Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 132 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 218 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byNadia Cloud June 3, 2018

So childish and hard to make.

I used to musical.lys and they were really terrible.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old April 29, 2018

Musical.ly is great for tweens and teens. Super fun and exciting.

Ok, first of all some of these reviews are silly. Really 18+? That’s a little extreme. There is some great musical.lys out there like cute dogs and funny stunts. And yes there is some body stuff and language, but it’s not that bad. Of course parents might be concerned about this app, but it’s really nothing to be worried about. I think you should let your kids have it (if they want it) at about 10. It’s also really fun to do with friends. It’s a great activity in your spare time. Last, I feel like this will give your child a lesson about being safe on the internet as well as having fun.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old April 3, 2018

it is ok

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byfashionqueen April 2, 2018

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old April 1, 2018

meh,

This app was really fun for like a month and then it kind of got boring. I have had it for almost a year and I still post but rarely. My mom also is thinking she may make me delete it because she heard about a lot of videos with kids hurting themselves for likes (#TidePodChallenge and #SelfHarm) I have seen some #TidePodChallenge and it is when kids and teens eat tidePods for likes. That is terrible. The app is fun but its so sad that kids are doing stuff like that. Also I have not seen it but some friends have said they saw naked people..... EEKK!
Kid, 11 years old March 27, 2018

fun app

This app is fun and social. If you look at who they follow and make sure they are being age appropriate on their account. Lipsync and be creative

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byMwert567 March 26, 2018
Teen, 13 years old Written bycutecat1234 March 21, 2018

good if your responsible

if you know what videos to watch its fine

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlphaZulu March 21, 2018

Meh

So, first of all, it is relatively easy to use. The UI does feel somewhat cluttered, but it isn't bad. Of course, like with any social media app, or even any online app, there will be safety and privacy concerns, and parents should ensure their child is staying safe. The app does feature swearing and colourful language, mainly because it is playing real songs. There doesn't appear to be any sort of filtering for this colourful language, but as long as your child does understand what's bad to say and what's VERY bad to say, they should be fine using the app. I myself also believe the concept of the app is bad, but there are other reviews that explain that in further detail. Overall, as long as your child is mature, they should be fine with it from the age of above around 13-14. I am not aware of any sexual activity in the app, but other reviews suggest there is some, which is why my recommended age is so high. At this age, they've already been through sex education in school, therefore understanding the concept and... stuff.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2018

Fun I Guess?

It is fun, just screen your kid's or teen's account to make sure there is no porn. And contrary to this article, we do not sing just make music videos to other's songs, and there is no way music or dance can be provocative it's just a different style. It is fun for tweens as well.
Teen, 13 years old Written byflor flor January 5, 2018

good

its great

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byvkgirl December 21, 2017

Very Good if used properly

I got this app when I was 10 and my mom deleted it. It is amazing for letting creativity flow- I'm a choreographer so it lets me do whatever I want. I would let kids who are over 11 and responsible use this app. Some songs have language but if you make the best choices you're not going to find anything inappropriate.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old December 21, 2017

Very Good App For Kids.

I think that musical.ly is a great app for children. If your child is under 13, you can create a private account and then you can decide who can see your musical.lys. But, if you aren't over 13, and if you don't have a private account, there are scammers that can see your musical.lys and they say that "you can get free followers by going to this website!" (Such as musicallyfree.com.) Also, some songs contain swear words, so I would only recommend this if your child is mature enough. There is very little sexual content, but if you search deep enough, then you can see sexual content.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old December 2, 2017

Watch out for inappropriate things!!

This app is ok and pretty average I just think it's a bit too open so I would recommend having a private account. You can run into some inappropriate language in songs so you have to be careful about it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrianna B. September 29, 2017

PRIVACY ISSUES

Ok, parents, listen up. This app has serious issues. While in privacy settings, it's fine, but without those settings, THIS APP SUCKS,(excuse my language). My best friend got this app and we were messing around with it, but she keeps it in private settings. DO NOT GET THIS APP.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old July 29, 2017

Just watch your kids.

This is a great social app for older kids. I have my own account. Just watch out for the bad 0.1% of users.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old March 14, 2017

SAD JUST SAD

there is nothing really THAT bad in musical.ly other then when you scroll through some featured persons profile example : Casey Simson (especially him), they make their life look so great and say your upset and you see how happy he or she is it makes the person feel worse!! I recommend you should hold up until you know thats not true because nobody is going to post on a site oh look my cat die!! so before you get musical.ly just make sure you know that.
Teen, 17 years old Written byfrancis 19 February 25, 2017
Teen, 14 years old Written bylaurel123 June 30, 2016

Teen friendly app

I am a 14 year old girl who had musical.ly and thought it was an ok app, not due to lack of safety, just lack of entertainment and value. I think that it is an appropriate app for those older than 12/13, and still should be checked in on once in a while.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language

Pages