Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 132 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 218 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byCocopufflover10 April 8, 2018

Not for kids

This app may be fun and all but shouldn’t be for kids. This teaches kids bad manners. This app will lead to how the kids they will behave in the future and won’t end up good. It is a bad influence on kids. It leads to bullying and can get the kids very sad. Kids won’t act or look like kids anymore when they use this app. It is addictive and makes kids not act like kids, behave like kids and possibly look like kids. This app is bad and should be for teens because by then they will start to develop and won’t be pretending to look like adults. I did not enjoy the app.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written byP3ach3s1109 March 11, 2018

Good.

I think that parents are being over dramatic. This social app is actually one of the more appropriate ones. Parents keep saying it has pornagraphic material and from what I’ve seen/been on the app, there has been none whatsoever. It is just an app for kids to lipsinc. Leave them be. There is some use of swearing but it’s not absolutely terrible. And if your worried about your child being exposed to the world there is something called a private account.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old February 12, 2018

Great in moderation

It's okay for kids to use this app in moderation. Some songs are sexual, but parents can make sure that children don't use it. You need to fake your age, and that may lead to bad habits, but otherwise, I encourage you to purchase this app!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byAliiix.xox January 18, 2018

Parents stop worring

Musical.ly has a privacy option. Kids 9+ should know better than to be swearing, and my little sister uses it and she’s 9. They can choose there own songs and I’m not worried to show my mum mine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bymewarden_14 January 17, 2018
musically is a really fun app for kids. you can make music videos to different songs that you like. there have been many comments about this app being too inaproprate for kids and other things. the app is only inapropriate if you make it inapropriate. if there is a song on there that has cussing all you have to do is pick a different song choice.i think that it depends on your child and if you trust them or not.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old December 16, 2017

Absolutely Fine :)

Musical.ly is absolutely fine! I got it in June and I was obsessed with it for a month or so and now I generally go on it now and again. Some parents say it's the most inappropriate thing ever - it's not. I have not once seen any the proactive or stuff like that at all! If you're worried about that don't be. And the closet thing to 'badness' is in some songs - rarely there is swearing. if you're concerned about privacy, my parents were as well. They let me get in under the circumstances: My account was private (So only people I accepted could look at my musical.lys), I showed them my musical.lys before I posted them, and I would only accept people I knew in real life.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 10 years old December 16, 2017

Most of the reviews here are outdated

I have been begging my parents for a musical.y account since last year and they said yes! THey said there doing a research to see how the app works they told me some songs had swear words in them and they said they had to check my account to see what i was doing and had to make the account private.well i had it for a year and its amazing. If you think its a stupid app well try it! Trust me this app has no porn and inappropriate things.it has some cuss words in the songs but very light! If u have a responsible kid thats means let them have it! Trust me it will be okay if u have a responsible kid !

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byyungjae December 2, 2017

jae

its great not bad at all for any age its hard to find bad things in this app not that theres anything bad

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunter44 November 27, 2017
Kid, 11 years old November 19, 2017

Eh. Boring and super cringe sometimes.

I used to make Musical.lys, that is, until I smacked some sense into myself. It’s so stupid, and the only reason that I still have the app is to like my friends Musical.lys. Skip this one.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old September 27, 2017

Use caution

so basically its a fine app, but you have to make sure that as a kid that you are only making lip syncs to lyrics you understand, are not inappropriate, and that your parent(s) would approve of. have fun!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byToaster45 August 22, 2017

Skip this app

This app is a disgrace to humanity. Musical.ly should not be used by anyone. Aside from the fact that this app is completely pointless and will make you cringe very hard, I actually found 8-10 year olds doing Musical.lys on things they really shouldn't know about like Brandon Rogers (look him up at your own risk if you're under 13). Overall, stay away from Musical.ly at all costs. Also, you can't delete your account unless you ask musical.ly itself.
Teen, 13 years old Written byacupoftea July 21, 2017

There are better, safer, more enjoyable apps.

I'm going to be completely honest here, so bear with me... Musical.ly encourages kids to seek attention and promotes popularity desire. Uses of words like "S***, hell, f***, "netflix and chill," and other inappropriate references. Personally I think the app is a waste of time and--if you're a parent--let your kid stick to something safer and actually enjoyable. If you're a kid/teen-- this app will probably hit the list of regrets for you. Personally it's none of my business what apps you/your kids decide to download but I'd cross this one out as a no-no. Thanks for reading and enjoy the rest of your day :)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old July 12, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byOpal F June 15, 2017

Stop being overprotective of your children!

I'm 13 and I use this app, you guys should stop being so overprotective of your teenagers, They know what sex is, they know it's natural, I wouldn't recommend it to any age under 13, because, well, children's faces shouldn't be plastered all over the Internet. You, as the parents, need to monitor what your kids say on apps like this, it's a social media app, what do you expect?

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byperson1111 May 31, 2017

Fun app not that innaporite

This is a fun basic social media app. Kids should download this app before they download other social media apps. Occanaly swearing in sogs, but that basicly it.

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byiiWatermelonz May 20, 2017

Some adult content, and everything else, but amusing.

Adult content is frequent, but not all that rated M stuff.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnna Moore May 4, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written byTarlia.jou April 11, 2017
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2017

Don't Waste Your Time On This App

This app was fun to use when I first got it, but it got really boring after a while, and I realized it is very inapropriate for kids. I was into it and I got it because my friends said it was GREAT and all of that stuff, but it is really not. I am very surprised that any parents let their kids download apps like this because people do pretty much anything they can do in their musical.lys, including really bad movements.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages