All parent member reviews for Plants vs. Zombies

Parents say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 6+
Review this title!
Parent Written byallamoo July 30, 2010

Nice, safe zombie play

The beauty of PVZ is that the gore is non-existent and the strategy for winning levels revolves around how well you plant your garden.
Parent of a 5 year old Written byDele October 21, 2011

terrific Plants vs Zombies review! hahahaha.

I say this game is good for 5 year olds, but that is MY 5 year old, as well as our neighbor kids, all of whom picked up on this game around the same time. My boy was raised on Nightmare Before Christmas and the like, so naturally he knew the fun side of scary previous to his exposure to PvZ. My son and I have been playing this game for a few years now and we both still find it to be fun, challenging silliness. Educational component: you earn coins throughout the game and can buy other plants with the money in your bank. This has been an awesome tool to teach my son about money, saving money, and the importance of not buying useless little things if you're trying to save up for something better. Also, it's been fun talking to him about zombies, since he knows they're make-believe, and his "what if a zombie were to..." scenarios are hilarious and imaginitive. It's taught him a surprising amount about plants and we now have a garden (in real life) that he tends to daily. We've taken the things from this video game (and trust me, we aren't video game-types--- this is the only video game I have on my computer) but we've taken this silly sweet game and really taken the ball and run with it. His 6th bday party was a PvZ theme, and onee game we played was a fun obstacle course for the kids that we made up, using concepts from the game. Ride a trike, jump on a pogo stick, throw bean bags at a zombie, collect suns, etc. So yeah, we're fans, and I don't see any end in sight. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written bydarth_bunny May 28, 2015

Great Game...maybe

I think this totally depends on your kid. Example: If your kid is scared of zombies, doesn't know that cat tails are not actually cats, and/or has access to your apple wallet then this is not a good game for them. My only concerns are of it's slightly addictive nature and the money needed to pay for some things. Otherwise, it is great for decision making and money management.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written bySWHighlander March 30, 2015

Best gaming app on the iPhone

I love this as an adult, my 8 year old loves it, and my 4 year old loves it. It's nice that it has a relatively brief pitch to battle that lasts about 5-10 minutes to win. Some games just go on and on, until you die and look at your score. The pace is mostly not frenetic. Not too violent or graphic for my 4 yo. who gets minimal screen time. No ads, and very few attempts to sell you additional options (unlike it's annoying sequel).
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 June 5, 2012

plants vs zombies

whether you beat the zombies or lose your delicious brains.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written bymom2twogirls1boy July 17, 2016

We Succumbed to Peer Pressure

I was hesitant to allow my 6 y/o son to play this game, after reading on Common Sense it was more geared towards older children. My 6 y/o insisted all the boys at school were playing it and so I asked around to some of the other parents. What I learned, was that it was rather benign, and really fun to play. One of the parents had a really great perspective. He said, regardless of age recommendations on games, if any "violence" is cartoonish and nature and not directed at people, he tends to be more laid back about it. Plants vs. Zombies is definitely cartoonish in the way the zombies are destroyed, they actually fall apart in a rather comical way. As the player advances, the game gets progressively more difficult, which may be why Common Sense rated it for older children. My son will get to a level he feel like is too hard, and quits for a while (which is just fine by me, because he's actually organically limiting his screen time, without me having to breath down his neck about it)! I sit with him while he plays, because I don;t want him to "accidentally" make a purchase or click on a "watch this video to get this perk" bonuses.
Adult Written byjohnw5 October 13, 2015

Best of TD games!

I think its one of the best tower defense and zombie games ever! Also like second part of this game, advice to try it https://appfromtop.com/best-apps/games/zombies#Plants_vs_Zombies_2
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Educator Written bythirdgradeteacher May 31, 2013

A Video Game Review on Plants Vs. Zombies

Do you like video games? Well than P.V.Z. [plants vs. zombies] is the Game for you! P.V.Z. is the most action packed game of the year! In this video game you plant plants to stop zombies from entering your house. The reasons this video game is great are P.V.Z. has a lot of action. Second, there is a shop where you could buy things, and third the game Teaches kids strategy. P.V.Z comes on DS, iPad, and iPhone. P.V.Z. has a lot of action. For example there are plants shooting zombies. If the zombies enter your house they will eat your brains! After you beat a Level you get new plants and zombies that are more powerful! There is a shop where you could buy things. You get game money by killing Zombies. Parents don't spend their own money buying things in the game. With game money you buy things like the night garden, the aquarium garden, and extra plants. One time I went into the shop and I bought a bonus plant Called the Gattling Pea. That plant helped me win twenty levels straight! The game teaches kids strategy. Kids can learn strategy by planting plants to stop zombies from entering your house. There is a mini game called izombie. That's where you help zombies go through plants so they eat the brains. There Is another mini game called vasebreaker. That's where you break vases to stop zombies from entering your house. What some people have said about P.V.Z. are "Plants vs. zombies is a great game For kids." Says 3rd grader Gjon. Another quote is "Plants vs. zombies is the Best game ever," says 3rd grader Sebastian. I would rate P.V.Z. 5 out of 5 stars! So that's why kids should play P.V.Z. First because P.V.Z. has a lot of action, Second there is a shop where you could buy things, and third the game helps kids learn strategy. Samir M., Age 9, New York, New York
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byWarri August 8, 2010

Good for all ages

This game is appropriate for everyone