Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 152 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 238 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byiamhere May 13, 2019

MUST READ FOR ALL PARENTS

Any Age Ok, so tiktok isn't really that bad. Many younger kids use it fine. If you are under 13, you aren't even able to share your videos, so nothing is posted. It is basically another camera app. This is why it's appropriate for any age. However, if your kid does what most kids under 13 do and lie about their age they will be able to post their video. With this they have the abilty to make their account private so only approved followers can see their videos. Note that ALL ACCOUNTS ARE PUBLIC BY DEFAULT, so your kid will need to switch their account to private if you want them to. If they have a public account, anyone can see their videos, but they can still block people who are hating. Safety isn't really a major issue, just make sure your kids know not to give out any private information (where they live, how old they are, their full names, etc) to strangers. I think it is fine for kids to put their first names in their bio, but putting their last could be risky. There is some swearing, but if your kids know not make videos using songs that swear that should fine (or if you don't mind them swearing). There is absolutly NO nudity or anything and if someone tries to post a video revealing innappropriate parts tiktok will delete. There is not really anything about sex and if your kid is young it will probably go over their head, but if they are older, I would give the "The Talk" if you haven't already.I would personally let my kid get this app, because a lot of kids use and you don't want them to be the social misfit but that's just my opinion. I reccomend you said rules with your child such as if they can get it or not, if they can lie about their age, if their account needs to be private, who they should block, if they can or can't swear, and stuff like that. I think tiktok is often misunderstood for a bad app when it's really not. I think this app is appropriate for kids of any age who know how to follow their parents rules.Its a really fun app.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkrrtGod May 6, 2019

Dope AF

Just so dope.
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Incarnation... April 15, 2019

no

oh god please no I am the Incarnation of Suffering and even I think TikTok is cancerous.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bysadpibull April 13, 2019

horses in the back

i think its pretty fun myself. but if you get offended easily. you will be offended

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 12, 2019

Stupid app

Seriously common sense? 16+? I think I once saw a 4 year old on the app, getting famous. The app is stupid, cringey kids doing things they think are "cool" and then getting money. If your kid wants to become famous off of tik tok, tell them it ain't happening cause most famous tik tok users are very harshly critisized and disliked. There are a bunch of ways to make your child's account managed so it could be fine for private things like watching friend's tik toks and stuff
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2019

TikTok

TikTok is appropriate if you get a private account. There is an optional private account, which I personally have. You can communicate with friends in a fun way and it’s fun to see your friends videos, you can also decide if you want your profile available to find, you can choose if your video is published and shown to everyone or you can keep it private. TikTok’s fun and I hope you get the app!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old March 21, 2019

Never downloaded it, but this is worth you time!!!!Plez

My friends downloaded it, first of all, you'd have to fake your age to get onto Tik tok, isn't that already bad enough?! Secondly, apparently Tik tok has started doing monthly sweeps " Under thirteen purges" my friends like to call it. My friends showed me a video and it was a parody of Taylor Swift's "Blank space". It went like, " Oh my God, look at that face...if you're feeling suicidal then you've come to the right place" It was a six year old! A nine year old who probably thought it was a cool beat and used it.My conclusion is that if you have a mature and trustworthy 12 or 11 yr/old and they ask to download this app, ask them why. If they say something like, "Everyone's using this" don't let them.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 10 years old March 4, 2019

REEEEEEEEEE

All this raging moms and dads are just mad lul

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old March 2, 2019

A great app, if your careful!

I love titkok, it’s really fun to create and share videos to the world. If your under 12 I would recommend being private, or being public without showing your face. Even if your 12+ you probably should ask your parents if you can show your face on public. There can be some inappropriate stuff on tiktok, but if your kids know about that kinda stuff it should be ok. Also, when other creators go live (you need 1000+ fans to go live) you can send them gifts, which cost real money. They get half the money you give, and tiktok get the other half. I would make sure your kids can’t buy stuff on their devices, because a lot of famous people for tiktok as their job, and convince kids to give the gifts for a ‘duet’ or a ‘follow’ in return. Some gifts can cost up to £50, but you can give multiple of the same gifts. I’ve heard of kids giving they’re favourite tiktokers 10 drama queens (which would cost £500 in real money) or even 20 drama queens (costing £1000) Basically, I would let kids 10+ have tiktok, but let them know their limits and tell them about the dangers. Also, frequently check their account and account settings.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byLucyHeartfilia1 March 1, 2019
Kid, 9 years old February 28, 2019

ewwww

too much krinj
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2019

Dissapointing

Kids, teens and parents! This app is not for kids neither tweens! I TRIED It and there were 12 year olds wearing crop tops and belly dancing. And more. I would never use that again. I wanted to try it but I will just stick to PEGI 7 games.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old February 24, 2019

TikTok is the worst thing ever made

TikTok is just like every other app out there. With songs like Maybe I'll Be Tracer and Hit Or Miss. That is what makes TikTok cringy.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byAce Security February 22, 2019

DO NOT USE THIS APP!!

This app is ultimately evil. Almost all songs have swearing and my sister has been seeing lots of middle fingers. Also pornographic content, violence, and drugs. Also a private account setting, but you can still watch innapropriate stuff. steer clear.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnimalLover2298 February 19, 2019

I love this app!

This app is really fun! I use it all the time!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old February 19, 2019

hi

reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byStacyMissa February 3, 2019

It could go lower or higher depending how mature your child is

Think of Tik Tok this way its like YouTube but mixed with Vine (RIP) and musically (RIP) Ok its mainly like musical.ly! You can create videos with sounds or with your own sound. Maybe even both. You can lip-sync with the song/sound (I will just call them sounds) You can also have the sound in the background. You will let others see them. You can set your Tik Toks to friend only so you get to choose who sees them. You can look at others tik tok and comment/like on them. They can do the same too! Unless its set to private. Just a heads up: There are trolls and bullying: if your over 18 and it looks obvious some people can bully you. I am following a elderly couples account and I see at least one comment every single video saying they shouldn't be on Tik Tok cause of their age. People can also duet your video so some people troll. I see these videos where a person will try to make it look like their kissing someone and some people take it seriously and some just troll. Some also troll good videos like laugh pointing at their hair clothes or something like that. Its social media though so of course there will be bad stuff and trolling. I just wish it wasn't there

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old February 2, 2019

Wrong app.

Oh, I was looking for Tik Tok, not tumors.
Teen, 13 years old Written byPug81206 February 2, 2019

Awsome

I can have fun and make videos with my friends. I can look at and watch and challenge my friends videos. But watch out because there is a lot of people that do songs with cursing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byGracecommonsense February 2, 2019

overreacting.

I can't believe people are making bad reviews on this, yes there is songs that people use that are explict. But I so far haven't come across any "revealing clothing."

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages