Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 128 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 209 reviews
Kid, 11 years old September 17, 2017

Review Of Musical.ly

I downloaded this app when I was 10 and it's totally safe for kids 10+. You should have a private account and don't lip sync to inappropriate songs. Don't do any songs that like have super bad words in it. Note to parents: this app is pretty addicting. But if you follow the steps that I mentioned, your child will be safe.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byChavama2786 April 12, 2017

It esay

You can see what you need to know

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bysnowyzus March 30, 2017

Mature children can handle this..

Although some songs you're allowed to access have swearing, let's face it: Not many children these days HAVEN'T heard swearing constantly; whether at school or on the Internet. As long as you take the songs with discretion, this app is extremely addicting!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byjaidenhorses March 26, 2017

NOT WORTH THE RISK!!!

I downloaded the app because my friend said it was super fun and a great way to get creative. At first I liked the app.......... but then I saw some pretty disturbing and sexual dancing and heard a BUNCH of inappropriate music. I immediately deleted the app and forgot about it. A couple weeks later my mom walked into my room and said, "Hey, have you ever heard of this app called Musical.ly?' I said, "Yeah, I used to have that app but there was a bunch of cussing and inappropriate dancing so I deleted it." Then she told me that my friend's best friend had posted a video of her dancing NAKED!!!!!!!!!! This is an eleven year old girl posting videos of her NAKED BODY!!!!!!!!!! When the girl's mom found out about the video, she told her to delete it........... but once you post a musical.ly, you can't delete it!!! I was shocked. This was horrifying to me. I don't know why ANYONE lets their kids on this app. In fact, as a kid myself, I wish my parents would have known more about this app because if it weren't for me listening to my instincts, I could have been exposed to A LOT more inappropriate stuff. Honestly, risking seeing porn just to make a couple music videos isn't worth it to me.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byhuisii7546 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2017

Musical.ly Review from a Kid's perspective

Musical.ly is a fun app, where you can lip sync to your favorite songs. While being all fun and games, its also a social media app where you have your typical: followers, likes, comments, views, ect. It's not like that necessarily makes it bad but you should be aware that there are not many restrictions. If you are a parent that isn't so sure about this app, your child can always put their account on private. I think maybe kids around 8,9,10 should maybe wait a couple years but around 11 years old is probably when I think kids understand what to post and what not to. It also really just depends on the kid. Musical.ly is kid-friendly for the most part but does have some iffy language here and there. I think if you and your kid are just starting out this whole social media thing, musical.ly is a good place to start.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written by22bradleyb December 14, 2016

Britney's review

I think it is the best because it has been the most amazing app ever seen.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byTyler Brown November 28, 2016
Teen, 14 years old Written bymiss_rican November 5, 2016
Teen, 13 years old Written byAjmazed October 13, 2016

Addictive, sometimes you need to watch out.

It's a very addictive app, it's fun and similar to Dubsmash Some adults mistake it and label it "18+ not for kids" Although musically is made for tweens and teens to enjoy. It has some explicit songs but nothing major. I barley hear extreme cursing on it.. But you might find someone being rude to you sometimes, Also they have a "best fan forever" to make users And it allows them to do a musically with them and One time someone did this to me and my face was On their account.. also there is live.ly where you can FaceTime, livestream, and chat with your fans.. It's also a cool idea but sometimes you can have your Face shown in front of 10'000 people. Yes.. it needs Monitoring but can be monitored.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byheybruh October 8, 2016

Bad

I am sorry. Musically is horrible! I can't comment or like any musicals!! It always deleted my comments once I comment! When I like the musical, I go see someone else's then I go back to that one, it shows that I did not like. Seriously.
Teen, 13 years old Written byKendallC25 September 19, 2016

Not really that bad

I've had musical.ly for the longest time and barley ever come across inapropriate videos. You can put your account to private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old September 7, 2016

Must be aware of the dangerous possibilities

Musical.ly is a very creative app which to some kids, can unleash their inner "talents". However, there are always the possibilities that they will abuse this opportunity and actually go and check out inappropriate stuff like the #adult. Parents are encouraged to supervise their child by downloading the app and checking what their child is doing daily! Children, try to not get addicted as studies are also important. What about your true talents? It won't come to light if all you just do it lip sync. HIGHLY ADVISE everyone to not lip sync to music/songs with inappropriate lyrics unless parent approved. This means that parents must also be responsible in what their child does. I am 11 alright, I've downloaded this app with much pursuation from friends and I did with hesitation! So far I have not seen anything inappropriate but again, it is based on how mature you can be. Honestly, I sometimes enjoy it, sometimes I would rather give advice, reviews like this one, and blog!(Of course, with the exception of personal info) Maybe playing an instrument will do your child good. Sorry for the long "rant" coming from an 11- year old kid, but I feel that parents can also be responsible with rheir child's well being. As for me, I only use this app half of the time and find it difficult to post often xD

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old August 2, 2016

Lip-syncing social network with great idea, not so great delivery.

Perhaps this app may have reached a 4 star rating if only it wasn't so buggy and slow on some devices. At several points whilst I made a musical.ly, I was glitches out before it developed. This is indeed frustrating, but is still a fairly good app. It is an easy touch and hold concept, but some safety concerns may overthrow the great features on this app. As every social network, "musers" share their musical.lys on the app, but there is a feature to make an account, or a single musical.ly, private. Still, if your children act irresponsibly while using the app, privacy concerns will be a very big issue. Another red flag is the large use of swearing that CANNOT be avoided. There is also an abundance of strong language, even c--t, but this is very rare. More common is f--k, s--t, bitch and the infamous "N" word. Some songs also depict sex and/or drugs, and some musers wear very edgy costumes. Some songs also contain discussion of violent acts or things. Cartoonish violence in a handful of musical.lys. Overall, Musical.ly is a fine app, but you really need to know your kid. An especially good idea is to use the app with them, and monitor what they post and who views their musical.lys.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byJeremiah Mendieta July 30, 2016

A good app

I think that you have to be responsible and mature to have this app

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bymovieloveranna July 27, 2016

Fun and relatively safe for kids

I decided to get this game after a couple of my friends had, and I really like it! It's similar to Dubsmash, but HD. Its fun to make duets, and watch "featured" musical.ly's. There are some songs that have bad lyrics, but if the kid doesn't want to use those he/she doesn't have to. Also, you can make your account private, so only the people you allow to follow you are able to see your "public" musical.ly's.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byMondayfunwiththeboss July 20, 2016

Musically

I think musically should be for every one and I want to do one with my bro and I do it with him So you can probably

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2016

Fun, silly lip synchs.........some swearing/safety concerns

This is a great app for tweens and teens alike! However, beware swearing in certain songs, there is no censor. I have a private account, where only my friends can see what I am posting. I have been on musical.ly for a few months now, and I have seen no sexual content. You can report and block people who are mean/innapropriate. Overall, this app is a super fun way to interact with your friends and listen to music. This is for mature 10/11 year olds (suggest private account), but mostly 12 and up!

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old June 29, 2016

Parents need to chill

now, being a user of it, and personally knowing many people of my age group (tween) who use it. I can advise you that it is one of the safest social medias. Musically will defenitly let you have a private account, and only let people who your child knows follow them. Yes, there are hashtags. But if your account is private, then you wont show up there. There is an option to only let friends Direct Message them. And if some icons, or content has pornographic imagery, then if your kid is responsible they'll tell you. There is suggestive and sexual language, but they're not giving the kids that song and only that song, they have a choice to not pick the song, ans listen to the small snippet of it before creating the video. Like I said, if your kid is responsible, then they would not pick the song. There are WAY to many parents on here saying 18+ rating, ONLY because of language. If your kid is 6 years old and using this, WHAT ARE YOU DOING? You read the reviews if you left one, right? Your kid should know what swear words mean. And you're right, they don't know what they're doing saying those things. I can tell you that 99.999% of teens and tweens are COMPLETELY innocent. I can guarantee you that this app is safe. If you still don't belive me, then check their phone, tablet, ect., and make sure that they're following your rules and being safe. Thank you, and goodbye *jumps off soap box*

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byZozo1234 June 25, 2016

Musical.ly should be 9+

I think that it should be ages 9+ because you can interact with others, but also have a private account, then others cannot see your musical.ly. Personally I have musical.ly and it isn't that bad for kids.

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages