Kid reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 129 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 211 reviews
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2016

I love it!

9+ is a good age IF you have a responsible child. You can even make an account private, and only accept people you know. I said earlier if your child is responsible, and basically, if they are responsible, they probably know what is appropriate and what isn't.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byMediaCrack May 15, 2016

PARENTS MUST READ THIS

I cant explain how angry I am with this generation of parents. Musical.ly was intended to be a site where teens can make fun videos with their favorite songs, but now it is literally a child pornography site. I cant believe parents are allowing their kids to lip sync sexual and inappropriate songs and dance like fetus prostitudes. I saw one video where a 8 year old kid was twerking and making sexual poses. 8 years old. These parents should be disgraced for what they are allowing their kids into. I wont even forget the scumbag "famous" Jacob Sartorius. This kid is famous for what Kim Kardashian is famous for. Nothing. All he ever does is act like he is the sexiest thing alive and force people into complimenting him in order to please himself. Jacob is 13, and he is already the owner of a VEVO, and gets money by being a sexy little kid Not only is it encouraging sex to young children, but it destroys their talents. When you are young, you are supposed to discover and develop skills amd talents. In Musical.ly, kids are pretending to be sex models and singers, instead of something useful, like drawing, or writing, or singing (ACTUAL singing). All they are doing in this app is lip syncing and trying to act cool. You cannot get a career path by pretending to have talent. These kids should be encouraged to help their future, not be given phones and allowed corrupted activities like this. Never get this app. Period.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byKingriku January 29, 2016

Read It you Wont regret it

So lets start off with this Musicaly IS a app where you pick your music or comedy or any like that And you dance around or do what ever you want why you Make a video and lip syncing Theres swearing but just make sure your kids Know to do the right thing on musicaly if you Dont want your kids face shown on the internet then you shouldnt let them get it but In my opinion Musicaly is a safe appAnd the worse thing on there is swearing (SWEARING 4 Out of 5) (VIOLENCE 1 Out of 5) (SEX 1 And a hafe Out of 5) (DRINKING/DRUGS/SMOKEING 3 out of 5) (Consumerish 3 and a half Out of 5)
Teen, 17 years old Written byLove0630 February 8, 2016

MY LIFE!

Making music.lys makes me feel good about myself! All these people that are like, there is so much adult content, are CRAZY! Musically is awesome! You make videos of your self and put them on the app. If you have an easily offended child, maybe not for them since some people do get hate on there videos.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2016

Awesome and totally safe

Nice to edit cool videos and safe way to share with friends but use a fake name.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2016

Pretty much useless..

This is pretty much the same as Dubsmash, in my opinion. In fact, I don't think people remember what Dubsmash is anymore. It's replaced by musical.ly, but I don't see the point of it. First of all, society has been 'different' or changed-up. Because of that, there are many themes that are suggestive or influence users to say or do things that are inappropriate or dangerous. They might get addicted to this. Back in the day (although I've never time-travelled back in the day), things might have not been as worse or as perverse as today. Because of apps like these, 9-year olds already know what p**** means! That's bad! Secondly, there's no point at staring at a screen and mouthing along to the sample that you are trying to dub. Pretty sure people will perceive you as a time-waster. Although, there are many other time wasters, like YouTube... Hehehehe XD I'm afraid that if tweets start to use this, they'll get addicted. So, tweens, don't use this. Don't say I didn't warn you.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBuffy Rules April 6, 2016

Review #23 - What? Your 16+ rating has gotta be a joke. My 12 yo sister uses it fine.

Really, no offense to Common Sense Media, but it's like Facebook, just be careful. These guys overrate some games and music on the age. Like Halo: The Master Chief Collection is apparently 18+... WHAT? I play it and my parents think it's totally appropriate. Anyway, back to Musical.ly. This is a social networking thing, yes, but nonetheless, it's used by tween girls as well, sharing short music videos or clips where you mime to the audio. Simple. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------PARENTAL GUIDANCE SECTION: Well, for younger kids, tell them that it depends on the song. Some have strong language, yes, but they hear worse (and hear these songs) in high school (age bracket 13-18). Some have sexual references, your kids have likely heard worse. I'm just saying, if you're that worried, give them a few guidelines. Such as don't share private information, that's an important one. Other than that, it's fine. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------In short, this app keeps friendships good, people happy at school and may even be suitable for older elementary school given parental guidance. Just don't let things get too out of control. Play, love and thankyou for reading.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 12 years old February 29, 2016

You Have To Be 13+

On Musical.ly, the whole idea is to lip-sync but it's about being careful what you are lip-syncing to. Some of the reviews mentioned that all the songs on musical.ly are sexually oriented but, it's not. They give you a choice of which song to sing. So that's why I say 13 because your child should and will know what songs to lip-sync to and what not to lip sync to.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2016

Awesome app just be careful

So I have a musical.ly and I LOVE it but you need to be careful because some of the songs on there is not for kids. You can follow me but the only way you can talk to them is if they talk on the comment box. So thats pretty much it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old March 23, 2016

Very Safe and Fun App!

Musical.ly is a fun and ( In my eyes ) a very safe app! Basically you just lip sync to songs and you can add really cool effects and stuff. There are some songs with bad language in them, but if you let your child get this app you can make sure that they avoid that! Musical.ly is probably not the best app for younger children but children at least 9 could use this app with no problems!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old May 16, 2016

Kid, disappointed, scared, annoyed.

This app is just disappointing, scary, and makes you feel weird. I may be against other kids but I think that you should STAY AWAY. It won't make you feel better and it makes you scared that ANYONE CAN SEE PUBLIC ACONTS. Pravate account don't make it any better. It has INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT. Everything is bad and scary now on social media. STAY AWAY.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old March 25, 2016

Musical.ly is fun

You can do musicals which is so fun.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byilovemoviesandtv March 17, 2016

Fun, entertaining, but watch out for sexual content!

The app musical.ly is really fun for teens, but the "musers" lip-synch to some pretty risqué songs. Be careful if your kid wants to be a muser, because they might not know what they are saying!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLexi Reed April 10, 2016

BRINGS JOY TO YOUR LIFE

It has content that is not good for young viewers but parents can choose what songs to allow their to lip sing at. My parents only allowed me to do Kidz Bop songs. When I got musically I even found some of my old BFFs on there. Also lip singing or singing for real makes me feel good about myself and also it helps me not being bored at all. Overall Musical.ly brings a lot of happiness in our life.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bycrazycurlykayla September 1, 2016

Sad, disgusting, and horrifying.

Once, while scrolling through popular apps on the App Store, I stumbled upon musical.ly. At first, I thought, "Hey, pretty cool." Guessing from the title, I automatically assumed it would be something about music, whether it's downloading, listening to, or dancing to. Well, I downloaded it. And I had nightmares. For. MONTHS. Everything I saw made me want to cry. 6-year-olds twerking. 10 year old saying p----, f---, and n----. And much, much worse. I LITERALLY saw with MY OWN EYES and 12 year old boy hump a chair talking about DIRTY DANCING! 12! DIRTY DANCING! (cries) If you're thinking about letting your child download this app, think again. There are much, much, MUCH more appropriate songs to be singing than "I don't give a f---, I don't give a f---...". Do you really want your child to be exposed to this kind of explicit content? Please, join the campaign, "#THESEKIDSMUSTBESTOPPED"

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old April 14, 2016

its really fun, but can be addicting

I LOVE this app, i'm constantly on it, their is some songs that have bad language and inappropriate meanings, but in all its about what your kids listen to, they are only going to do songs that the know. My mom saw the app on my i-pad and asked what it was, I told her that is was an app for lip-syncing. She right away downloaded the app and checked it out, she agreed that it was ok for me to have. I think parents should also have the app to see what their kids are doing, I wasn't expecting my mom to let me continue using the app, but she did, and my parents can be really over protective!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 12 years old June 5, 2016

Great app...but innapropriate

First this app is very fun to use and it makes people very happy. But most of the songs on the app have bad language in them. Even thought musical.ly says no bad language you can search a hashtag post and type the first two or three letters of the word and it will come up. Also I have heard that older people are trying to track down kids on this app. I would recommend a private account. But you would have to still be very safe. There is a hashtag called #adult which means innapropriate thing and some people are naked. I have heard this from other moms that have explored the app. So overall this app is great, but be very careful.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written bySimK July 4, 2016

Musical.ly---OK for 12+

From experience with Musical.ly, I know that it is ok for teens to have. It is fun to learn how to make cool videos, that your favorite musers can make. I also know that many little kids have it and they are just fine of Musical.ly. It is a great choice to make, and there is a privacy option for you to use on it. It is also a friendly choice, based of experience with this. You can also be featured with this, which means the whole world will see you, in your video, but you need to get a lot of likes, or hearts on your video, to be featured. This is a great choice for teens, kids, and even families.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old April 30, 2016

Use Responsibly

At the age 11 I got this app. I have used it responsibly and just used nice or funny music.lys, Tips to keep safe and be responsible; Account on private (only friends can see videos) Only accept follow requests from people you have met Don't do music.lys with swear words in until you're old enough to say them aloud. Don't post a video you would be embarrassed to show your mum/nan/auntie.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byLOL.itsliv April 10, 2016

Musical.ly

Personally myself I have loads of fun on musical.ly. Lip syncing, dancing, and all that. But it really depends on the kid and parents to decide if they are ready for musical.ly. First off, there is some foul language and innaproppiate songs on musical.ly. Some songs talk about sex, drugs, and alcohol. But it is a option if you want to use these songs or hear them so if you trust your child to know what's right and wrong, that's fine. Second, it is social. You can view other videos and create your own. Sometimes I see sexual images but not much. Again, it depends on how well your child knows wrong from right. If you are worried about strangers seeing your child's account, you can always make it a private account. I think personally this app is for 12+.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety

Pages