Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 128 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 209 reviews
Kid, 9 years old June 5, 2016

not that bad to get the rating 16=

in this game you can film you or you and a friend doing something to music. all types of curse words can and are used(f---a--s----b-----etc) stuff can be reported (this next part is for adults) it dose ask for your birth year but only you can see it and if it is younger than 13 it won't let you play. OVERALL: this game is not so bad 14/15 years (12 if you reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllly want to play now of soon)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old April 22, 2016

Depends

Just know that you or your child should beware to NEVER put any personal stuff on this app. And for younger kids or tweens, you should make it a personal or private account. But it is very fun! I love it, and found a few of my favorite songs from this app!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byDancer4evr April 16, 2016

Musical.ly

Its an innocent app that lets you lip-sync to different audios from comedy to dance. You can also record your own voice as well. Some videos from others are somewhat inappropriate. There is a "private" setting and I would recommend turning it on to prevent random people seeing you online. Some pre-recorded audios do have foul language or inappropriate topics but other than that it is fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old November 10, 2018

PARENTS MUST READ THIS!

I got musical.ly or tik tok a little while back. I was so excited to follow my friends, and make videos of my own. After a couple of days, I had 20 follow requests from complete strangers. Being only 10 years old, I freaked out and denied the requests. The next day, the same accounts had requested to follow me again! One day after school, I was at a friends house and she told me that her account was on public mode, and she had SO MANY followers, a total of 130. She was only 9 at the time. I asked if her parents knew and she said no, they didn't even know she had the app. After only 4 days of owning this app, I decided to disable my account. I googled how to, and apparently, YOU CAN'T! I deleted the app, but my account will always be up, and just because you're on private, doesn't mean you safe. Also, my friend told me that she deleted the app too, because her followers started messaging her late at night, and it scared her. Please don't let this happen to your kids. This is a messed up app and no kid deserves to be put out in a world of creeps. I got this app because all my friends had it, but none of us knew that our privacy was at stake. Don't risk your kid's privacy. Please don't.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old June 15, 2018

Don't let kids get it!

Do not let your kids download this app!!! I have tried it, but i did not really feel safe. And after trying live.ly, I have made my conclusion that its 18+. Because on a live stream, I had to witness adult content!! And also, the musically app has alot of bad adult language.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 9 years old May 2, 2018

Fun, but maybe for the more responsible kids.

So, this game is really fun. My dad put it on my iPad with huge negativity. He let me create an account and then make musical.lys. I have my account on the private setting which means people have to request to follow you. There is also a sequel to musical.ly, it's called live.ly, and it's basically like musical.ly but live streaming. Anyway, back to musical.ly. It's basically just a game where you make your own music videos. However, some songs you can choose may be inappropriate or sexual. No adult wants their kid hearing that cr*p. So if your child is responsible, like I said in the title, they will know what to look out for. I have heard some songs with inappropriate language, but I just never revisited them/made a musical.ly out of them. It is, overall, a very fun game! I hope whoever downloads it agrees, and if not, well, sorry.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 10 years old October 23, 2017

Age 10: Let Me Tell You The Pros and Cons

As a ten yr. old, Many kids in my school have this app called Musical.ly. Musical.ly is an online social networking app where you can lip sync to songs. PRIVACY CONCERNS: Yes privacy may be a concern, Personally I just let me friends watch my musical.ly's. If you are age 13 or below, Stick to keeping your account Private (Set in Settings), If 14 or above, I guess if you are responsible enough it would be fine, Keep in mind that if your account is not private anyone in the world can see it OPINIONS: Musical.ly is basically like youtube or any other social networking but a little less revealing with info. It really just depends if you are responsible using it! May be a bit laggy but that's not the biggest issue. If you are less than 13, I reccomend not to be "too" revealing with info. ADULT STUFF?: By so far everything i've seen is fine except for clothing (Revealing clothes, Crop tops and ect.) Hope This Helped!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byspicyramennoodles October 19, 2017
All kids 12 and younger should not be able to follow or look at the musicallys of anyone they don’t know. They also need to put their account on private settings.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 9 years old October 8, 2017

Well... bad and good.

