Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 146 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 230 reviews
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2016
Musical.ly is a great way to dance and just express your emotion on songs. It does have some songs, which 7 year olds shouldn't be lip syncing, but it is just fine to use. You can also follow crowned musers, who are kids, or teens that are famous. Musical.ly, in my opinion, does advertise a lot, on other products. You can also get featured, which means everyone can see your musical. You can also put your account on private or public, for everyone to see, and you can also BFF people to make a duet with them. Chatting is also another feature of Musical.ly. Overall, Musical.ly is a great way to express yourself, and just fine to use, except some of the songs

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bycasualmom August 10, 2016

MUSICAL.ly won't let me see who liked my post

ANGER ANGER FRUSTRATE MADNESS

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2016

Awesome app

Where do I even begin with this wonderful app,its amazing.I would recommend it for 8 and up because it is really addicting and a lot of my friends have it. so do I.You can become an internet sensation on musical.ly like,Jacob sartourius,lorenbeech,theylovearii,also babyariel.I have musical.ly and I love it. So parents should let their kids try it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 16 years old Written byJeremiah Mendieta July 30, 2016

A good app

I think that you have to be responsible and mature to have this app

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovieloveranna July 27, 2016

Fun and relatively safe for kids

I decided to get this game after a couple of my friends had, and I really like it! It's similar to Dubsmash, but HD. Its fun to make duets, and watch "featured" musical.ly's. There are some songs that have bad lyrics, but if the kid doesn't want to use those he/she doesn't have to. Also, you can make your account private, so only the people you allow to follow you are able to see your "public" musical.ly's.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkyisepic July 27, 2016

Creative,Fun,Interactive App

The app Musical.ly is a fun app that 'musers' can create short music videos on their favorite songs! You can choose the songs from their online music library or choose your own music! But I do recommend this for 12 year olds, because some songs do have swears in them. But there is no drug,alcohol,sex,violence on Musical.ly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2016

Fun!

The app is rated 12+ Make sure you check your childs device and make sure that their account is on private if you dont want them to post videos of them to the internet. If you are unfamiliar with musical.ly it is an app where you lip sync to music. Some of the songs swear or refer to inappropriate things. But that is up to what your child does. So check their device for those things aswell. It STILL IS SUPER FUN

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byQueeniya_123 July 23, 2016

Turn up

Love each other

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byMondayfunwiththeboss July 20, 2016

Musically

I think musically should be for every one and I want to do one with my bro and I do it with him So you can probably

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byTimeLady03 July 19, 2016

Musical.ly

I'm a 13 year old and I have no problem with Musical.ly. That being said, I have no problem with any other app. If you let your kid use the Internet at all, they have probably already seen some things they "shouldn't see". If you let your kid go on the Internet for 10 minutes alone, they could have seen porn, swearing, etc. Chances are, unless you monitor you kid's Internet use very, VERY, closely, they've seen some things you don't know about. *The average kid has seen porn by the age ELEVEN!* My point is that if you let our kid use the Internet freely then they should be able to use musical.ly, and if you trust that your child is responsible, then they can use this at any age because remember; if they're 11 or over, chances are that they've seen porn already! I know I have! ;) P.s. This app lets you be creative but if you don't want kids to be able to have as much freedom, get them using iMovie! It's great!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeengirlreviews03 July 11, 2016

Fun but Explicit

Musical.ly is a great idea for people to express themselves-with almost no filter. I had it for about two months until my parents and I decided to delete it. You have access to hundreds of sexual and inappropriate songs. Kids from 5th grade to high school sing and dance to these songs (often not knowing what they mean). It rarely is used by internet stalkers fortunately. The main purpose is to share the videos to your friends, family, and the world. You can make your account private, but you can still see other's videos. The best app to compare it to is Instagram- except with videos and way more iffy content.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old July 9, 2016

Musically

Well, musically is great application and though it includes language, you can make sure your child agrees to not doing musicals with that in it. Accounts can also be made private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 9 years old July 5, 2016

So Fun!!!

This is a very fun and easy app. You can have a private account so that only people you know will be able to see your posts. If you are young I would recommend a private account. I hope you like Musical.ly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byApap123 July 5, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bylaurel123 June 30, 2016

Teen friendly app

I am a 14 year old girl who had musical.ly and thought it was an ok app, not due to lack of safety, just lack of entertainment and value. I think that it is an appropriate app for those older than 12/13, and still should be checked in on once in a while.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2016

Fun, silly lip synchs.........some swearing/safety concerns

This is a great app for tweens and teens alike! However, beware swearing in certain songs, there is no censor. I have a private account, where only my friends can see what I am posting. I have been on musical.ly for a few months now, and I have seen no sexual content. You can report and block people who are mean/innapropriate. Overall, this app is a super fun way to interact with your friends and listen to music. This is for mature 10/11 year olds (suggest private account), but mostly 12 and up!

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old June 29, 2016

Parents need to chill

now, being a user of it, and personally knowing many people of my age group (tween) who use it. I can advise you that it is one of the safest social medias. Musically will defenitly let you have a private account, and only let people who your child knows follow them. Yes, there are hashtags. But if your account is private, then you wont show up there. There is an option to only let friends Direct Message them. And if some icons, or content has pornographic imagery, then if your kid is responsible they'll tell you. There is suggestive and sexual language, but they're not giving the kids that song and only that song, they have a choice to not pick the song, ans listen to the small snippet of it before creating the video. Like I said, if your kid is responsible, then they would not pick the song. There are WAY to many parents on here saying 18+ rating, ONLY because of language. If your kid is 6 years old and using this, WHAT ARE YOU DOING? You read the reviews if you left one, right? Your kid should know what swear words mean. And you're right, they don't know what they're doing saying those things. I can tell you that 99.999% of teens and tweens are COMPLETELY innocent. I can guarantee you that this app is safe. If you still don't belive me, then check their phone, tablet, ect., and make sure that they're following your rules and being safe. Thank you, and goodbye *jumps off soap box*

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byZozo1234 June 25, 2016

Musical.ly should be 9+

I think that it should be ages 9+ because you can interact with others, but also have a private account, then others cannot see your musical.ly. Personally I have musical.ly and it isn't that bad for kids.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2016

Parents are Butthurt

Honestly, I was looking through the parent reviews and they are butthurt. In my experience, I haven't seen any mature, porn, or graphic material. Now some of the songs may have bad/graphic words but all kids already know about those words so why hide it from them. Also if you don't want people that you don't know watching your musicals then put your account on private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old June 5, 2016

Great app...but innapropriate

First this app is very fun to use and it makes people very happy. But most of the songs on the app have bad language in them. Even thought musical.ly says no bad language you can search a hashtag post and type the first two or three letters of the word and it will come up. Also I have heard that older people are trying to track down kids on this app. I would recommend a private account. But you would have to still be very safe. There is a hashtag called #adult which means innapropriate thing and some people are naked. I have heard this from other moms that have explored the app. So overall this app is great, but be very careful.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages