Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 132 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 218 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoco.06 April 8, 2017

musical.ly it is the best

I think that musical.ly is a great site to use if you are 10 and up because some of the music is inapproppriate but it is an awesome site.so it is a great site.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old April 1, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old April 1, 2017

Musical.ly

Musical.ly is a safe video sharing lip syncing talent showing app. I see too many people saying that it's horrible and should not be allowed for kids and that they saw people liking their kids videos. I mean what's wrong with people liking their kids videos? I mean jeez do they have to do this every time a new cool social media comes out??!! I personally love musical.ly and show my real talent on it. It's not just innapropriate songs and dances. It's really fun! People that say that its just a non talent lip syncing app haven't looked into it at all! People show their talents like singing and dancing and drawing and sports talents and all sorts of cool things that they can do. You just have to be mature. There is people on musical.ly with horrible diseases and sad stories of their life. They inspire young people to never give up. Some of my two favorite musers are rilyn dinaye and kaylee halko. Rilyn has a horrible bone disease but still is amazing and inspiring and does great musical.lys . Kaylee has a disease where she ages faster and is very small skinny and wrinkly. Kaylee gets bullied for her appearance all the time, but so many people including me tell her how beautiful she is and how pretty her eyes are and how nice her clothes are and we defend her . Anyway all I'm saying is that musical.ly is amazing and inspiring and so much fun!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byblah305 March 29, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byzwag34 March 18, 2017
Kid, 11 years old March 13, 2017

why should we play musical.ly

Musical.ly is a great app, because you learn some sign language because of all the hand motions. Musical.ly is a good app you wont regret geting it and its all free no money involved.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2017

all the people in my class have it

nobody keeps to 12 + so you cant get arrested you can have a private account and just share them with your friends its the best app ever

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2017

Great!

Musical.ly is a great app for kids 11 and older there can be some cursing but not that bad and it's not like your kid didn't already know those word mean andwhat they are. I had musical.ly and I did not see any inappropriate dancing or anything like that. Only the cursing is the worst think I've seen/herd in this app.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMist 21 February 12, 2017
Kid, 11 years old February 11, 2017

Awsome Game xx

Music.ly is a great app for children 11+ To express their creativity. However, younger children should consider setting their accounts to private as it protects their identity and privacy more! Parents may also want to consider monitoring their child's videos and the people they follow as you can lip-sync to some songs that have strong language. I've had the app for a long time now and it never fails to please me, it's a very entertaining app and a social media that is easy to use and protects any personal information well xX

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byBadBass2001 February 7, 2017

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2017

Depends....

It depends on the kid of what he or she does. It has some bad stuff in it but you can moniter and make the account private. Its a fun app but can get adictive. Be sure of what the kid is doing because he or she can do some bad stuff pretty quickly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2017

Musical.ly

I think that this app entertains kids from ages 10 and higher. This app is a lip sync app where kids can lip sync to songs by any artist. If you are worried about your child getting this app, they can have a private account, where only their friends or people that they let can see their videos. Also, parents can create an account for themselves so that they can follow their kid(s) and watch their videos and see what they are doing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 11 years old January 6, 2017

Interesting

Very fun to watch friends and family, but there is some inappropriate content, like all social media. Just don't talk to strangers and don't trust anyone. It is not musical.lys fault if a child is posting songs with bad choices. For mature kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bydisney_girl4 December 10, 2016

Really Fun

This app is really fun, especially with friends and family. They have put in a DM box and filters which I think is pretty cool but the filters aren't very attractive. There are also thousands of songs that you could choose. (A lot have cuss words.)

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old November 26, 2016

Are you kidding me?

Everybody is like "Oh my god if you type in (so and so) porn will show up!" Do you REALLY think kids and tweens will search that? Also, you can make private accounts where nobody can see your videos unless you approve. Swearing is really not a big issue your child probably knows a lot if not all of them unless they are extremely sheltered. I mean elementary school kids still swear! I can tell you this and I'm in 4th grade! About sex, well maybe your child won't be as innocent, but hey, kids have gotta grow up. If they hear a sexual song it's not like they're gonna copy everything and have sex behind your back! Goodness gracious these people are overprotective! God!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byteen.14 years old. October 22, 2016

Good for mature tweens and older

This is a wonderful app! I love being able to lipsinc to music. You can direct message people, but there is a setting that only allows people you follow to dm you. I have had a private account since i was 11 and think that this is the way to go. With a private account, you get to choose who can follow you and view your videos. Although there is some mild swearing and suggestive dancing, it isn't enough to make me leave the app. It is difficult to find the VERY inappropriate things, unless you actually look. I personally have not looked and have not seen anything to suggestive.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byhaileymaria139 October 19, 2016

Its not that harmful

This game is okay for 12 and older! People are saying its 16-18 but really I'd say its for 12 year olds. I am a musical.ly user myself. DOWNLOAD THE APP ITS THE BEST!!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byLizzie's Llamas October 15, 2016

Just some background....

Basically, as with any social media app, this app was meant to be good, and some people made it not great. Many kids are 9, 10, 11 using this app, but it physically says ages 13 and up! Just beware that it is meant to be used by teens. There is also some ...interesting.... content the app tries to hide this stuff pretty successfully, but some popular songs do swear. That's pretty much it though.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byFruitLoop October 3, 2016

Just Watch Your Kids! That's all!

I love it soo much!! Just watch your kids when they are doing it. And also, make your account private. It's better. You won't get haters that way.

Pages