Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 162 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 261 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byMediaCrack May 15, 2016

PARENTS MUST READ THIS

I cant explain how angry I am with this generation of parents. Musical.ly was intended to be a site where teens can make fun videos with their favorite songs, but now it is literally a child pornography site. I cant believe parents are allowing their kids to lip sync sexual and inappropriate songs and dance like fetus prostitudes.

I saw one video where a 8 year old kid was twerking and making sexual poses. 8 years old. These parents should be disgraced for what they are allowing their kids into. I wont even forget the scumbag "famous" Jacob Sartorius. This kid is famous for what Kim Kardashian is famous for. Nothing. All he ever does is act like he is the sexiest thing alive and force people into complimenting him in order to please himself. Jacob is 13, and he is already the owner of a VEVO, and gets money by being a sexy little kid
Not only is it encouraging sex to young children, but it destroys their talents. When you are young, you are supposed to discover and develop skills amd talents. In Musical.ly, kids are pretending to be sex models and singers, instead of something useful, like drawing, or writing, or singing (ACTUAL singing). All they are doing in this app is lip syncing and trying to act cool. You cannot get a career path by pretending to have talent. These kids should be encouraged to help their future, not be given phones and allowed corrupted activities like this.
Never get this app. Period.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old May 16, 2016

Kid, disappointed, scared, annoyed.

This app is just disappointing, scary, and makes you feel weird. I may be against other kids but I think that you should STAY AWAY. It won't make you feel better and it makes you scared that ANYONE CAN SEE PUBLIC ACONTS. Pravate account don't make it any better. It has INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT. Everything is bad and scary now on social media. STAY AWAY.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2016

I love it!

9+ is a good age IF you have a responsible child. You can even make an account private, and only accept people you know. I said earlier if your child is responsible, and basically, if they are responsible, they probably know what is appropriate and what isn't.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byBuffy Rules April 6, 2016

Review #23 - What? Your 16+ rating has gotta be a joke. My 12 yo sister uses it fine.

Really, no offense to Common Sense Media, but it's like Facebook, just be careful. These guys overrate some games and music on the age. Like Halo: The Master Chief Collection is apparently 18+... WHAT? I play it and my parents think it's totally appropriate. Anyway, back to Musical.ly. This is a social networking thing, yes, but nonetheless, it's used by tween girls as well, sharing short music videos or clips where you mime to the audio. Simple. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PARENTAL GUIDANCE SECTION: Well, for younger kids, tell them that it depends on the song. Some have strong language, yes, but they hear worse (and hear these songs) in high school (age bracket 13-18). Some have sexual references, your kids have likely heard worse. I'm just saying, if you're that worried, give them a few guidelines. Such as don't share private information, that's an important one. Other than that, it's fine. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------In short, this app keeps friendships good, people happy at school and may even be suitable for older elementary school given parental guidance. Just don't let things get too out of control. Play, love and thankyou for reading.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bySimK July 4, 2016

Musical.ly---OK for 12+

From experience with Musical.ly, I know that it is ok for teens to have. It is fun to learn how to make cool videos, that your favorite musers can make. I also know that many little kids have it and they are just fine of Musical.ly. It is a great choice to make, and there is a privacy option for you to use on it. It is also a friendly choice, based of experience with this. You can also be featured with this, which means the whole world will see you, in your video, but you need to get a lot of likes, or hearts on your video, to be featured. This is a great choice for teens, kids, and even families.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 19, 2016

What I think

I definitely think 11 and up should be musers. Private accounts can help

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2016

Pretty much useless..

This is pretty much the same as Dubsmash, in my opinion. In fact, I don't think people remember what Dubsmash is anymore. It's replaced by musical.ly, but I don't see the point of it.
First of all, society has been 'different' or changed-up. Because of that, there are many themes that are suggestive or influence users to say or do things that are inappropriate or dangerous. They might get addicted to this. Back in the day (although I've never time-travelled back in the day), things might have not been as worse or as perverse as today. Because of apps like these, 9-year olds already know what p**** means! That's bad!

Secondly, there's no point at staring at a screen and mouthing along to the sample that you are trying to dub. Pretty sure people will perceive you as a time-waster. Although, there are many other time wasters, like YouTube... Hehehehe XD

I'm afraid that if tweets start to use this, they'll get addicted. So, tweens, don't use this. Don't say I didn't warn you.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 11, 2016
I think it's got a bit of language, but if you think your kid is mature enough to ignore it, or not use it, then it should be fine. It' s a really fun app. Plus you can turn your account to private, so only people you approve of can look at what you post.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byLove0630 February 8, 2016

MY LIFE!

