Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 131 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 218 reviews
Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2016

Parents are Butthurt

Honestly, I was looking through the parent reviews and they are butthurt. In my experience, I haven't seen any mature, porn, or graphic material. Now some of the songs may have bad/graphic words but all kids already know about those words so why hide it from them. Also if you don't want people that you don't know watching your musicals then put your account on private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 10 years old September 5, 2016

THIS APP IS TRASH!

Do not get this app,Why?This app is insancely bad with bad words and sexual moves.I wanted my mom to get me this because everyone has it at my school.But then my mom showed me this awesome website and i was like now way!My friend is addicted to this when ever go over to her house to have a playdate she is always on her iPad doing stupid music.ly

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2016

16 and up????

I can't believe some of the ratings people are giving musical.ly. It is just a harmless app where you can lip sinc to creatively. It's not amazing, but it's something to do with your friends or when you are bored. As for adults concerns, explicit lyrics are going to make us start cussing, and I can't even begin to imagine how 'revealing outfits' should be reason enough to stop your child having the app. What I'm trying to say is that musical.ly is a good app to relieve boredom that is perfectly fine for not-immature or easily influenced children should be allowed on.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytrmanning02 April 19, 2016

Musical.ly

I got this app at 12 and think that is totally fine for anybody that age. The only thing to watch out for is really the language and messages in songs.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 11 years old April 11, 2016
I think it's got a bit of language, but if you think your kid is mature enough to ignore it, or not use it, then it should be fine. It' s a really fun app. Plus you can turn your account to private, so only people you approve of can look at what you post.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bybirdlover19 December 12, 2016

OMG THE BEST!!!!!!

You can easily make nice music videos by your choice of song!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byLeen M. September 17, 2017

It's fine

Of course there are songs that are inappropriate (depending on your child's age) but if you trust your kid, you should have no problem with this app. Your kid should know what audios not to use and what people not to follow. If you are worried about predators, make your child's account private. Only allowing friends to be able to see their musical.lys. People think everything is childproof. For ffs, they've probably heard worse curse words at school. Stop overreacting and being overprotective. I would be bored to death if I had parents like some of the people in these reviews.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byMhsrhvid September 4, 2017

Amazing

It perfectly fine no sex the language is not the best but what do you expect!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old October 21, 2016

Amazing

i really think this app is amazing. Its really for everyone. You can make super fun 16 seconds videos like Comedy, Top hits . I also really think its really well orginized

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bySophieeatspringles08 April 6, 2017

Depends

Musically is a super fun app, but if you should use it or not really depends on your maturity level. But it glitches... A lot

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byKaileighsellis February 8, 2017

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byDog Lover September 25, 2016

Fun, if used appropriately

This is a very fun app to use. It can have some swear words, but only in the music that you do musicals to.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2016

Fun!

The app is rated 12+ Make sure you check your childs device and make sure that their account is on private if you dont want them to post videos of them to the internet. If you are unfamiliar with musical.ly it is an app where you lip sync to music. Some of the songs swear or refer to inappropriate things. But that is up to what your child does. So check their device for those things aswell. It STILL IS SUPER FUN

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 19, 2016

What I think

I definitely think 11 and up should be musers. Private accounts can help

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2016

A really fun app with some faults

Kid, 12 years old November 10, 2018

PARENTS MUST READ THIS!

I got musical.ly or tik tok a little while back. I was so excited to follow my friends, and make videos of my own. After a couple of days, I had 20 follow requests from complete strangers. Being only 10 years old, I freaked out and denied the requests. The next day, the same accounts had requested to follow me again! One day after school, I was at a friends house and she told me that her account was on public mode, and she had SO MANY followers, a total of 130. She was only 9 at the time. I asked if her parents knew and she said no, they didn't even know she had the app. After only 4 days of owning this app, I decided to disable my account. I googled how to, and apparently, YOU CAN'T! I deleted the app, but my account will always be up, and just because you're on private, doesn't mean you safe. Also, my friend told me that she deleted the app too, because her followers started messaging her late at night, and it scared her. Please don't let this happen to your kids. This is a messed up app and no kid deserves to be put out in a world of creeps. I got this app because all my friends had it, but none of us knew that our privacy was at stake. Don't risk your kid's privacy. Please don't.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2018

Disgusting, bringing kids away from reality.

Okay, so these kids are saying that "Oh, musically is so awesome and stuff, blah blah blah!" Well, it's not. Some of my friends have it and every second they go back to their phones saying they need to check on their views whatever. It's so annoying and it stops the fun stuff we are doing. Also, my little cousin has musically and I watched one of her videos and SHE WAS PRETEND SMOKING. I freaked out and she just started giggling. Also, this is meant for 13 year olds but these little kids lie so they can do whatever this is. There's a lot of sexual content too, like little girls being all sexy and shaking their butt whatever. ..it's a bad influence. Kids under 13 should not do this! I think they are too irresponsible. Well, the majority. (Sorry.) Plus, they can reveal your child's information and where your child is and how she/he is like from watching the video. You can't trust people. So don't get it. Please. Thank you.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byraelove August 28, 2016

it is the best

I love you
Teen, 14 years old Written by505jmd26 July 1, 2016

Music.ly review

This is supposedly an app created to be a social media. They have almost nothing kid friendly, sex, drugs, bad language, etc. do not recommend this

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byFruitella May 31, 2016

Great if your responsible

People keep saying that there are bad songs that you can lip sync to which you can, I am not disagreeing but you can have easier access of those songs on somewhere like YouTube which is supposedly harmless according to most parents. I think that this app is harmless if your a child above 12 years old or your are mature because if you are responsible you know what songs to lip sync and what not- if you don't know what a word means, don't use the song and there are millions of clean versions of songs to use, so no need to worry. If your child isn't responsible you can always you safety controls and check what your child is looking at before they do it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages