Parent reviews for Netflix

Common Sense says

Lots of great kids' media with layered parent controls.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 21 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 53 reviews
Adult Written bysophiaguitteago99 August 17, 2019

Netflix - Mixed Opinions...

I think that really, this is a family friendly app. I chose 5+ because the lowest rating is "G" and I think that 5 is the youngest a child should be watching any "G" movie. But, I think that parents should monitor their child's activity and make sure that a child under 12 only has access to 12 and below. I love this app, I watch it as my main source of entertainment. Even if your child is over 12, though, I would still monitor their activity.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byTV-007 May 24, 2019
Adult Written byMovie TV April 23, 2019

You Can Set Parental Controls

Netflix has lots of kids shows but it also has adult shows too. If you are nervous to have your kids watch Netflix then just turn on parental controls so they can't click on any shows that aren't kid-friendly.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Written byAnonymous November 24, 2018

The butt review

Netflix is really good. There are a lot of shows and documentaries and movies on Netflix. On Netflix up to 5 people can have an account on one big account. Kids can have an account and you can choose it to be safe because there is a button that says for kids and if you click it, there account only shows things appropriate for kids 12 and under. You can also see what your kids watching on Netflix because there are a lot of bad things on Netflix that are for much older audiences. Netflix is very good but you can find some movies with sex and drinking and gore and a lot of cussing but at least you can stop your kids from viewing it. There is no safety or privacy concerns and it is very easy to use.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byOscar M. January 31, 2017

17 and up!?

If you're really that worried about inappropriate content, then just look at the age rating. There are so many ways to avoid it instead of just not using this great application.
Adult Written byacodg December 8, 2015
Are u kidding me with the other reviews. I know people who are 3 who watch it
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 March 17, 2013

good!

nothing to worry about
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 24, 2012

Movies,shows,and episodes all the time.

I use Netflix A LOT.My parents and I have rented plently of movies over Netflix.On top of that,the price is really good.I swear,you'll get addicted by using Netflix one time.
Parent of a 3 and 4-year-old Written bylaribrook February 9, 2011

No child safety features. Use Caution.

The Netflix app is really only good for one thing - convenience... if you're sitting in the dr.s office you can let your child watch a bit of a show or something. But the part that makes this app just about unusable is the lack of safety features and parental control. This app absolutely must be used w/ close parental supervision. It gives access to the entire netflix streaming which includes just about anything that you would never, never want your kids to see. Of course it's mixed in with Thomas, Dora, Backyardigans, tween Disney shows, great kids movies, etc. But since you can't restrict their usage it's just about useless. USE WITH CAUTION.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLikee June 25, 2020

Good But ?

This is a very great but if you don't have controls of TV-MA or TV-14
kids can Look At anything Like bojack horeman TV-MA tuca & birte TV-MA

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMarie_404 May 1, 2020

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byStayhomeMom1 April 29, 2020

This website is so inappropriate

There are so many inappropriate shows and movies. I walked into my kid's room and he was watching porn. Netflix is so inappropriate to watch out parents.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 5 and 10-year-old Written byLordofDragonstone March 22, 2020

Be careful with younger kids

Netflix is fine for all ages if the parent controls what is watched. Many shows are from US and despite being geared towards young children will use words and rudness/bullying that are innapropriate in the UK where we have higher standards. Aged 10 I think children can navigate the children's section by themselves. But personally I've canceled it as I think it's mostly "trash" with no real benefit to kids.
Adult Written byhi1234567 December 24, 2019

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by[email protected] October 23, 2019

parental controls are lazy and limited

Parental controls in Netflx group older children into either
(1) Teens who can view certificate 12 content or
(2) Adults who can view 15 and 18 certificate content.
These make the 15 certificate completely redundant. Netflix market themselves to the whole family across multiple devices, but don't offer useful controls. Really really poor.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bynuenjins July 7, 2019

Alot of hard leftist views and pornography. Unsafe access for kids.

Children should NEVER have unsupervised access to this "service". Almost ALL the comedy on here is leftist, raunchy, "white privelage" woke garbage or a combination of all of the above. Marvel has abandoned their hero shows and Netflix is a mine field of often very pornographic and adult material with scarce Kid friendly parental controls. Netflix is basically a combination of HBO and Cinemax in terms of content. You will get movies on a fairly regular basis but so much of the programming is sub par Netflix funded B movie slog. We are always thinking about cancelling the service, being cheap is the only reason we even kept it going. Most of this is last resort when there's nothing left to watch.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11-year-old Written byBinge W. August 7, 2018

Good, even though there is a Netflix kids, Netflix kids might have an appropriate stuff.

Content may vary on the TV show or movie.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byDead D. May 20, 2018

Subtitle Movies

They must be looking at sales figures because I am one of many people who are more and more dissatisfied with the content NetFlix is acquiring. They seem to be succeeding in acquiring content from all over the world and in diverse languages so that their list of "recently released" has in the last year been dominated by Hindi and Korean language/originating programming.

If everyone judges their success by the number of subscribers to their streaming service, I can see why they are in a boom period. But... I am finding it harder and harder to find anything to watch. I'm sure they can only put on their streaming service what makers offer to sell to them. It's my opinion these are not 2nd tier offerings these days but 3rd and 4th tier -- my definition of poorer and pooer content. You get a lot of choices for very little money per month I realize. NetFlix streaming service is increasingly not worth my time [to watch]. Anyone agree that the quality of their content is going downhill?
Adult Written byMamaDub February 27, 2016

This review is very outdated - You CAN set parental controls now

Since this review was posted, Netflix has added more Parental Controls:

You can create a User Profile for each child and select the rating-level for that child. https://help.netflix.com/en/node/264

You also can set a maturity level PIN passcode, so if any user wants to view a program with a more mature rating-level, they must know the PIN. https://www.netflix.com/pin I've set mine on the lowest rating.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJEDI micah October 4, 2012

Watch any movie or TV show ANYTIME!!!

With Netflix, you are able to watch any movie or TV show whenever you want! Of course, there are R rated and Mature rated movies and shows, so parents, you may want to check Netflix before your kids do! But if you find something that is family-friendly, that would be a great idea for planning to watch it over the weekend with some good popcorn! Another thing that's great about Netflix is that it only costs $8 a month! THAT'S A GREAT DEAL!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages