Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 148 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 225 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byMediaCrack May 15, 2016

PARENTS MUST READ THIS

I cant explain how angry I am with this generation of parents. Musical.ly was intended to be a site where teens can make fun videos with their favorite songs, but now it is literally a child pornography site. I cant believe parents are allowing their kids to lip sync sexual and inappropriate songs and dance like fetus prostitudes. I saw one video where a 8 year old kid was twerking and making sexual poses. 8 years old. These parents should be disgraced for what they are allowing their kids into. I wont even forget the scumbag "famous" Jacob Sartorius. This kid is famous for what Kim Kardashian is famous for. Nothing. All he ever does is act like he is the sexiest thing alive and force people into complimenting him in order to please himself. Jacob is 13, and he is already the owner of a VEVO, and gets money by being a sexy little kid Not only is it encouraging sex to young children, but it destroys their talents. When you are young, you are supposed to discover and develop skills amd talents. In Musical.ly, kids are pretending to be sex models and singers, instead of something useful, like drawing, or writing, or singing (ACTUAL singing). All they are doing in this app is lip syncing and trying to act cool. You cannot get a career path by pretending to have talent. These kids should be encouraged to help their future, not be given phones and allowed corrupted activities like this. Never get this app. Period.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old May 16, 2016

Kid, disappointed, scared, annoyed.

This app is just disappointing, scary, and makes you feel weird. I may be against other kids but I think that you should STAY AWAY. It won't make you feel better and it makes you scared that ANYONE CAN SEE PUBLIC ACONTS. Pravate account don't make it any better. It has INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT. Everything is bad and scary now on social media. STAY AWAY.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2016

Pretty much useless..

This is pretty much the same as Dubsmash, in my opinion. In fact, I don't think people remember what Dubsmash is anymore. It's replaced by musical.ly, but I don't see the point of it. First of all, society has been 'different' or changed-up. Because of that, there are many themes that are suggestive or influence users to say or do things that are inappropriate or dangerous. They might get addicted to this. Back in the day (although I've never time-travelled back in the day), things might have not been as worse or as perverse as today. Because of apps like these, 9-year olds already know what p**** means! That's bad! Secondly, there's no point at staring at a screen and mouthing along to the sample that you are trying to dub. Pretty sure people will perceive you as a time-waster. Although, there are many other time wasters, like YouTube... Hehehehe XD I'm afraid that if tweets start to use this, they'll get addicted. So, tweens, don't use this. Don't say I didn't warn you.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 10, 2018

PARENTS MUST READ THIS!

I got musical.ly or tik tok a little while back. I was so excited to follow my friends, and make videos of my own. After a couple of days, I had 20 follow requests from complete strangers. Being only 10 years old, I freaked out and denied the requests. The next day, the same accounts had requested to follow me again! One day after school, I was at a friends house and she told me that her account was on public mode, and she had SO MANY followers, a total of 130. She was only 9 at the time. I asked if her parents knew and she said no, they didn't even know she had the app. After only 4 days of owning this app, I decided to disable my account. I googled how to, and apparently, YOU CAN'T! I deleted the app, but my account will always be up, and just because you're on private, doesn't mean you safe. Also, my friend told me that she deleted the app too, because her followers started messaging her late at night, and it scared her. Please don't let this happen to your kids. This is a messed up app and no kid deserves to be put out in a world of creeps. I got this app because all my friends had it, but none of us knew that our privacy was at stake. Don't risk your kid's privacy. Please don't.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bySimK July 4, 2016

Musical.ly---OK for 12+

From experience with Musical.ly, I know that it is ok for teens to have. It is fun to learn how to make cool videos, that your favorite musers can make. I also know that many little kids have it and they are just fine of Musical.ly. It is a great choice to make, and there is a privacy option for you to use on it. It is also a friendly choice, based of experience with this. You can also be featured with this, which means the whole world will see you, in your video, but you need to get a lot of likes, or hearts on your video, to be featured. This is a great choice for teens, kids, and even families.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2016

I love it!

9+ is a good age IF you have a responsible child. You can even make an account private, and only accept people you know. I said earlier if your child is responsible, and basically, if they are responsible, they probably know what is appropriate and what isn't.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byBuffy Rules April 6, 2016

Review #23 - What? Your 16+ rating has gotta be a joke. My 12 yo sister uses it fine.

Really, no offense to Common Sense Media, but it's like Facebook, just be careful. These guys overrate some games and music on the age. Like Halo: The Master Chief Collection is apparently 18+... WHAT? I play it and my parents think it's totally appropriate. Anyway, back to Musical.ly. This is a social networking thing, yes, but nonetheless, it's used by tween girls as well, sharing short music videos or clips where you mime to the audio. Simple. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PARENTAL GUIDANCE SECTION: Well, for younger kids, tell them that it depends on the song. Some have strong language, yes, but they hear worse (and hear these songs) in high school (age bracket 13-18). Some have sexual references, your kids have likely heard worse. I'm just saying, if you're that worried, give them a few guidelines. Such as don't share private information, that's an important one. Other than that, it's fine. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------In short, this app keeps friendships good, people happy at school and may even be suitable for older elementary school given parental guidance. Just don't let things get too out of control. Play, love and thankyou for reading.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byKingriku January 29, 2016

Read It you Wont regret it

So lets start off with this Musicaly IS a app where you pick your music or comedy or any like that And you dance around or do what ever you want why you Make a video and lip syncing Theres swearing but just make sure your kids Know to do the right thing on musicaly if you Dont want your kids face shown on the internet then you shouldnt let them get it but In my opinion Musicaly is a safe appAnd the worse thing on there is swearing (SWEARING 4 Out of 5) (VIOLENCE 1 Out of 5) (SEX 1 And a hafe Out of 5) (DRINKING/DRUGS/SMOKEING 3 out of 5) (Consumerish 3 and a half Out of 5)
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2018

Disgusting, bringing kids away from reality.

Okay, so these kids are saying that "Oh, musically is so awesome and stuff, blah blah blah!" Well, it's not. Some of my friends have it and every second they go back to their phones saying they need to check on their views whatever. It's so annoying and it stops the fun stuff we are doing. Also, my little cousin has musically and I watched one of her videos and SHE WAS PRETEND SMOKING. I freaked out and she just started giggling. Also, this is meant for 13 year olds but these little kids lie so they can do whatever this is. There's a lot of sexual content too, like little girls being all sexy and shaking their butt whatever. ..it's a bad influence. Kids under 13 should not do this! I think they are too irresponsible. Well, the majority. (Sorry.) Plus, they can reveal your child's information and where your child is and how she/he is like from watching the video. You can't trust people. So don't get it. Please. Thank you.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrazycurlykayla September 1, 2016

Sad, disgusting, and horrifying.

Once, while scrolling through popular apps on the App Store, I stumbled upon musical.ly. At first, I thought, "Hey, pretty cool." Guessing from the title, I automatically assumed it would be something about music, whether it's downloading, listening to, or dancing to. Well, I downloaded it. And I had nightmares. For. MONTHS. Everything I saw made me want to cry. 6-year-olds twerking. 10 year old saying p----, f---, and n----. And much, much worse. I LITERALLY saw with MY OWN EYES and 12 year old boy hump a chair talking about DIRTY DANCING! 12! DIRTY DANCING! (cries) If you're thinking about letting your child download this app, think again. There are much, much, MUCH more appropriate songs to be singing than "I don't give a f---, I don't give a f---...". Do you really want your child to be exposed to this kind of explicit content? Please, join the campaign, "#THESEKIDSMUSTBESTOPPED"

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old June 15, 2018

Don't let kids get it!

Do not let your kids download this app!!! I have tried it, but i did not really feel safe. And after trying live.ly, I have made my conclusion that its 18+. Because on a live stream, I had to witness adult content!! And also, the musically app has alot of bad adult language.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 9 years old May 2, 2018

Fun, but maybe for the more responsible kids.

So, this game is really fun. My dad put it on my iPad with huge negativity. He let me create an account and then make musical.lys. I have my account on the private setting which means people have to request to follow you. There is also a sequel to musical.ly, it's called live.ly, and it's basically like musical.ly but live streaming. Anyway, back to musical.ly. It's basically just a game where you make your own music videos. However, some songs you can choose may be inappropriate or sexual. No adult wants their kid hearing that cr*p. So if your child is responsible, like I said in the title, they will know what to look out for. I have heard some songs with inappropriate language, but I just never revisited them/made a musical.ly out of them. It is, overall, a very fun game! I hope whoever downloads it agrees, and if not, well, sorry.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 10 years old September 5, 2016

THIS APP IS TRASH!

Do not get this app,Why?This app is insancely bad with bad words and sexual moves.I wanted my mom to get me this because everyone has it at my school.But then my mom showed me this awesome website and i was like now way!My friend is addicted to this when ever go over to her house to have a playdate she is always on her iPad doing stupid music.ly

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written by505jmd26 July 1, 2016

Music.ly review

This is supposedly an app created to be a social media. They have almost nothing kid friendly, sex, drugs, bad language, etc. do not recommend this

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 19, 2016

What I think

I definitely think 11 and up should be musers. Private accounts can help

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old April 11, 2016
I think it's got a bit of language, but if you think your kid is mature enough to ignore it, or not use it, then it should be fine. It' s a really fun app. Plus you can turn your account to private, so only people you approve of can look at what you post.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2016

Awesome and totally safe

Nice to edit cool videos and safe way to share with friends but use a fake name.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byLove0630 February 8, 2016

MY LIFE!

Making music.lys makes me feel good about myself! All these people that are like, there is so much adult content, are CRAZY! Musically is awesome! You make videos of your self and put them on the app. If you have an easily offended child, maybe not for them since some people do get hate on there videos.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2018
The Tik Tok app is truly a stigma magnet, its like if stigma put on clothes and started walking. I looked it up, they had a "stripping" challenge and i don't feel like this is for kids. Also, the Tik Tok app is just a ball of stigma that keeps growing!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byKittenPupper November 17, 2018

This is mainly for parents..

TikTok was originally musical.ly. Lately, there hasn’t been nearly as much bad content as parents are saying. Yes, there is swearing. And yes, if you look hard enough, you can find inappropriate content. But you really have to look. As long as you have a responsible kid who won’t keep looking into that stuff it’s fine. I don’t even have a private account and I’ve never had a single person message me about anything.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages