Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 132 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 218 reviews
Kid, 12 years old April 17, 2017

Not the best app.

Most of the audios cuss. And there is always the risk of violence with all social media. In my perspective I think you should be like 10+ but if you aren't used to cursing or are not allowed to curse than I recommend not downloading this app.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old April 13, 2017

I love this app but.............

a bunch of 6 year olds are taking over! Musical.ly is supposed to be for most pre teens and teens but there are a bunch of 6 7 and 8 year olds on this app! And you have to be 13 years old so obivously these kids are lying about their age! and there is real music content on here so kids can get exposed to words and lyrics they shouldn't be exposed too until they are about 13 yrs old.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoco.06 April 8, 2017

musical.ly it is the best

I think that musical.ly is a great site to use if you are 10 and up because some of the music is inapproppriate but it is an awesome site.so it is a great site.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMariamaymanMohumed23 April 6, 2017

Try EveryThing

Daydeamer !!Belieber!!Shakira fan!! I live in Egypt !! Kidrauhl23!!
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2017

Dont download it

Don't download it because it scams you there are people waiting for children like you and me to download it and put pictures and videos of us on there and even if we turn our phone off they can activate your mic and then they can listen-into your conversation . Also parents if your child is young he could be looking at boys and women naked and it is mostly teens doing it but there are child groomers on there. The police are trying to shut the App down but they can only do it if we help them by deleting the App.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2017

Depends....

It depends on the kid of what he or she does. It has some bad stuff in it but you can moniter and make the account private. Its a fun app but can get adictive. Be sure of what the kid is doing because he or she can do some bad stuff pretty quickly!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written bytt16632 January 18, 2017

treniece

i think we should do a good commitey and i live in mexcio and w elom
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2017

Musical.ly

I have musical.ly and it is not that bad. You should make it a private account otherwise, yes it is bad. If you pick song with cuss words I think it is bad. Also you can watch other people do inappropriate stuff (Drinking and Kissing). If you let your kids have this you should tell them to be careful and only do songs with no swearing.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byscreamteamlotta December 29, 2016

For teens

Okay it says in the rules of musical.ly you have to be 13 or older. Yes there is a lot of swearing, but it is pretty fun. Kids, don't use it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bystealthgamer December 18, 2016

Good App For A Mature Child

The sexual content and language depends on how much/where your child browses. If your kid is going to be on Music.ly, I would recommend them to only browse through crowned musers (Jacob Sartorius, Jojo Siwa, etc.) and their friends. As far as the quality goes, Music.ly is fun and has many creative ways to make and edit your own videos.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Written byAnonymous December 9, 2016

Boring and Shallow Excuse for Social Media

musical.ly is one of the most boring apps I have ever been on. Sure, it's a way to interact with friends, bur who wants to see a bunch of tweens bobbing their heads and lip syncing to sped up songs? Not to mention the interface is really glitchy. musical.ly is a total waste of time. Get something fun like snapchat or Instagram instead.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byDeepInhale November 28, 2016

Please don't let your child get this

ALL FAMILIES. Please, don't let your kid get this. It's terrible. There are literal 7 year olds twerking on this app, kids are dancing in skimpy outfits and f---ing NAKED on this app. Teenage girls are pulling up their shirts and showing their breasts on this app, showing their naked ends. This made many kid stars such as THAT TERRIBLE DAMN JACOB SARTORIUS. People are showing their genitalia on this. Musical.ly makes me want to shoot myself in the head. This is literally a child porn site.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byDavis21savage2016 November 11, 2016

Advisory board meeting

The best thing about musically is you can make your own videos.
Teen, 14 years old Written byteen.14 years old. October 22, 2016

Good for mature tweens and older

This is a wonderful app! I love being able to lipsinc to music. You can direct message people, but there is a setting that only allows people you follow to dm you. I have had a private account since i was 11 and think that this is the way to go. With a private account, you get to choose who can follow you and view your videos. Although there is some mild swearing and suggestive dancing, it isn't enough to make me leave the app. It is difficult to find the VERY inappropriate things, unless you actually look. I personally have not looked and have not seen anything to suggestive.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old October 16, 2016

Awesome app!

I think young kids should be allowed to use this app. Kids that are really young should have their parents monitor their accounts. Their are swear words, but kids have the choice not to sing them or not lip sync them. Overall, this app is awesome, but if you are worried about your child's safety, just run their for them.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLive_lala September 14, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bytswiftmusic08 September 7, 2016

love it!!

musical.ly is the only "social media" I'm allowed to have! There are some sounds that include swear words and inappropriate "hand motions" (people use hand motions for the songs they do on musical.ly) so there for I would say this app is best for ages 13 and up! It's required for you to be 13 and up to use musical.ly by the way. It is a little confusing at first to use, but if you spend a little more time with it....it gets easier! (I'm not encouraging kids to spend ALL your time on social media!!) Some hand motions and songs in these videos can send the wrong message to people and I encourage kids NOT to use inappropriate songs/hand motions! I also encourage parents to have your child show you the videos they made...or make an account so you can see them! I hope this review helped you make your decision! :)

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2016

awesome

It glitches a lot but other then that it is the best everyone should download it as soon as possible.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 16 years old Written byizz55 August 31, 2016

Music.ly Problems

Why don't we start with the fact that you have to wait 30 days to change your username! That's just pathetic, will someone please tell me why that rule was established? Also I was joking around with my friend and changed my name but right when I went to change it back, it wouldn't let me! I had to wait 30 days because my name was very embarrassing and I didn't want people finding out. I post music.lys a lot and I had to wait all that time! Another thing is that now, why should all your privates be deleted when you delete the app and get it again because music.ly is being glitchy and refreshing the app ain't working? I had so many privates with so many good music.lys on them and now they are all gone because my app was being glitchy. And to top this all off I'm trying to post something that took a little while to do and now I can't because all it says is failed to save. I can't even save it private! They don't give you an explanation why it is saying that or give you a way to fix it. They just say failed to save. I'm very furious with music.ly. I have had so many problems with and I have only had it for about only 6 months. Here are a few more problems with it. Doesn't let you see who liked your video or someone else's. Could have more songs on the music library Doesn't let you edit a video you posted Could have more songs in the music library You should be able to pick any part of a song you want do to a music.ly to and now just one part that is available on the app Music.ly is a fun app to use but has a lot of things to fix and I have had it with them I personally thin it should be for kids over 12 because at least at that age they will have to patience do deal with the bugs.
Teen, 13 years old Written byHerefortoday August 13, 2016

New

I love musical.ly but ever since their update today I can't use it anymore. Something happend to my phone I can't get it back and I don't want to do The other thing so I can't use musical.ly any more it sucks

Pages