Making music.lys makes me feel good about myself! All these people that are like, there is so much adult content, are CRAZY! Musically is awesome! You make videos of your self and put them on the app. If you have an easily offended child, maybe not for them since some people do get hate on there videos.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byKingriku January 29, 2016

Read It you Wont regret it

So lets start off with this Musicaly IS a app where you pick your music or comedy or any like that And you dance around or do what ever you want why you Make a video and lip syncing Theres swearing but just make sure your kids Know to do the right thing on musicaly if you Dont want your kids face shown on the internet then you shouldnt let them get it but In my opinion Musicaly is a safe appAnd the worse thing on there is swearing (SWEARING 4 Out of 5) (VIOLENCE 1 Out of 5) (SEX 1 And a hafe Out of 5) (DRINKING/DRUGS/SMOKEING 3 out of 5) (Consumerish 3 and a half Out of 5)
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrazycurlykayla September 1, 2016

Sad, disgusting, and horrifying.

Once, while scrolling through popular apps on the App Store, I stumbled upon musical.ly. At first, I thought, "Hey, pretty cool." Guessing from the title, I automatically assumed it would be something about music, whether it's downloading, listening to, or dancing to. Well, I downloaded it. And I had nightmares. For. MONTHS. Everything I saw made me want to cry. 6-year-olds twerking. 10 year old saying p----, f---, and n----. And much, much worse. I LITERALLY saw with MY OWN EYES and 12 year old boy hump a chair talking about DIRTY DANCING! 12! DIRTY DANCING! (cries) If you're thinking about letting your child download this app, think again. There are much, much, MUCH more appropriate songs to be singing than "I don't give a f---, I don't give a f---...". Do you really want your child to be exposed to this kind of explicit content?

Please, join the campaign,

"#THESEKIDSMUSTBESTOPPED"

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old September 5, 2016

THIS APP IS TRASH!

Do not get this app,Why?This app is insancely bad with bad words and sexual moves.I wanted my mom to get me this because everyone has it at my school.But then my mom showed me this awesome website and i was like now way!My friend is addicted to this when ever go over to her house to have a playdate she is always on her iPad doing stupid music.ly

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2016

16 and up????

I can't believe some of the ratings people are giving musical.ly. It is just a harmless app where you can lip sinc to creatively. It's not amazing, but it's something to do with your friends or when you are bored. As for adults concerns, explicit lyrics are going to make us start cussing, and I can't even begin to imagine how 'revealing outfits' should be reason enough to stop your child having the app.
What I'm trying to say is that musical.ly is a good app to relieve boredom that is perfectly fine for not-immature or easily influenced children should be allowed on.
Teen, 14 years old Written by505jmd26 July 1, 2016

Music.ly review

This is supposedly an app created to be a social media. They have almost nothing kid friendly, sex, drugs, bad language, etc. do not recommend this

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byFlamingAvocado July 17, 2019

Like any other social media

I feel like a lot of these reviews are really overreacting, and many are outdated to when the app used to be called 'music.ly' and was different.
TikTok is a social media app, where you can record video with a music/other audio backtrack and post it online for others to see. As any other social media (Instagram, Twitter, etc.), any person can post just about whatever they want, as long as it's within the app's guidelines, for other people to see.
Many TikTok videos can be fun and innocent while others, as expected, are more profane or sexual (like I said before, similarly to any other form of social media).
Most teenagers should be just fine navigating the app appropriately, especially if they can be trusted with other social media platforms.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMgpj July 8, 2019

Not as bad as it seems

Though the app has a reputation for being highly inappropriate but I found it’s not nearly as inappropriate as it has been made to be. It’s a fun app and you can keep the videos make private and only for your friends to view and you can restrict what type of content comes up. Depending on who you follow and what type of content you look at. So if you do find inappropriate content on your child’s phone you should look at who they follow because that is the reason.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 14, 2016

its really fun, but can be addicting

I LOVE this app, i'm constantly on it, their is some songs that have bad language and inappropriate meanings, but in all its about what your kids listen to, they are only going to do songs that the know. My mom saw the app on my i-pad and asked what it was, I told her that is was an app for lip-syncing. She right away downloaded the app and checked it out, she agreed that it was ok for me to have. I think parents should also have the app to see what their kids are doing, I wasn't expecting my mom to let me continue using the app, but she did, and my parents can be really over protective!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byLOL.itsliv April 10, 2016

Musical.ly

Personally myself I have loads of fun on musical.ly. Lip syncing, dancing, and all that. But it really depends on the kid and parents to decide if they are ready for musical.ly. First off, there is some foul language and innaproppiate songs on musical.ly. Some songs talk about sex, drugs, and alcohol. But it is a option if you want to use these songs or hear them so if you trust your child to know what's right and wrong, that's fine. Second, it is social. You can view other videos and create your own. Sometimes I see sexual images but not much. Again, it depends on how well your child knows wrong from right. If you are worried about strangers seeing your child's account, you can always make it a private account. I think personally this app is for 12+.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2016

Awesome and totally safe

Nice to edit cool videos and safe way to share with friends but use a fake name.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoupLikeClamChowder August 8, 2019

Great!

It’s a great app for mature tweens! There some swearing but that’s it! Definitely recommend for creative kids!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language

Pages