Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 145 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 225 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byMediaCrack May 15, 2016

PARENTS MUST READ THIS

I cant explain how angry I am with this generation of parents. Musical.ly was intended to be a site where teens can make fun videos with their favorite songs, but now it is literally a child pornography site. I cant believe parents are allowing their kids to lip sync sexual and inappropriate songs and dance like fetus prostitudes. I saw one video where a 8 year old kid was twerking and making sexual poses. 8 years old. These parents should be disgraced for what they are allowing their kids into. I wont even forget the scumbag "famous" Jacob Sartorius. This kid is famous for what Kim Kardashian is famous for. Nothing. All he ever does is act like he is the sexiest thing alive and force people into complimenting him in order to please himself. Jacob is 13, and he is already the owner of a VEVO, and gets money by being a sexy little kid Not only is it encouraging sex to young children, but it destroys their talents. When you are young, you are supposed to discover and develop skills amd talents. In Musical.ly, kids are pretending to be sex models and singers, instead of something useful, like drawing, or writing, or singing (ACTUAL singing). All they are doing in this app is lip syncing and trying to act cool. You cannot get a career path by pretending to have talent. These kids should be encouraged to help their future, not be given phones and allowed corrupted activities like this. Never get this app. Period.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old May 16, 2016

Kid, disappointed, scared, annoyed.

This app is just disappointing, scary, and makes you feel weird. I may be against other kids but I think that you should STAY AWAY. It won't make you feel better and it makes you scared that ANYONE CAN SEE PUBLIC ACONTS. Pravate account don't make it any better. It has INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT. Everything is bad and scary now on social media. STAY AWAY.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2016

Pretty much useless..

This is pretty much the same as Dubsmash, in my opinion. In fact, I don't think people remember what Dubsmash is anymore. It's replaced by musical.ly, but I don't see the point of it. First of all, society has been 'different' or changed-up. Because of that, there are many themes that are suggestive or influence users to say or do things that are inappropriate or dangerous. They might get addicted to this. Back in the day (although I've never time-travelled back in the day), things might have not been as worse or as perverse as today. Because of apps like these, 9-year olds already know what p**** means! That's bad! Secondly, there's no point at staring at a screen and mouthing along to the sample that you are trying to dub. Pretty sure people will perceive you as a time-waster. Although, there are many other time wasters, like YouTube... Hehehehe XD I'm afraid that if tweets start to use this, they'll get addicted. So, tweens, don't use this. Don't say I didn't warn you.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 10, 2018

PARENTS MUST READ THIS!

I got musical.ly or tik tok a little while back. I was so excited to follow my friends, and make videos of my own. After a couple of days, I had 20 follow requests from complete strangers. Being only 10 years old, I freaked out and denied the requests. The next day, the same accounts had requested to follow me again! One day after school, I was at a friends house and she told me that her account was on public mode, and she had SO MANY followers, a total of 130. She was only 9 at the time. I asked if her parents knew and she said no, they didn't even know she had the app. After only 4 days of owning this app, I decided to disable my account. I googled how to, and apparently, YOU CAN'T! I deleted the app, but my account will always be up, and just because you're on private, doesn't mean you safe. Also, my friend told me that she deleted the app too, because her followers started messaging her late at night, and it scared her. Please don't let this happen to your kids. This is a messed up app and no kid deserves to be put out in a world of creeps. I got this app because all my friends had it, but none of us knew that our privacy was at stake. Don't risk your kid's privacy. Please don't.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byLeen M. September 17, 2017

It's fine

Of course there are songs that are inappropriate (depending on your child's age) but if you trust your kid, you should have no problem with this app. Your kid should know what audios not to use and what people not to follow. If you are worried about predators, make your child's account private. Only allowing friends to be able to see their musical.lys. People think everything is childproof. For ffs, they've probably heard worse curse words at school. Stop overreacting and being overprotective. I would be bored to death if I had parents like some of the people in these reviews.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byMhsrhvid September 4, 2017

Amazing

It perfectly fine no sex the language is not the best but what do you expect!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old October 21, 2016

Amazing

i really think this app is amazing. Its really for everyone. You can make super fun 16 seconds videos like Comedy, Top hits . I also really think its really well orginized

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bySimK July 4, 2016

Musical.ly---OK for 12+

From experience with Musical.ly, I know that it is ok for teens to have. It is fun to learn how to make cool videos, that your favorite musers can make. I also know that many little kids have it and they are just fine of Musical.ly. It is a great choice to make, and there is a privacy option for you to use on it. It is also a friendly choice, based of experience with this. You can also be featured with this, which means the whole world will see you, in your video, but you need to get a lot of likes, or hearts on your video, to be featured. This is a great choice for teens, kids, and even families.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2016

I love it!

9+ is a good age IF you have a responsible child. You can even make an account private, and only accept people you know. I said earlier if your child is responsible, and basically, if they are responsible, they probably know what is appropriate and what isn't.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written bySophieeatspringles08 April 6, 2017

Depends

Musically is a super fun app, but if you should use it or not really depends on your maturity level. But it glitches... A lot

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byKaileighsellis February 8, 2017

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2016

Fun!

The app is rated 12+ Make sure you check your childs device and make sure that their account is on private if you dont want them to post videos of them to the internet. If you are unfamiliar with musical.ly it is an app where you lip sync to music. Some of the songs swear or refer to inappropriate things. But that is up to what your child does. So check their device for those things aswell. It STILL IS SUPER FUN

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byBuffy Rules April 6, 2016

Review #23 - What? Your 16+ rating has gotta be a joke. My 12 yo sister uses it fine.

Really, no offense to Common Sense Media, but it's like Facebook, just be careful. These guys overrate some games and music on the age. Like Halo: The Master Chief Collection is apparently 18+... WHAT? I play it and my parents think it's totally appropriate. Anyway, back to Musical.ly. This is a social networking thing, yes, but nonetheless, it's used by tween girls as well, sharing short music videos or clips where you mime to the audio. Simple. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PARENTAL GUIDANCE SECTION: Well, for younger kids, tell them that it depends on the song. Some have strong language, yes, but they hear worse (and hear these songs) in high school (age bracket 13-18). Some have sexual references, your kids have likely heard worse. I'm just saying, if you're that worried, give them a few guidelines. Such as don't share private information, that's an important one. Other than that, it's fine. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------In short, this app keeps friendships good, people happy at school and may even be suitable for older elementary school given parental guidance. Just don't let things get too out of control. Play, love and thankyou for reading.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byKingriku January 29, 2016

Read It you Wont regret it

So lets start off with this Musicaly IS a app where you pick your music or comedy or any like that And you dance around or do what ever you want why you Make a video and lip syncing Theres swearing but just make sure your kids Know to do the right thing on musicaly if you Dont want your kids face shown on the internet then you shouldnt let them get it but In my opinion Musicaly is a safe appAnd the worse thing on there is swearing (SWEARING 4 Out of 5) (VIOLENCE 1 Out of 5) (SEX 1 And a hafe Out of 5) (DRINKING/DRUGS/SMOKEING 3 out of 5) (Consumerish 3 and a half Out of 5)
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2018

Disgusting, bringing kids away from reality.

Okay, so these kids are saying that "Oh, musically is so awesome and stuff, blah blah blah!" Well, it's not. Some of my friends have it and every second they go back to their phones saying they need to check on their views whatever. It's so annoying and it stops the fun stuff we are doing. Also, my little cousin has musically and I watched one of her videos and SHE WAS PRETEND SMOKING. I freaked out and she just started giggling. Also, this is meant for 13 year olds but these little kids lie so they can do whatever this is. There's a lot of sexual content too, like little girls being all sexy and shaking their butt whatever. ..it's a bad influence. Kids under 13 should not do this! I think they are too irresponsible. Well, the majority. (Sorry.) Plus, they can reveal your child's information and where your child is and how she/he is like from watching the video. You can't trust people. So don't get it. Please. Thank you.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrazycurlykayla September 1, 2016

Sad, disgusting, and horrifying.

Once, while scrolling through popular apps on the App Store, I stumbled upon musical.ly. At first, I thought, "Hey, pretty cool." Guessing from the title, I automatically assumed it would be something about music, whether it's downloading, listening to, or dancing to. Well, I downloaded it. And I had nightmares. For. MONTHS. Everything I saw made me want to cry. 6-year-olds twerking. 10 year old saying p----, f---, and n----. And much, much worse. I LITERALLY saw with MY OWN EYES and 12 year old boy hump a chair talking about DIRTY DANCING! 12! DIRTY DANCING! (cries) If you're thinking about letting your child download this app, think again. There are much, much, MUCH more appropriate songs to be singing than "I don't give a f---, I don't give a f---...". Do you really want your child to be exposed to this kind of explicit content? Please, join the campaign, "#THESEKIDSMUSTBESTOPPED"

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byraelove August 28, 2016

it is the best

I love you
Teen, 14 years old Written by505jmd26 July 1, 2016

Music.ly review

This is supposedly an app created to be a social media. They have almost nothing kid friendly, sex, drugs, bad language, etc. do not recommend this

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byFruitella May 31, 2016

Great if your responsible

People keep saying that there are bad songs that you can lip sync to which you can, I am not disagreeing but you can have easier access of those songs on somewhere like YouTube which is supposedly harmless according to most parents. I think that this app is harmless if your a child above 12 years old or your are mature because if you are responsible you know what songs to lip sync and what not- if you don't know what a word means, don't use the song and there are millions of clean versions of songs to use, so no need to worry. If your child isn't responsible you can always you safety controls and check what your child is looking at before they do it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old June 15, 2018

Don't let kids get it!

Do not let your kids download this app!!! I have tried it, but i did not really feel safe. And after trying live.ly, I have made my conclusion that its 18+. Because on a live stream, I had to witness adult content!! And also, the musically app has alot of bad adult language.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language

Pages