Musical.ly is a good app, where your child can make music videos. However, there is some inappropriate content, including sexual stuff, swearing, and privacy issues. You can just get your kid a private account, which, by the way, I don't think helps.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old October 7, 2017

Very Good

I think that musical.ly is really fun and creative, because you get to meet new friends and show your talents, but you should also be careful for the sex and swearing in videos. Other than that, I think it is awesome, and I never had any problems so far.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 11 years old October 3, 2017

A good app, if your child is responsible.

This app is fun, but it isn't for young children. It has some sexual content, though this isn't really too bad, I think the worst concern is children sharing personal information. There is, however, a setting that allows you to have a private account, which will make it so that only people you approve can see your videos. This app also contains profanity, so it isn't appropriate for young kids. However, this can be a good app for teens, and some 12 year olds if they are responsible and know what content to avoid. However, this is not a good app for any age younger than that. Also, this app can be addicting.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old September 12, 2017

Pointless, stupid, useless

It's stupid. All you do is lip-synch. It requires no musical talent. So sick of watching my friends wave their phone around like idiot while mouthing along to something. They even edit. Don't let your child near this thing. Seems to be addicting. What's it gonna look like on their future job applications? Resumé: Musical.ly-er? (muser. Some people actually do this full-time...)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byroxsssssss July 15, 2017

worst app i ever seen

first of all theres a lot of children who act like fucking whore on musically. second of all theres pedos on here. Third of all the fucking app is buggy as fucking hell and it freezes every 2 seconds. musically needs to fix its shit before anyone mother fucking downloads this stupid fucking app

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2017

Too Inappropriate!

This app has videos that have bad words and adult actions or moves.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2017

Love It

I am 11 and I love Musical.ly. I think that the required age to use the app varies depending on what you browse and how you use it. There are some songs with inappropriate language. However, if your parents say not to listen to those songs, it's very easy to handle. My 8 year old sister uses it and I haven't heard one song with a bad word from her account. Anyway, it's really easy and fun once you get the hang of it. You can follow your friends, make short videos to a huge variety of songs, and watch other "musers" videos. : )

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old June 15, 2017

almost the best!!!!!!

As a child I say musical.ly can help discover new people in the world, discover new music, and make friends.... there are cons... some musers tend to show a little more of "adult stuff" which would be better to see when older.... some musers also give personal info.... I say there are a lot of positive messages and not that much of cursing..... musers also may show drinking/smoking/drugs which could influence people.... Staying safe for younger children: Make your account price ate in setting (only friends can see em) Not tend to show your face too much Monitor your child's account Make sure what your kids are appropriate Written by, UnicornsOf_Starbucks

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old June 8, 2017

Very dangerous

My mum allowed me to have musical.ly and I have had it for ages. Then a kid from my school had friended pedos and they tried the rob the person and sent them death threats. A big NO. I have now deleted the app.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old May 17, 2017

I think as long as you know what you are doing it is fine.

As long as you choose appropriate videos it is OK for kids.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2017

Bad Parenting

Every single parent posting about Musical.ly talking about pornographers posting videos in their kid's feed is SERIOUSLY THE WORST PARENT EVER! THE KIDS are the ones letting porn go on their account. YOU AS A PARENT need to lecture your children about the dangers of the internet and make sure they don't follow the accounts that constantly show inappropriate content. Musical.ly is perfectly appropriate as long as you follow the right people. I have never experienced anything that the parents on this website are talking about.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2017

Love this app but parents...

Just want to tell the parents about this one. Ok the app does have songs that have curse words but they also have the clean version. and well yea... other people can view your musicals but thats only if you have a public account, i have a private account so only MY friends can view it. If you are thinking about letting your kid get this app check it out and put the private account on so it can be fun!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language

Pages