Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 144 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 225 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe vamps September 15, 2016
This is a very good site.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bySaydeh September 5, 2016
I'm a teenager and I've posted on musically and I regret it I think I looked stupid doing them and I at least wasn't one of the kids showing too much or doing inappropriate things just my plain videos disgust me I don't think any child should be using this app with out adult supervision because you don't know what kids are capable of doing now in days.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkyisepic July 27, 2016

Creative,Fun,Interactive App

The app Musical.ly is a fun app that 'musers' can create short music videos on their favorite songs! You can choose the songs from their online music library or choose your own music! But I do recommend this for 12 year olds, because some songs do have swears in them. But there is no drug,alcohol,sex,violence on Musical.ly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byQueeniya_123 July 23, 2016

Turn up

Love each other

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byTimeLady03 July 19, 2016

Musical.ly

I'm a 13 year old and I have no problem with Musical.ly. That being said, I have no problem with any other app. If you let your kid use the Internet at all, they have probably already seen some things they "shouldn't see". If you let your kid go on the Internet for 10 minutes alone, they could have seen porn, swearing, etc. Chances are, unless you monitor you kid's Internet use very, VERY, closely, they've seen some things you don't know about. *The average kid has seen porn by the age ELEVEN!* My point is that if you let our kid use the Internet freely then they should be able to use musical.ly, and if you trust that your child is responsible, then they can use this at any age because remember; if they're 11 or over, chances are that they've seen porn already! I know I have! ;) P.s. This app lets you be creative but if you don't want kids to be able to have as much freedom, get them using iMovie! It's great!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old July 9, 2016

Musically

Well, musically is great application and though it includes language, you can make sure your child agrees to not doing musicals with that in it. Accounts can also be made private.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 10 years old May 23, 2016

A really fun app with some faults

Kid, 12 years old April 14, 2016

its really fun, but can be addicting

I LOVE this app, i'm constantly on it, their is some songs that have bad language and inappropriate meanings, but in all its about what your kids listen to, they are only going to do songs that the know. My mom saw the app on my i-pad and asked what it was, I told her that is was an app for lip-syncing. She right away downloaded the app and checked it out, she agreed that it was ok for me to have. I think parents should also have the app to see what their kids are doing, I wasn't expecting my mom to let me continue using the app, but she did, and my parents can be really over protective!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byLexi Reed April 10, 2016

BRINGS JOY TO YOUR LIFE

It has content that is not good for young viewers but parents can choose what songs to allow their to lip sing at. My parents only allowed me to do Kidz Bop songs. When I got musically I even found some of my old BFFs on there. Also lip singing or singing for real makes me feel good about myself and also it helps me not being bored at all. Overall Musical.ly brings a lot of happiness in our life.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byLOL.itsliv April 10, 2016

Musical.ly

Personally myself I have loads of fun on musical.ly. Lip syncing, dancing, and all that. But it really depends on the kid and parents to decide if they are ready for musical.ly. First off, there is some foul language and innaproppiate songs on musical.ly. Some songs talk about sex, drugs, and alcohol. But it is a option if you want to use these songs or hear them so if you trust your child to know what's right and wrong, that's fine. Second, it is social. You can view other videos and create your own. Sometimes I see sexual images but not much. Again, it depends on how well your child knows wrong from right. If you are worried about strangers seeing your child's account, you can always make it a private account. I think personally this app is for 12+.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old March 25, 2016

Musical.ly is fun

You can do musicals which is so fun.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2016

Awesome app just be careful

So I have a musical.ly and I LOVE it but you need to be careful because some of the songs on there is not for kids. You can follow me but the only way you can talk to them is if they talk on the comment box. So thats pretty much it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byiamhere May 13, 2019

MUST READ FOR ALL PARENTS

Any Age Ok, so tiktok isn't really that bad. Many younger kids use it fine. If you are under 13, you aren't even able to share your videos, so nothing is posted. It is basically another camera app. This is why it's appropriate for any age. However, if your kid does what most kids under 13 do and lie about their age they will be able to post their video. With this they have the abilty to make their account private so only approved followers can see their videos. Note that ALL ACCOUNTS ARE PUBLIC BY DEFAULT, so your kid will need to switch their account to private if you want them to. If they have a public account, anyone can see their videos, but they can still block people who are hating. Safety isn't really a major issue, just make sure your kids know not to give out any private information (where they live, how old they are, their full names, etc) to strangers. I think it is fine for kids to put their first names in their bio, but putting their last could be risky. There is some swearing, but if your kids know not make videos using songs that swear that should fine (or if you don't mind them swearing). There is absolutly NO nudity or anything and if someone tries to post a video revealing innappropriate parts tiktok will delete. There is not really anything about sex and if your kid is young it will probably go over their head, but if they are older, I would give the "The Talk" if you haven't already.I would personally let my kid get this app, because a lot of kids use and you don't want them to be the social misfit but that's just my opinion. I reccomend you said rules with your child such as if they can get it or not, if they can lie about their age, if their account needs to be private, who they should block, if they can or can't swear, and stuff like that. I think tiktok is often misunderstood for a bad app when it's really not. I think this app is appropriate for kids of any age who know how to follow their parents rules.Its a really fun app.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written bySkrrtGod May 6, 2019

Dope AF

Just so dope.
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Incarnation... April 15, 2019

no

oh god please no I am the Incarnation of Suffering and even I think TikTok is cancerous.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bysadpibull April 13, 2019

horses in the back

i think its pretty fun myself. but if you get offended easily. you will be offended

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old April 12, 2019

Stupid app

Seriously common sense? 16+? I think I once saw a 4 year old on the app, getting famous. The app is stupid, cringey kids doing things they think are "cool" and then getting money. If your kid wants to become famous off of tik tok, tell them it ain't happening cause most famous tik tok users are very harshly critisized and disliked. There are a bunch of ways to make your child's account managed so it could be fine for private things like watching friend's tik toks and stuff
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2019

TikTok

TikTok is appropriate if you get a private account. There is an optional private account, which I personally have. You can communicate with friends in a fun way and it’s fun to see your friends videos, you can also decide if you want your profile available to find, you can choose if your video is published and shown to everyone or you can keep it private. TikTok’s fun and I hope you get the app!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old March 21, 2019

Never downloaded it, but this is worth you time!!!!Plez

My friends downloaded it, first of all, you'd have to fake your age to get onto Tik tok, isn't that already bad enough?! Secondly, apparently Tik tok has started doing monthly sweeps " Under thirteen purges" my friends like to call it. My friends showed me a video and it was a parody of Taylor Swift's "Blank space". It went like, " Oh my God, look at that face...if you're feeling suicidal then you've come to the right place" It was a six year old! A nine year old who probably thought it was a cool beat and used it.My conclusion is that if you have a mature and trustworthy 12 or 11 yr/old and they ask to download this app, ask them why. If they say something like, "Everyone's using this" don't let them.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 10 years old March 4, 2019

REEEEEEEEEE

All this raging moms and dads are just mad lul

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages