musical.ly and it isn't that bad for kids.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2016

Parents are Butthurt

Honestly, I was looking through the parent reviews and they are butthurt. In my experience, I haven't seen any mature, porn, or graphic material. Now some of the songs may have bad/graphic words but all kids already know about those words so why hide it from them. Also if you don't want people that you don't know watching your musicals then put your account on private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old June 5, 2016

Great app...but innapropriate

First this app is very fun to use and it makes people very happy. But most of the songs on the app have bad language in them. Even thought musical.ly says no bad language you can search a hashtag post and type the first two or three letters of the word and it will come up. Also I have heard that older people are trying to track down kids on this app. I would recommend a private account. But you would have to still be very safe. There is a hashtag called #adult which means innapropriate thing and some people are naked. I have heard this from other moms that have explored the app. So overall this app is great, but be very careful.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old June 5, 2016

not that bad to get the rating 16=

in this game you can film you or you and a friend doing something to music. all types of curse words can and are used(f---a--s----b-----etc) stuff can be reported (this next part is for adults) it dose ask for your birth year but only you can see it and if it is younger than 13 it won't let you play. OVERALL: this game is not so bad 14/15 years (12 if you reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllly want to play now of soon)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written bywizardortitan June 3, 2016

Fun app, but it's easy to get caught up in negative/explicit behavior.

A risk with every social media app is narcissism, and something I've noticed in my own sister is an obsession with fans/likes, which is no good. Use in those under 13 should definitely be regularly monitored; some songs offer clean versions to lipsync to, others do not.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byFruitella May 31, 2016

Great if your responsible

People keep saying that there are bad songs that you can lip sync to which you can, I am not disagreeing but you can have easier access of those songs on somewhere like YouTube which is supposedly harmless according to most parents. I think that this app is harmless if your a child above 12 years old or your are mature because if you are responsible you know what songs to lip sync and what not- if you don't know what a word means, don't use the song and there are millions of clean versions of songs to use, so no need to worry. If your child isn't responsible you can always you safety controls and check what your child is looking at before they do it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 30, 2016

Use Responsibly

At the age 11 I got this app. I have used it responsibly and just used nice or funny music.lys, Tips to keep safe and be responsible; Account on private (only friends can see videos) Only accept follow requests from people you have met Don't do music.lys with swear words in until you're old enough to say them aloud. Don't post a video you would be embarrassed to show your mum/nan/auntie.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old April 22, 2016

Depends

Just know that you or your child should beware to NEVER put any personal stuff on this app. And for younger kids or tweens, you should make it a personal or private account. But it is very fun! I love it, and found a few of my favorite songs from this app!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bytrmanning02 April 19, 2016

Musical.ly

I got this app at 12 and think that is totally fine for anybody that age. The only thing to watch out for is really the language and messages in songs.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byDancer4evr April 16, 2016

Musical.ly

Its an innocent app that lets you lip-sync to different audios from comedy to dance. You can also record your own voice as well. Some videos from others are somewhat inappropriate. There is a "private" setting and I would recommend turning it on to prevent random people seeing you online. Some pre-recorded audios do have foul language or inappropriate topics but other than that it is fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2016

Musically is awesome

This app lets kids express themselves in their own way and this app is also great for kids who are bullied it helps raise their self esteem

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old March 23, 2016

Very Safe and Fun App!

Musical.ly is a fun and ( In my eyes ) a very safe app! Basically you just lip sync to songs and you can add really cool effects and stuff. There are some songs with bad language in them, but if you let your child get this app you can make sure that they avoid that! Musical.ly is probably not the best app for younger children but children at least 9 could use this app with no problems!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byilovemoviesandtv March 17, 2016

Fun, entertaining, but watch out for sexual content!

The app musical.ly is really fun for teens, but the "musers" lip-synch to some pretty risqué songs. Be careful if your kid wants to be a muser, because they might not know what they are saying!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old February 29, 2016

You Have To Be 13+

On Musical.ly, the whole idea is to lip-sync but it's about being careful what you are lip-syncing to. Some of the reviews mentioned that all the songs on musical.ly are sexually oriented but, it's not. They give you a choice of which song to sing. So that's why I say 13 because your child should and will know what songs to lip-sync to and what not to lip sync to.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages