Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 155 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 245 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byToaster45 August 22, 2017

Skip this app

This app is a disgrace to humanity. Musical.ly should not be used by anyone. Aside from the fact that this app is completely pointless and will make you cringe very hard, I actually found 8-10 year olds doing Musical.lys on things they really shouldn't know about like Brandon Rogers (look him up at your own risk if you're under 13). Overall, stay away from Musical.ly at all costs. Also, you can't delete your account unless you ask musical.ly itself.
Kid, 9 years old July 29, 2017

Just watch your kids.

This is a great social app for older kids. I have my own account. Just watch out for the bad 0.1% of users.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byacupoftea July 21, 2017

There are better, safer, more enjoyable apps.

I'm going to be completely honest here, so bear with me...
Musical.ly encourages kids to seek attention and promotes popularity desire. Uses of words like "S***, hell, f***, "netflix and chill," and other inappropriate references. Personally I think the app is a waste of time and--if you're a parent--let your kid stick to something safer and actually enjoyable. If you're a kid/teen-- this app will probably hit the list of regrets for you. Personally it's none of my business what apps you/your kids decide to download but I'd cross this one out as a no-no. Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your day :)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old July 12, 2017
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2017

Too Inappropriate!

This app has videos that have bad words and adult actions or moves.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2017

Love It

I am 11 and I love Musical.ly. I think that the required age to use the app varies depending on what you browse and how you use it. There are some songs with inappropriate language. However, if your parents say not to listen to those songs, it's very easy to handle. My 8 year old sister uses it and I haven't heard one song with a bad word from her account. Anyway, it's really easy and fun once you get the hang of it. You can follow your friends, make short videos to a huge variety of songs, and watch other "musers" videos. : )

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old June 15, 2017

almost the best!!!!!!

As a child I say musical.ly can help discover new people in the world, discover new music, and make friends.... there are cons... some musers tend to show a little more of "adult stuff" which would be better to see when older.... some musers also give personal info.... I say there are a lot of positive messages and not that much of cursing..... musers also may show drinking/smoking/drugs which could influence people....
Staying safe for younger children:
Make your account price ate in setting (only friends can see em)
Not tend to show your face too much
Monitor your child's account
Make sure what your kids are appropriate
Written by,
UnicornsOf_Starbucks

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byOpal F June 15, 2017

Stop being overprotective of your children!

I'm 13 and I use this app, you guys should stop being so overprotective of your teenagers, They know what sex is, they know it's natural, I wouldn't recommend it to any age under 13, because, well, children's faces shouldn't be plastered all over the Internet. You, as the parents, need to monitor what your kids say on apps like this, it's a social media app, what do you expect?

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old June 8, 2017

Very dangerous

My mum allowed me to have musical.ly and I have had it for ages. Then a kid from my school had friended pedos and they tried the rob the person and sent them death threats. A big NO. I have now deleted the app.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byperson1111 May 31, 2017

Fun app not that innaporite

This is a fun basic social media app. Kids should download this app before they download other social media apps. Occanaly swearing in sogs, but that basicly it.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byiiWatermelonz May 20, 2017

Some adult content, and everything else, but amusing.

Adult content is frequent, but not all that rated M stuff.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old May 17, 2017

I think as long as you know what you are doing it is fine.

As long as you choose appropriate videos it is OK for kids.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnna Moore May 4, 2017
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2017

Bad Parenting

Every single parent posting about Musical.ly talking about pornographers posting videos in their kid's feed is SERIOUSLY THE WORST PARENT EVER! THE KIDS are the ones letting porn go on their account. YOU AS A PARENT need to lecture your children about the dangers of the internet and make sure they don't follow the accounts that constantly show inappropriate content. Musical.ly is perfectly appropriate as long as you follow the right people. I have never experienced anything that the parents on this website are talking about.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2017

Love this app but parents...

Just want to tell the parents about this one. Ok the app does have songs that have curse words but they also have the clean version. and well yea... other people can view your musicals but thats only if you have a public account, i have a private account so only MY friends can view it. If you are thinking about letting your kid get this app check it out and put the private account on so it can be fun!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old April 17, 2017

Not the best app.

Most of the audios cuss. And there is always the risk of violence with all social media. In my perspective I think you should be like 10+ but if you aren't used to cursing or are not allowed to curse than I recommend not downloading this app.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old April 13, 2017

I love this app but.............

a bunch of 6 year olds are taking over! Musical.ly is supposed to be for most pre teens and teens but there are a bunch of 6 7 and 8 year olds on this app! And you have to be 13 years old so obivously these kids are lying about their age! and there is real music content on here so kids can get exposed to words and lyrics they shouldn't be exposed too until they are about 13 yrs old.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byChavama2786 April 12, 2017

It esay

You can see what you need to know

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byTarlia.jou April 11, 2017
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2017

Don't Waste Your Time On This App

This app was fun to use when I first got it, but it got really boring after a while, and I realized it is very inapropriate for kids. I was into it and I got it because my friends said it was GREAT and all of that stuff, but it is really not. I am very surprised that any parents let their kids download apps like this because people do pretty much anything they can do in their musical.lys, including really bad movements.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages