Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 162 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 252 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written bycoughingcatmeme July 30, 2019

PARENTS PLEASE READ THIS!!

this generation of apps are different but theres 1 really helpful tips that can prevent finding inappropriate music and videos. when you log in if you are 18 or lower it says *due do community guidelines and your age, we will filter what your watching to age appropriate content* i have had tik tok since it was musically, and i will at least agree with the fact that most songs are explicit and some are even sexual but i think when i read the reviews and i heard that parents said there's pornography i thought that was outrageous. for all 4 years of my experience of TiK ToK/Musically, i've never EVER came across anything NEAR pornography. AND I ALSO HAVE A ADULT ACCOUNT. i hope you learned alot from my experience.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old July 28, 2019

fun for some

Tik Tok is a fun and creative app. it can lots of bad language and sometimes you can just come across some funny videos made by craters like you! Would not recommend for children under the age of 11 but that's just me!

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byreindylan May 25, 2019

UNDER 13 - STAY AWAY

PARENTS: The first thing you need to know about Tik Tok is that when you sign up, it tells you that you need to be 13 to be on the app. The kid only section that is mentioned in the Common Sense review is very rarely enforced, and most kids lie about their birthday to get past it anyway. If you're kid is under 13, please steer them away from Tik Tok. I'm on here and it's weird when I get a duet from a 9 year old to a not age-appropriate song or sound. (There is a private setting so people can't find your kids account, but it can easily be turned off by your kid in settings.) Seeing as there are a bunch of songs on here, language and sexual content is obviously going to be a thing, but Tik Tok is pretty good about taking down things that involve full nudity, drugs or violence (even if there's actually nothing wrong with the video, mind you). The app is 13+ already, but a 14 year old is probably better suited for it in my opinion.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2017

Musical.ly

I have musical.ly and it is not that bad. You should make it a private account otherwise, yes it is bad. If you pick song with cuss words I think it is bad. Also you can watch other people do inappropriate stuff (Drinking and Kissing). If you let your kids have this you should tell them to be careful and only do songs with no swearing.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bybirdlover19 December 12, 2016

OMG THE BEST!!!!!!

You can easily make nice music videos by your choice of song!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old August 2, 2016

Lip-syncing social network with great idea, not so great delivery.

Perhaps this app may have reached a 4 star rating if only it wasn't so buggy and slow on some devices. At several points whilst I made a musical.ly, I was glitches out before it developed. This is indeed frustrating, but is still a fairly good app. It is an easy touch and hold concept, but some safety concerns may overthrow the great features on this app. As every social network, "musers" share their musical.lys on the app, but there is a feature to make an account, or a single musical.ly, private. Still, if your children act irresponsibly while using the app, privacy concerns will be a very big issue. Another red flag is the large use of swearing that CANNOT be avoided. There is also an abundance of strong language, even c--t, but this is very rare. More common is f--k, s--t, bitch and the infamous "N" word. Some songs also depict sex and/or drugs, and some musers wear very edgy costumes. Some songs also contain discussion of violent acts or things. Cartoonish violence in a handful of musical.lys. Overall, Musical.ly is a fine app, but you really need to know your kid. An especially good idea is to use the app with them, and monitor what they post and who views their musical.lys.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2016

A really fun app with some faults

Teen, 13 years old Written byLexi Reed April 10, 2016

BRINGS JOY TO YOUR LIFE

It has content that is not good for young viewers but parents can choose what songs to allow their to lip sing at. My parents only allowed me to do Kidz Bop songs. When I got musically I even found some of my old BFFs on there. Also lip singing or singing for real makes me feel good about myself and also it helps me not being bored at all. Overall Musical.ly brings a lot of happiness in our life.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old March 25, 2016

Musical.ly is fun

You can do musicals which is so fun.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2016

Awesome app just be careful

So I have a musical.ly and I LOVE it but you need to be careful because some of the songs on there is not for kids. You can follow me but the only way you can talk to them is if they talk on the comment box. So thats pretty much it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byCallieHammac September 15, 2019

Noice but there is something wrong

Its pretty fun to do tik tok videos and what not but...



There are voilence in it and face revieals, well I have a tik tok account named CHammac04 and I never post stuff of my face ever! I just do drawing videos, well thats ok! But I never reviel my face in that app and I think adults will enjoy this or teens.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 10, 2019

Mostly good

There can be some teen content like inappropriate jokes and swearing. It’s mostly for fun. It’s not sexual. You can have your account private which means you can accept and decline follow requests. It’s for jokes and laughs. There’s Direct Messages but for “friends” only which means people can only message you if you’re following them and they’re following you. You can also turn off comments.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bythe maker of di... September 9, 2019

DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN HAVE THIS!!!!

I am a teenager and I think this app is not okay and you should not let any child under 16 have this the reason why is...... when you scroll down and look at the videos it can show anything and your child can't moderate it, and at any point and time the child could click on not private so if your child ever asks just look at them and say NO you don't want them looking at something they shouldn't.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byrebekahthepotato September 7, 2019

good app

I have a 9 year old sister and she has Tiktok. I had it when I was 11 , there was a little bit of swearing but there is restricted mode but I also heard swearing and also people are barely wearing anything but otherwise, it's a good app.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byRHCP_arcadium August 31, 2019

IDK man..

I just got it and their is a lot of vaping and inappropriate stuff. I mean, seriously. Made for kids? Nah, you need parent permission first.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old August 24, 2019

Gets inappropriate

TikTok is fine and safe and long as your account is on private (which means only people you accept as a follower can view your account) and I don’t recommend letting anyone under 16 get a public account) But here is the main concern! Your child can be exposed to inappropriate content and can also use sounds with swear words or references to you know what! So if you agree to let your child use this app then I recommend sitting next to them to assure that they aren’t being exposed to anything inappropriate or doing these things themselves! Thank you to those who took time to read this!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old August 20, 2019

Be sensible

The app is really fun and I love be creative on it. I think it's a sensible age to let your 11 year olds on but only if that are sensible and they understand that you do not watch (purposely) inapropriot content and use sensible sounds. Other then that havr fun and over all really fun app.
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2019

noooooooooo play

horrible do not play

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byZzqqw201 July 25, 2019

Glit up

I love it and it is the best

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byWorld rights July 24, 2019

What i think of tik tok

Well ive had this apo since music.ly and well music.ly actually cared about young peoples mental health. Well this app doesn't tik tok recently posted an add saying that "being cool isn't good enough" well i think that ad has ruined young people's esteem also this app is very addicting now i spend 3 hrs or more a day i hate it i used to spend about 5 minutes there is no help for a addiction or anything this app has deleted all my videos for "breaking the guidlines" this app also cat fisjes and click bates i think this app is crap tbh but i cant leave its just so addicting. I can't just delete it either it wastes all my data

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety

Pages