Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 154 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 245 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byMylayja L. June 13, 2018

Watch your kids they have crazy minds these days

I think musical.ly is for pre-teens but always watch your kids even if there only on youtube

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byNadia Cloud June 3, 2018

So childish and hard to make.

I used to musical.lys and they were really terrible.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byMaddie8038 May 27, 2018

Horrifying disturbing

I had gotten this app because I had heard a few good things a while back. However I was looking around the app and I found some horrific content which included comments on self hate... terrifying witch craft... people lip syncing to violent songs with fake blood on them and much more disturbing content this app is not for young children .

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 9 years old May 2, 2018

Fun, but maybe for the more responsible kids.

So, this game is really fun. My dad put it on my iPad with huge negativity. He let me create an account and then make musical.lys. I have my account on the private setting which means people have to request to follow you. There is also a sequel to musical.ly, it's called live.ly, and it's basically like musical.ly but live streaming. Anyway, back to musical.ly. It's basically just a game where you make your own music videos. However, some songs you can choose may be inappropriate or sexual. No adult wants their kid hearing that cr*p. So if your child is responsible, like I said in the title, they will know what to look out for. I have heard some songs with inappropriate language, but I just never revisited them/made a musical.ly out of them. It is, overall, a very fun game! I hope whoever downloads it agrees, and if not, well, sorry.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 10 years old April 29, 2018

Musical.ly is great for tweens and teens. Super fun and exciting.

Ok, first of all some of these reviews are silly. Really 18+? That’s a little extreme. There is some great musical.lys out there like cute dogs and funny stunts. And yes there is some body stuff and language, but it’s not that bad. Of course parents might be concerned about this app, but it’s really nothing to be worried about. I think you should let your kids have it (if they want it) at about 10. It’s also really fun to do with friends. It’s a great activity in your spare time. Last, I feel like this will give your child a lesson about being safe on the internet as well as having fun.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old April 21, 2018

Cringey, boring and stupid

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bykyle.b April 12, 2018

horrible

my younger sister who is currently 11 had the app ¨musica.ly¨ my parents were unaware that she was using any social media. I was completely aware i was watching all of her musica.lys without her knowing she was cursing talking about sex drugs and even fighting over boys. I finally got sick of it and told my father because my mother was not home at the time and he immediatly took her IPod and she refused to give him the password which was a big alert for him ... so he took it to the apple store and got it open. He went into a hidden tab and she had apps like snapchat, musica.ly, instagram, and my father was shocked she was sending nude photos to random boys she had never met before calling them ¨daddy" saying she was masturbating because their " D* ck was so big and she told all of them that she loved them... Keep in mind she is only 11 years old. My father was watching all of her musica.lys in complete shock she put screenshots of her private parts in one of her recent musica.lys thats when i told my dad. She had used direct messaging to text boys she thought were cute and they were much older. Dont ever think that your child is so precious because thats what my parents thought but really she had so many secrets.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byCocopufflover10 April 8, 2018

Not for kids

This app may be fun and all but shouldn’t be for kids. This teaches kids bad manners. This app will lead to how the kids they will behave in the future and won’t end up good. It is a bad influence on kids. It leads to bullying and can get the kids very sad. Kids won’t act or look like kids anymore when they use this app. It is addictive and makes kids not act like kids, behave like kids and possibly look like kids. This app is bad and should be for teens because by then they will start to develop and won’t be pretending to look like adults. I did not enjoy the app.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old April 3, 2018

it is ok

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byfashionqueen April 2, 2018

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old April 1, 2018

meh,

This app was really fun for like a month and then it kind of got boring. I have had it for almost a year and I still post but rarely. My mom also is thinking she may make me delete it because she heard about a lot of videos with kids hurting themselves for likes (#TidePodChallenge and #SelfHarm) I have seen some #TidePodChallenge and it is when kids and teens eat tidePods for likes. That is terrible. The app is fun but its so sad that kids are doing stuff like that. Also I have not seen it but some friends have said they saw naked people..... EEKK!
Kid, 11 years old March 27, 2018

fun app

This app is fun and social. If you look at who they follow and make sure they are being age appropriate on their account. Lipsync and be creative

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byMwert567 March 26, 2018
Teen, 13 years old Written bycutecat1234 March 21, 2018

good if your responsible

if you know what videos to watch its fine

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlphaZulu March 21, 2018

Meh

So, first of all, it is relatively easy to use. The UI does feel somewhat cluttered, but it isn't bad. Of course, like with any social media app, or even any online app, there will be safety and privacy concerns, and parents should ensure their child is staying safe. The app does feature swearing and colourful language, mainly because it is playing real songs. There doesn't appear to be any sort of filtering for this colourful language, but as long as your child does understand what's bad to say and what's VERY bad to say, they should be fine using the app. I myself also believe the concept of the app is bad, but there are other reviews that explain that in further detail.

Overall, as long as your child is mature, they should be fine with it from the age of above around 13-14. I am not aware of any sexual activity in the app, but other reviews suggest there is some, which is why my recommended age is so high. At this age, they've already been through sex education in school, therefore understanding the concept and... stuff.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byP3ach3s1109 March 11, 2018

Good.

I think that parents are being over dramatic. This social app is actually one of the more appropriate ones. Parents keep saying it has pornagraphic material and from what I’ve seen/been on the app, there has been none whatsoever. It is just an app for kids to lipsinc. Leave them be. There is some use of swearing but it’s not absolutely terrible. And if your worried about your child being exposed to the world there is something called a private account.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old February 12, 2018

Great in moderation

It's okay for kids to use this app in moderation. Some songs are sexual, but parents can make sure that children don't use it. You need to fake your age, and that may lead to bad habits, but otherwise, I encourage you to purchase this app!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2018

Fun I Guess?

It is fun, just screen your kid's or teen's account to make sure there is no porn. And contrary to this article, we do not sing just make music videos to other's songs, and there is no way music or dance can be provocative it's just a different style. It is fun for tweens as well.
Teen, 13 years old Written byAliiix.xox January 18, 2018

Parents stop worring

Musical.ly has a privacy option. Kids 9+ should know better than to be swearing, and my little sister uses it and she’s 9. They can choose there own songs and I’m not worried to show my mum mine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bymewarden_14 January 17, 2018
musically is a really fun app for kids. you can make music videos to different songs that you like. there have been many comments about this app being too inaproprate for kids and other things. the app is only inapropriate if you make it inapropriate. if there is a song on there that has cussing all you have to do is pick a different song choice.i think that it depends on your child and if you trust them or not.

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages