Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 152 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 238 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bytswiftmusic08 September 7, 2016

love it!!

musical.ly is the only "social media" I'm allowed to have! There are some sounds that include swear words and inappropriate "hand motions" (people use hand motions for the songs they do on musical.ly) so there for I would say this app is best for ages 13 and up! It's required for you to be 13 and up to use musical.ly by the way. It is a little confusing at first to use, but if you spend a little more time with it....it gets easier! (I'm not encouraging kids to spend ALL your time on social media!!) Some hand motions and songs in these videos can send the wrong message to people and I encourage kids NOT to use inappropriate songs/hand motions! I also encourage parents to have your child show you the videos they made...or make an account so you can see them! I hope this review helped you make your decision! :)

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 11 years old September 7, 2016

Must be aware of the dangerous possibilities

Musical.ly is a very creative app which to some kids, can unleash their inner "talents". However, there are always the possibilities that they will abuse this opportunity and actually go and check out inappropriate stuff like the #adult. Parents are encouraged to supervise their child by downloading the app and checking what their child is doing daily! Children, try to not get addicted as studies are also important. What about your true talents? It won't come to light if all you just do it lip sync. HIGHLY ADVISE everyone to not lip sync to music/songs with inappropriate lyrics unless parent approved. This means that parents must also be responsible in what their child does. I am 11 alright, I've downloaded this app with much pursuation from friends and I did with hesitation! So far I have not seen anything inappropriate but again, it is based on how mature you can be. Honestly, I sometimes enjoy it, sometimes I would rather give advice, reviews like this one, and blog!(Of course, with the exception of personal info) Maybe playing an instrument will do your child good. Sorry for the long "rant" coming from an 11- year old kid, but I feel that parents can also be responsible with rheir child's well being. As for me, I only use this app half of the time and find it difficult to post often xD

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written bySaydeh September 5, 2016
I'm a teenager and I've posted on musically and I regret it I think I looked stupid doing them and I at least wasn't one of the kids showing too much or doing inappropriate things just my plain videos disgust me I don't think any child should be using this app with out adult supervision because you don't know what kids are capable of doing now in days.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2016

awesome

It glitches a lot but other then that it is the best everyone should download it as soon as possible.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 16 years old Written byizz55 August 31, 2016

Music.ly Problems

Why don't we start with the fact that you have to wait 30 days to change your username! That's just pathetic, will someone please tell me why that rule was established? Also I was joking around with my friend and changed my name but right when I went to change it back, it wouldn't let me! I had to wait 30 days because my name was very embarrassing and I didn't want people finding out. I post music.lys a lot and I had to wait all that time! Another thing is that now, why should all your privates be deleted when you delete the app and get it again because music.ly is being glitchy and refreshing the app ain't working? I had so many privates with so many good music.lys on them and now they are all gone because my app was being glitchy. And to top this all off I'm trying to post something that took a little while to do and now I can't because all it says is failed to save. I can't even save it private! They don't give you an explanation why it is saying that or give you a way to fix it. They just say failed to save. I'm very furious with music.ly. I have had so many problems with and I have only had it for about only 6 months. Here are a few more problems with it. Doesn't let you see who liked your video or someone else's. Could have more songs on the music library Doesn't let you edit a video you posted Could have more songs in the music library You should be able to pick any part of a song you want do to a music.ly to and now just one part that is available on the app Music.ly is a fun app to use but has a lot of things to fix and I have had it with them I personally thin it should be for kids over 12 because at least at that age they will have to patience do deal with the bugs.
Teen, 17 years old Written byraelove August 28, 2016

it is the best

I love you
Teen, 13 years old Written byHerefortoday August 13, 2016

New

I love musical.ly but ever since their update today I can't use it anymore. Something happend to my phone I can't get it back and I don't want to do The other thing so I can't use musical.ly any more it sucks
Teen, 16 years old Written byDrummer 547 August 13, 2016

Locked out

I am a musically user but with the new update I am unable to either access MY account nor view others all there is is just something saying that I have to enter my phone number a Twitter will verify it but I don't have Twitter nor a phone I use my iPod.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2016
Musical.ly is a great way to dance and just express your emotion on songs. It does have some songs, which 7 year olds shouldn't be lip syncing, but it is just fine to use. You can also follow crowned musers, who are kids, or teens that are famous. Musical.ly, in my opinion, does advertise a lot, on other products. You can also get featured, which means everyone can see your musical. You can also put your account on private or public, for everyone to see, and you can also BFF people to make a duet with them. Chatting is also another feature of Musical.ly. Overall, Musical.ly is a great way to express yourself, and just fine to use, except some of the songs

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bycasualmom August 10, 2016

MUSICAL.ly won't let me see who liked my post

ANGER ANGER FRUSTRATE MADNESS

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2016

Awesome app

Where do I even begin with this wonderful app,its amazing.I would recommend it for 8 and up because it is really addicting and a lot of my friends have it. so do I.You can become an internet sensation on musical.ly like,Jacob sartourius,lorenbeech,theylovearii,also babyariel.I have musical.ly and I love it. So parents should let their kids try it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 16 years old Written byJeremiah Mendieta July 30, 2016

A good app

I think that you have to be responsible and mature to have this app

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovieloveranna July 27, 2016

Fun and relatively safe for kids

I decided to get this game after a couple of my friends had, and I really like it! It's similar to Dubsmash, but HD. Its fun to make duets, and watch "featured" musical.ly's. There are some songs that have bad lyrics, but if the kid doesn't want to use those he/she doesn't have to. Also, you can make your account private, so only the people you allow to follow you are able to see your "public" musical.ly's.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkyisepic July 27, 2016

Creative,Fun,Interactive App

The app Musical.ly is a fun app that 'musers' can create short music videos on their favorite songs! You can choose the songs from their online music library or choose your own music! But I do recommend this for 12 year olds, because some songs do have swears in them. But there is no drug,alcohol,sex,violence on Musical.ly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2016

Fun!

The app is rated 12+ Make sure you check your childs device and make sure that their account is on private if you dont want them to post videos of them to the internet. If you are unfamiliar with musical.ly it is an app where you lip sync to music. Some of the songs swear or refer to inappropriate things. But that is up to what your child does. So check their device for those things aswell. It STILL IS SUPER FUN

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byQueeniya_123 July 23, 2016

Turn up

Love each other

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byMondayfunwiththeboss July 20, 2016

Musically

I think musically should be for every one and I want to do one with my bro and I do it with him So you can probably

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byTimeLady03 July 19, 2016

Musical.ly

I'm a 13 year old and I have no problem with Musical.ly. That being said, I have no problem with any other app. If you let your kid use the Internet at all, they have probably already seen some things they "shouldn't see". If you let your kid go on the Internet for 10 minutes alone, they could have seen porn, swearing, etc. Chances are, unless you monitor you kid's Internet use very, VERY, closely, they've seen some things you don't know about. *The average kid has seen porn by the age ELEVEN!* My point is that if you let our kid use the Internet freely then they should be able to use musical.ly, and if you trust that your child is responsible, then they can use this at any age because remember; if they're 11 or over, chances are that they've seen porn already! I know I have! ;) P.s. This app lets you be creative but if you don't want kids to be able to have as much freedom, get them using iMovie! It's great!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeengirlreviews03 July 11, 2016

Fun but Explicit

Musical.ly is a great idea for people to express themselves-with almost no filter. I had it for about two months until my parents and I decided to delete it. You have access to hundreds of sexual and inappropriate songs. Kids from 5th grade to high school sing and dance to these songs (often not knowing what they mean). It rarely is used by internet stalkers fortunately. The main purpose is to share the videos to your friends, family, and the world. You can make your account private, but you can still see other's videos. The best app to compare it to is Instagram- except with videos and way more iffy content.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old July 9, 2016

Musically

Well, musically is great application and though it includes language, you can make sure your child agrees to not doing musicals with that in it. Accounts can also be made private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language

Pages