Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 132 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 219 reviews
Kid, 11 years old November 19, 2017

Eh. Boring and super cringe sometimes.

I used to make Musical.lys, that is, until I smacked some sense into myself. It’s so stupid, and the only reason that I still have the app is to like my friends Musical.lys. Skip this one.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old September 27, 2017

Use caution

so basically its a fine app, but you have to make sure that as a kid that you are only making lip syncs to lyrics you understand, are not inappropriate, and that your parent(s) would approve of. have fun!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byToaster45 August 22, 2017

Skip this app

This app is a disgrace to humanity. Musical.ly should not be used by anyone. Aside from the fact that this app is completely pointless and will make you cringe very hard, I actually found 8-10 year olds doing Musical.lys on things they really shouldn't know about like Brandon Rogers (look him up at your own risk if you're under 13). Overall, stay away from Musical.ly at all costs. Also, you can't delete your account unless you ask musical.ly itself.
Teen, 13 years old Written byacupoftea July 21, 2017

There are better, safer, more enjoyable apps.

I'm going to be completely honest here, so bear with me... Musical.ly encourages kids to seek attention and promotes popularity desire. Uses of words like "S***, hell, f***, "netflix and chill," and other inappropriate references. Personally I think the app is a waste of time and--if you're a parent--let your kid stick to something safer and actually enjoyable. If you're a kid/teen-- this app will probably hit the list of regrets for you. Personally it's none of my business what apps you/your kids decide to download but I'd cross this one out as a no-no. Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your day :)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old July 12, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byOpal F June 15, 2017

Stop being overprotective of your children!

I'm 13 and I use this app, you guys should stop being so overprotective of your teenagers, They know what sex is, they know it's natural, I wouldn't recommend it to any age under 13, because, well, children's faces shouldn't be plastered all over the Internet. You, as the parents, need to monitor what your kids say on apps like this, it's a social media app, what do you expect?

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byperson1111 May 31, 2017

Fun app not that innaporite

This is a fun basic social media app. Kids should download this app before they download other social media apps. Occanaly swearing in sogs, but that basicly it.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byiiWatermelonz May 20, 2017

Some adult content, and everything else, but amusing.

Adult content is frequent, but not all that rated M stuff.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnna Moore May 4, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byTarlia.jou April 11, 2017
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2017

Don't Waste Your Time On This App

This app was fun to use when I first got it, but it got really boring after a while, and I realized it is very inapropriate for kids. I was into it and I got it because my friends said it was GREAT and all of that stuff, but it is really not. I am very surprised that any parents let their kids download apps like this because people do pretty much anything they can do in their musical.lys, including really bad movements.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bymillaax April 8, 2017

Very good app with little iffy content.

Yes. musically does have innapropriate content. i have never discovered anything that is wrong for children. however, some musicals involve swearing. there are sponsors all over the app though however, no ads. other than this, the app is fine for tweens (10-13) teens, (13-18) and adults.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old April 1, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old April 1, 2017

Musical.ly

Musical.ly is a safe video sharing lip syncing talent showing app. I see too many people saying that it's horrible and should not be allowed for kids and that they saw people liking their kids videos. I mean what's wrong with people liking their kids videos? I mean jeez do they have to do this every time a new cool social media comes out??!! I personally love musical.ly and show my real talent on it. It's not just innapropriate songs and dances. It's really fun! People that say that its just a non talent lip syncing app haven't looked into it at all! People show their talents like singing and dancing and drawing and sports talents and all sorts of cool things that they can do. You just have to be mature. There is people on musical.ly with horrible diseases and sad stories of their life. They inspire young people to never give up. Some of my two favorite musers are rilyn dinaye and kaylee halko. Rilyn has a horrible bone disease but still is amazing and inspiring and does great musical.lys . Kaylee has a disease where she ages faster and is very small skinny and wrinkly. Kaylee gets bullied for her appearance all the time, but so many people including me tell her how beautiful she is and how pretty her eyes are and how nice her clothes are and we defend her . Anyway all I'm saying is that musical.ly is amazing and inspiring and so much fun!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byMist 21 February 12, 2017
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2017

Awsome Game xx

Music.ly is a great app for children 11+ To express their creativity. However, younger children should consider setting their accounts to private as it protects their identity and privacy more! Parents may also want to consider monitoring their child's videos and the people they follow as you can lip-sync to some songs that have strong language. I've had the app for a long time now and it never fails to please me, it's a very entertaining app and a social media that is easy to use and protects any personal information well xX

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byBadBass2001 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2017

Musical.ly

I think that this app entertains kids from ages 10 and higher. This app is a lip sync app where kids can lip sync to songs by any artist. If you are worried about your child getting this app, they can have a private account, where only their friends or people that they let can see their videos. Also, parents can create an account for themselves so that they can follow their kid(s) and watch their videos and see what they are doing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 9 years old November 26, 2016

Are you kidding me?

Everybody is like "Oh my god if you type in (so and so) porn will show up!" Do you REALLY think kids and tweens will search that? Also, you can make private accounts where nobody can see your videos unless you approve. Swearing is really not a big issue your child probably knows a lot if not all of them unless they are extremely sheltered. I mean elementary school kids still swear! I can tell you this and I'm in 4th grade! About sex, well maybe your child won't be as innocent, but hey, kids have gotta grow up. If they hear a sexual song it's not like they're gonna copy everything and have sex behind your back! Goodness gracious these people are overprotective! God!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byhaileymaria139 October 19, 2016

Its not that harmful

This game is okay for 12 and older! People are saying its 16-18 but really I'd say its for 12 year olds. I am a musical.ly user myself. DOWNLOAD THE APP ITS THE BEST!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages