Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 152 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 238 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written byblah305 March 29, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byjaidenhorses March 26, 2017

NOT WORTH THE RISK!!!

I downloaded the app because my friend said it was super fun and a great way to get creative. At first I liked the app.......... but then I saw some pretty disturbing and sexual dancing and heard a BUNCH of inappropriate music. I immediately deleted the app and forgot about it. A couple weeks later my mom walked into my room and said, "Hey, have you ever heard of this app called Musical.ly?' I said, "Yeah, I used to have that app but there was a bunch of cussing and inappropriate dancing so I deleted it." Then she told me that my friend's best friend had posted a video of her dancing NAKED!!!!!!!!!! This is an eleven year old girl posting videos of her NAKED BODY!!!!!!!!!! When the girl's mom found out about the video, she told her to delete it........... but once you post a musical.ly, you can't delete it!!! I was shocked. This was horrifying to me. I don't know why ANYONE lets their kids on this app. In fact, as a kid myself, I wish my parents would have known more about this app because if it weren't for me listening to my instincts, I could have been exposed to A LOT more inappropriate stuff. Honestly, risking seeing porn just to make a couple music videos isn't worth it to me.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byzwag34 March 18, 2017
Kid, 10 years old March 14, 2017

SAD JUST SAD

there is nothing really THAT bad in musical.ly other then when you scroll through some featured persons profile example : Casey Simson (especially him), they make their life look so great and say your upset and you see how happy he or she is it makes the person feel worse!! I recommend you should hold up until you know thats not true because nobody is going to post on a site oh look my cat die!! so before you get musical.ly just make sure you know that.
Kid, 11 years old March 13, 2017

why should we play musical.ly

Musical.ly is a great app, because you learn some sign language because of all the hand motions. Musical.ly is a good app you wont regret geting it and its all free no money involved.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byfrancis 19 February 25, 2017
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2017

Dont download it

Don't download it because it scams you there are people waiting for children like you and me to download it and put pictures and videos of us on there and even if we turn our phone off they can activate your mic and then they can listen-into your conversation . Also parents if your child is young he could be looking at boys and women naked and it is mostly teens doing it but there are child groomers on there. The police are trying to shut the App down but they can only do it if we help them by deleting the App.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2017

all the people in my class have it

nobody keeps to 12 + so you cant get arrested you can have a private account and just share them with your friends its the best app ever

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2017

Great!

Musical.ly is a great app for kids 11 and older there can be some cursing but not that bad and it's not like your kid didn't already know those word mean andwhat they are. I had musical.ly and I did not see any inappropriate dancing or anything like that. Only the cursing is the worst think I've seen/herd in this app.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMist 21 February 12, 2017
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2017

Awsome Game xx

Music.ly is a great app for children 11+ To express their creativity. However, younger children should consider setting their accounts to private as it protects their identity and privacy more! Parents may also want to consider monitoring their child's videos and the people they follow as you can lip-sync to some songs that have strong language. I've had the app for a long time now and it never fails to please me, it's a very entertaining app and a social media that is easy to use and protects any personal information well xX

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byKaileighsellis February 8, 2017

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byhuisii7546 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byBadBass2001 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2017

Depends....

It depends on the kid of what he or she does. It has some bad stuff in it but you can moniter and make the account private. Its a fun app but can get adictive. Be sure of what the kid is doing because he or she can do some bad stuff pretty quickly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2017

Musical.ly

I think that this app entertains kids from ages 10 and higher. This app is a lip sync app where kids can lip sync to songs by any artist. If you are worried about your child getting this app, they can have a private account, where only their friends or people that they let can see their videos. Also, parents can create an account for themselves so that they can follow their kid(s) and watch their videos and see what they are doing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bytt16632 January 18, 2017

treniece

i think we should do a good commitey and i live in mexcio and w elom
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2017

Musical.ly Review from a Kid's perspective

Musical.ly is a fun app, where you can lip sync to your favorite songs. While being all fun and games, its also a social media app where you have your typical: followers, likes, comments, views, ect. It's not like that necessarily makes it bad but you should be aware that there are not many restrictions. If you are a parent that isn't so sure about this app, your child can always put their account on private. I think maybe kids around 8,9,10 should maybe wait a couple years but around 11 years old is probably when I think kids understand what to post and what not to. It also really just depends on the kid. Musical.ly is kid-friendly for the most part but does have some iffy language here and there. I think if you and your kid are just starting out this whole social media thing, musical.ly is a good place to start.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old January 6, 2017

Interesting

Very fun to watch friends and family, but there is some inappropriate content, like all social media. Just don't talk to strangers and don't trust anyone. It is not musical.lys fault if a child is posting songs with bad choices. For mature kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byscreamteamlotta December 29, 2016

For teens

Okay it says in the rules of musical.ly you have to be 13 or older. Yes there is a lot of swearing, but it is pretty fun. Kids, don't use it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language

Pages