Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 156 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 246 reviews
Kid, 9 years old February 24, 2019

TikTok is the worst thing ever made

TikTok is just like every other app out there. With songs like Maybe I'll Be Tracer and Hit Or Miss. That is what makes TikTok cringy.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byAce Security February 22, 2019

DO NOT USE THIS APP!!

This app is ultimately evil. Almost all songs have swearing and my sister has been seeing lots of middle fingers. Also pornographic content, violence, and drugs. Also a private account setting, but you can still watch innapropriate stuff. steer clear.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnimalLover2298 February 19, 2019

I love this app!

This app is really fun! I use it all the time!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old February 19, 2019

hi

reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byStacyMissa February 3, 2019

It could go lower or higher depending how mature your child is

Think of Tik Tok this way its like YouTube but mixed with Vine (RIP) and musically (RIP) Ok its mainly like musical.ly! You can create videos with sounds or with your own sound. Maybe even both. You can lip-sync with the song/sound (I will just call them sounds) You can also have the sound in the background. You will let others see them. You can set your Tik Toks to friend only so you get to choose who sees them. You can look at others tik tok and comment/like on them. They can do the same too! Unless its set to private. Just a heads up: There are trolls and bullying: if your over 18 and it looks obvious some people can bully you. I am following a elderly couples account and I see at least one comment every single video saying they shouldn't be on Tik Tok cause of their age. People can also duet your video so some people troll. I see these videos where a person will try to make it look like their kissing someone and some people take it seriously and some just troll. Some also troll good videos like laugh pointing at their hair clothes or something like that. Its social media though so of course there will be bad stuff and trolling. I just wish it wasn't there

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old February 2, 2019

Wrong app.

Oh, I was looking for Tik Tok, not tumors.
Teen, 13 years old Written byPug81206 February 2, 2019

Awsome

I can have fun and make videos with my friends. I can look at and watch and challenge my friends videos. But watch out because there is a lot of people that do songs with cursing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byGracecommonsense February 2, 2019

overreacting.

I can't believe people are making bad reviews on this, yes there is songs that people use that are explict. But I so far haven't come across any "revealing clothing."

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old January 30, 2019

yuck

This app reduces brain cells. Don't use.
This app is not good. Do not let your kids use it.
The people are extremely cringy.
Just like your kid is if they want to use it.
And, don't.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old January 25, 2019
Although Tik Tok is limited to ages 13+, if you have a mature 10 year old or older it should be alright for them. It is good to monitor your kids activity on it, but this is hard to do this in that you cannot see their history. All you can see is who they are following and what videos they have liked. You can't search any bad hashtags because Tik Tok filters them. There are occasionally a few questionable videos, but as long as it is reported, Tik Tok is usually good at taking them down and terminating their account. There is however quite a bit of swearing, something you will want to watch out for. As long as you set rules and your under-13 child is mature, I think it should be fine

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byjidlemanpopp291 January 21, 2019

tiktok

so good

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old January 16, 2019

PEDO HOTSPOT

Ok, so i (as a kid) have seen lots of my friends have old people comment on their videos so i dont think this app is safe

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written bymusically010308 January 8, 2019

THE BEST APP EVER!

it is the best app i love to sing and dance so i love the app
Kid, 11 years old January 3, 2019

Fun, but not for kids

Sexual themes, language, and privacy concerns. Fun, but this app ain’t for youngins’

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byTherealdirtydan December 27, 2018

Simply disgusting

Cringey and sad. Probably will be the end of humanity.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCloudtail December 20, 2018

Use discretion

This is a good app for people who are at least 13. There is an age recommendation for the app for a reason. Beware, there is swearing. Use discretion with what you do on this app and you will be fine.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 8 years old December 15, 2018
Teen, 14 years old Written byhohni December 11, 2018

Less mature then YouTube

If you let your kids watch YouTube at all, this app is fine for them
Teen, 13 years old Written byRealUprisingYT December 10, 2018

Haven't tried yet, but does have memes with swearing

Does have lots of videos with swear words but is basically recommended for age 13+ because it says it in the T&C's and Privacy Policy.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byMage_Rage December 4, 2018
It's Greattttttttt!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language

Pages