Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 161 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 254 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byMwert567 March 26, 2018
Teen, 13 years old Written bycutecat1234 March 21, 2018

good if your responsible

if you know what videos to watch its fine

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlphaZulu March 21, 2018

Meh

So, first of all, it is relatively easy to use. The UI does feel somewhat cluttered, but it isn't bad. Of course, like with any social media app, or even any online app, there will be safety and privacy concerns, and parents should ensure their child is staying safe. The app does feature swearing and colourful language, mainly because it is playing real songs. There doesn't appear to be any sort of filtering for this colourful language, but as long as your child does understand what's bad to say and what's VERY bad to say, they should be fine using the app. I myself also believe the concept of the app is bad, but there are other reviews that explain that in further detail.

Overall, as long as your child is mature, they should be fine with it from the age of above around 13-14. I am not aware of any sexual activity in the app, but other reviews suggest there is some, which is why my recommended age is so high. At this age, they've already been through sex education in school, therefore understanding the concept and... stuff.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byP3ach3s1109 March 11, 2018

Good.

I think that parents are being over dramatic. This social app is actually one of the more appropriate ones. Parents keep saying it has pornagraphic material and from what I’ve seen/been on the app, there has been none whatsoever. It is just an app for kids to lipsinc. Leave them be. There is some use of swearing but it’s not absolutely terrible. And if your worried about your child being exposed to the world there is something called a private account.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old February 12, 2018

Great in moderation

It's okay for kids to use this app in moderation. Some songs are sexual, but parents can make sure that children don't use it. You need to fake your age, and that may lead to bad habits, but otherwise, I encourage you to purchase this app!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2018

Fun I Guess?

It is fun, just screen your kid's or teen's account to make sure there is no porn. And contrary to this article, we do not sing just make music videos to other's songs, and there is no way music or dance can be provocative it's just a different style. It is fun for tweens as well.
Teen, 13 years old Written byAliiix.xox January 18, 2018

Parents stop worring

Musical.ly has a privacy option. Kids 9+ should know better than to be swearing, and my little sister uses it and she’s 9. They can choose there own songs and I’m not worried to show my mum mine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bymewarden_14 January 17, 2018
musically is a really fun app for kids. you can make music videos to different songs that you like. there have been many comments about this app being too inaproprate for kids and other things. the app is only inapropriate if you make it inapropriate. if there is a song on there that has cussing all you have to do is pick a different song choice.i think that it depends on your child and if you trust them or not.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byflor flor January 5, 2018

good

its great

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byvkgirl December 21, 2017

Very Good if used properly

I got this app when I was 10 and my mom deleted it. It is amazing for letting creativity flow- I'm a choreographer so it lets me do whatever I want. I would let kids who are over 11 and responsible use this app. Some songs have language but if you make the best choices you're not going to find anything inappropriate.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old December 21, 2017

Very Good App For Kids.

I think that musical.ly is a great app for children. If your child is under 13, you can create a private account and then you can decide who can see your musical.lys. But, if you aren't over 13, and if you don't have a private account, there are scammers that can see your musical.lys and they say that "you can get free followers by going to this website!" (Such as musicallyfree.com.) Also, some songs contain swear words, so I would only recommend this if your child is mature enough. There is very little sexual content, but if you search deep enough, then you can see sexual content.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old December 16, 2017

Absolutely Fine :)

Musical.ly is absolutely fine! I got it in June and I was obsessed with it for a month or so and now I generally go on it now and again. Some parents say it's the most inappropriate thing ever - it's not. I have not once seen any the proactive or stuff like that at all! If you're worried about that don't be. And the closet thing to 'badness' is in some songs - rarely there is swearing. if you're concerned about privacy, my parents were as well. They let me get in under the circumstances: My account was private (So only people I accepted could look at my musical.lys), I showed them my musical.lys before I posted them, and I would only accept people I knew in real life.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old December 16, 2017

Most of the reviews here are outdated

I have been begging my parents for a musical.y account since last year and they said yes! THey said there doing a research to see how the app works they told me some songs had swear words in them and they said they had to check my account to see what i was doing and had to make the account private.well i had it for a year and its amazing. If you think its a stupid app well try it! Trust me this app has no porn and inappropriate things.it has some cuss words in the songs but very light! If u have a responsible kid thats means let them have it! Trust me it will be okay if u have a responsible kid !

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byyungjae December 2, 2017

jae

its great not bad at all for any age its hard to find bad things in this app not that theres anything bad

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old December 2, 2017

Watch out for inappropriate things!!

This app is ok and pretty average I just think it's a bit too open so I would recommend having a private account. You can run into some inappropriate language in songs so you have to be careful about it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunter44 November 27, 2017
Kid, 11 years old November 19, 2017

Eh. Boring and super cringe sometimes.

I used to make Musical.lys, that is, until I smacked some sense into myself. It’s so stupid, and the only reason that I still have the app is to like my friends Musical.lys. Skip this one.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old October 23, 2017

Age 10: Let Me Tell You The Pros and Cons

As a ten yr. old, Many kids in my school have this app called Musical.ly. Musical.ly is an online social networking app where you can lip sync to songs.
PRIVACY CONCERNS:
Yes privacy may be a concern, Personally I just let me friends watch my musical.ly's. If you are age 13 or below, Stick to keeping your account Private (Set in Settings), If 14 or above, I guess if you are responsible enough it would be fine, Keep in mind that if your account is not private anyone in the world can see it
OPINIONS:
Musical.ly is basically like youtube or any other social networking but a little less revealing with info. It really just depends if you are responsible using it! May be a bit laggy but that's not the biggest issue. If you are less than 13, I reccomend not to be "too" revealing with info.
ADULT STUFF?:
By so far everything i've seen is fine except for clothing (Revealing clothes, Crop tops and ect.)
Hope This Helped!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byspicyramennoodles October 19, 2017
All kids 12 and younger should not be able to follow or look at the musicallys of anyone they don’t know. They also need to put their account on private settings.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2017

Well... bad and good.

Musical.ly is a good app, where your child can make music videos. However, there is some inappropriate content, including sexual stuff, swearing, and privacy issues. You can just get your kid a private account, which, by the way, I don't think helps.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages