Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 148 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 231 reviews
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2017

all the people in my class have it

nobody keeps to 12 + so you cant get arrested you can have a private account and just share them with your friends its the best app ever

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2017

Great!

Musical.ly is a great app for kids 11 and older there can be some cursing but not that bad and it's not like your kid didn't already know those word mean andwhat they are. I had musical.ly and I did not see any inappropriate dancing or anything like that. Only the cursing is the worst think I've seen/herd in this app.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMist 21 February 12, 2017
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2017

Awsome Game xx

Music.ly is a great app for children 11+ To express their creativity. However, younger children should consider setting their accounts to private as it protects their identity and privacy more! Parents may also want to consider monitoring their child's videos and the people they follow as you can lip-sync to some songs that have strong language. I've had the app for a long time now and it never fails to please me, it's a very entertaining app and a social media that is easy to use and protects any personal information well xX

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byKaileighsellis February 8, 2017

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byhuisii7546 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byBadBass2001 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2017

Depends....

It depends on the kid of what he or she does. It has some bad stuff in it but you can moniter and make the account private. Its a fun app but can get adictive. Be sure of what the kid is doing because he or she can do some bad stuff pretty quickly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2017

Musical.ly

I think that this app entertains kids from ages 10 and higher. This app is a lip sync app where kids can lip sync to songs by any artist. If you are worried about your child getting this app, they can have a private account, where only their friends or people that they let can see their videos. Also, parents can create an account for themselves so that they can follow their kid(s) and watch their videos and see what they are doing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bytt16632 January 18, 2017

treniece

i think we should do a good commitey and i live in mexcio and w elom
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2017

Musical.ly Review from a Kid's perspective

Musical.ly is a fun app, where you can lip sync to your favorite songs. While being all fun and games, its also a social media app where you have your typical: followers, likes, comments, views, ect. It's not like that necessarily makes it bad but you should be aware that there are not many restrictions. If you are a parent that isn't so sure about this app, your child can always put their account on private. I think maybe kids around 8,9,10 should maybe wait a couple years but around 11 years old is probably when I think kids understand what to post and what not to. It also really just depends on the kid. Musical.ly is kid-friendly for the most part but does have some iffy language here and there. I think if you and your kid are just starting out this whole social media thing, musical.ly is a good place to start.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old January 6, 2017

Interesting

Very fun to watch friends and family, but there is some inappropriate content, like all social media. Just don't talk to strangers and don't trust anyone. It is not musical.lys fault if a child is posting songs with bad choices. For mature kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byscreamteamlotta December 29, 2016

For teens

Okay it says in the rules of musical.ly you have to be 13 or older. Yes there is a lot of swearing, but it is pretty fun. Kids, don't use it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bystealthgamer December 18, 2016

Good App For A Mature Child

The sexual content and language depends on how much/where your child browses. If your kid is going to be on Music.ly, I would recommend them to only browse through crowned musers (Jacob Sartorius, Jojo Siwa, etc.) and their friends. As far as the quality goes, Music.ly is fun and has many creative ways to make and edit your own videos.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written by22bradleyb December 14, 2016

Britney's review

I think it is the best because it has been the most amazing app ever seen.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bydisney_girl4 December 10, 2016

Really Fun

This app is really fun, especially with friends and family. They have put in a DM box and filters which I think is pretty cool but the filters aren't very attractive. There are also thousands of songs that you could choose. (A lot have cuss words.)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Written byAnonymous December 9, 2016

Boring and Shallow Excuse for Social Media

musical.ly is one of the most boring apps I have ever been on. Sure, it's a way to interact with friends, bur who wants to see a bunch of tweens bobbing their heads and lip syncing to sped up songs? Not to mention the interface is really glitchy. musical.ly is a total waste of time. Get something fun like snapchat or Instagram instead.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byTyler Brown November 28, 2016
Kid, 9 years old November 26, 2016

Are you kidding me?

Everybody is like "Oh my god if you type in (so and so) porn will show up!" Do you REALLY think kids and tweens will search that? Also, you can make private accounts where nobody can see your videos unless you approve. Swearing is really not a big issue your child probably knows a lot if not all of them unless they are extremely sheltered. I mean elementary school kids still swear! I can tell you this and I'm in 4th grade! About sex, well maybe your child won't be as innocent, but hey, kids have gotta grow up. If they hear a sexual song it's not like they're gonna copy everything and have sex behind your back! Goodness gracious these people are overprotective! God!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byDavis21savage2016 November 11, 2016

Advisory board meeting

The best thing about musically is you can make your own videos.

Pages