Find the best for your family

See what's streaming, limit strong violence or language, and find picks your kids will love with Common Sense Media Plus.

Join now

Parent reviews for Snapchat

Common Sense says

Send moments in photos, watch curated content; use wisely.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 235 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 232 reviews
Parent of a 8 and 13-year-old Written bymandy j. November 30, 2017

SNAPCHAT IS NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!!!!

i let my daughter download snachat, it was not a good idea. she recived some photos that were not approriate. she was only supposed to use it for her soccer team. im very dissapointed in her but the app is innsporopiate ad wee.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLuke T. March 21, 2017

Risky

There are two issues with this app. One, you can't control what people post or send, though typically that hasn't been a problem for me. The issue for me was that the sponsored stories from cosmopolitan and other places that they display often have very inappropriate images and titles. Lots of things about sex and occasionally they'll post a semi-censored image that a celebrity has posted. They'll cover the "private parts" but it's still pretty revelaing in my opinion.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Parent Written byaedfaedfr January 20, 2015

Good

Its is a great app I do not see why other people are saying that it is 'very inappropriate' when it is not. Your child has to be old enough, and all of my children use it appropriately.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byRickLee January 12, 2019

PLEASE READ! it’s not as bad as it is told to be

Honestly when my son and daughter first started asking for Snapchat I told them absolutely not because of the fact that messages disappear and is the worst app supposedly for cyber bullying. After making my own and playing around with the app for awhile I noticed how very similar it really is to every other social media. My two kids (12 & 14) both have Instagram and started to become interested in this app when many of their peers at school downloaded this “terrible” app. Now, I’m an administrator and I’ve had to deal with a few Snapchat incidents over my past couple years, but after trying it out I found it to be no different than Instagram except that Snapchat pictures and videos disappear. I check my kids phones so when I found out about this my decision was no, but after some thoughtful reconsideration I decided to let my kids have a chance to prove their trust because I’ve never had a problem with either in the past. After they got it I didn’t notice much of a difference with them, they weren’t getting in trouble for using it too much, saying hateful things, and they started to even feel more confident because they could relate more to their friends and had something to talk about if all else failed. In conclusion, I think Snapchat is an app that should be rewarded if your child is responsible and mature because only a small percent of children really make mistakes that can put their future ahead in danger

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byehoytlowrey December 15, 2014

Safety Concern

Please monitor your child's account on SnapChat. Anyone can add them as a friend and send them photos or messages. Some children don't think about deleting or blocking because they don't want to be mean, and in today's age children think it's important to have as many "friends" as possible. Discuss your concerns with your child and let them know that it's more important to be safe than to be nice sometimes.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byVolleyballer . April 1, 2018

Its Really Not That Bad

Dear parents considering Snapchat,
Here are some common myths about Snapchat:
The discover content is dirty:
First of all, I have had snapchat for a while and rarely seen racy images or "stories", most of it is just people sharing their daily lives with the world.
Random strangers can view my childs snaps or stories:
To prevent this, simply turn on privacy settings and dont accept friend requests from people you dont know.
Snapchat is only used for sexting:
This is probably the most misconcieved thing about Snapchat. While some teenagers may use it for that purpose, just think about your child in particular. Are they trustworthy, honest, and respectful of themselves and others? If the answer is yes then you are good to go!
All in all, Snapchat is a great way for kids (and adults) to communicate using fun filters, text, and images, and has minor concerns that should pretty much be overlooked if you have a responisble child.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent Written byjames o. August 29, 2017

App safe for kids

I think 3 year old kids and above should use this app. Its a great way to keep them entertained while you work.
Adult Written byDeekshitha M April 17, 2017
Parent of a 10, 13, and 15-year-old Written byJOEKSU93 September 7, 2016

Bad news articles-needs parental controls

This app has become littered with news articles such as how to have a orgasm to 19 things to know before you lose your virginity. With no parental controls this app will be uninstalled on all devices in our home.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTammy12 December 21, 2015

Not good for any child of any age unless they are responsible

This is just another way of kids to bully others. Kids will push their limits with this and abuse others because they think the pictures and videos will be deleted and never recovered. This is just an irresponsible business not encouraging appropriate behaviour. No wonder our world is such a messed up place and kids are bullied everyday. This is nothing but a tool to encourage bullying.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bythegauntletrunner45 August 26, 2015
Parent of a 11 and 14-year-old Written bycathy59 February 13, 2015

It's good for children you trust.

Fun!
Parent Written bysadfadefa January 20, 2015

It Is Not Inappropriate !!

This App Is Not Inappropriate! This app needs to be used well, but other from that, there is no problem.
Parent of a 12 and 18+-year-old Written bysnapchat14 October 23, 2014

Great App!

As a mother of two children who both have snapchat, I will say that all parents should let their child have one if they want one! As I was very VERY weary of snapchat at first, I learned that it is NOT a bad website!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bydad-against-bullies December 11, 2019

Kids now a days do not know concequences

This app lets the youth tell other people things and then the things are deleted. This makes kids think that the actions do not have concequences. Kids will bully other kids and do other not good things. Do not let your kids have unless you trust them and you also must trust the other kids who are sending the evil mesages.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byURBANBLAYZELL19 December 6, 2019

I HATE SNAPCHAT

AS FAR AS SAFTEY ON SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS GO THIS IS THE WORST MESSAGES FROM PORN COME THROUGH REGULARY AND THE MESSAGES DONT DISSAPEAR LIKE NORMAL MESSAGES DO!!!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMarge Grace December 5, 2019

Let your kid use

It is completely fine and you should set rules like show parents who you freind

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byElijahM December 4, 2019

To all the overprotective parents

All you guys are doing is overthink the entire app. Trust me, no one is using Snapchat to lure your kids away and your kids can make their Snapchat private from all but people they approve to see it. All you are doing is making your kids learn to be sneaky and hate you at the same time.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byChummachum November 9, 2019

Not inappropriate

It just really isn’t my 9 yr old son has it and I have it and I don’t don’t see anything bad about it

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byPattyJoJo November 2, 2019

Great for kids :)

Although this app has disappearing messages which I can see may occasionally be a problem, I believe snapchat is great for kids to learn how to use social media responsibly. You can make your account private so people have to request to follow you and send you messages. This means you won’t get messages from strangers creating a much safer environment for children. Parents can monitor the child’s Snapchat. When my 13 year old daughter wanted to get snapchat I wasn’t too sure as I had heard mixed reviews and stories about it in the past. But I decided we would give it a try.
To begin with I made her and me a linked account so I could check every now and again that I was happy with what she was doing. But when I felt she was responsible I unlinked our accounts but I still follow her so I can still check if I feel concerned. You can also set time limits for apps on settings. This applies for any app including Snapchat. You can set a time limit for how long you wish your child to be on the app for a day. You can change this at anytime. To begin with I set a time limit for an hour a day but if she had a sleepover or she went out with her friends etc. I would simply extend the time limits. Simple!
I believe snapchat is a fun friendly safe environment if used responsibly by the child and monitored sometimes by the parent.

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages