Find the best for your family

See what's streaming, limit strong violence or language, and find picks your kids will love with Common Sense Media Plus.

Join now

Parent reviews for Snapchat

Common Sense says

Send moments in photos, watch curated content; use wisely.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 243 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 246 reviews
Parent of a 14-year-old Written byell123 December 28, 2019

Not for kids

The problem is the Discovery section. Supposedly age gated but its easy to find mature content or just too much content about makeup and appearance for girls who are the main users

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byFreddie- December 24, 2019

This app is horrible

Someone contacted 2 of my child friends and was able to threathen them of killing their family if they did not give him their bank account details and personal details. The Police is investigating.

Please do not let your child go on there.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCSM Mom December 21, 2019

IT HELPS MY TEEN SO MUCH!

My teen was so eager to get Snapchat, so I let him. We follow him on Snapchat, so we can monitor. It has increased his friend group, let him capture moments, and let him hear about the world.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bydad-against-bullies December 11, 2019

Kids now a days do not know concequences

This app lets the youth tell other people things and then the things are deleted. This makes kids think that the actions do not have concequences. Kids will bully other kids and do other not good things. Do not let your kids have unless you trust them and you also must trust the other kids who are sending the evil mesages.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byURBANBLAYZELL19 December 6, 2019

I HATE SNAPCHAT

AS FAR AS SAFTEY ON SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS GO THIS IS THE WORST MESSAGES FROM PORN COME THROUGH REGULARY AND THE MESSAGES DONT DISSAPEAR LIKE NORMAL MESSAGES DO!!!

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMarge Grace December 5, 2019

Let your kid use

It is completely fine and you should set rules like show parents who you freind

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byElijahM December 4, 2019

To all the overprotective parents

All you guys are doing is overthink the entire app. Trust me, no one is using Snapchat to lure your kids away and your kids can make their Snapchat private from all but people they approve to see it. All you are doing is making your kids learn to be sneaky and hate you at the same time.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byChummachum November 9, 2019

Not inappropriate

It just really isn’t my 9 yr old son has it and I have it and I don’t don’t see anything bad about it

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byPattyJoJo November 2, 2019

Great for kids :)

Although this app has disappearing messages which I can see may occasionally be a problem, I believe snapchat is great for kids to learn how to use social media responsibly. You can make your account private so people have to request to follow you and send you messages. This means you won’t get messages from strangers creating a much safer environment for children. Parents can monitor the child’s Snapchat. When my 13 year old daughter wanted to get snapchat I wasn’t too sure as I had heard mixed reviews and stories about it in the past. But I decided we would give it a try.
To begin with I made her and me a linked account so I could check every now and again that I was happy with what she was doing. But when I felt she was responsible I unlinked our accounts but I still follow her so I can still check if I feel concerned. You can also set time limits for apps on settings. This applies for any app including Snapchat. You can set a time limit for how long you wish your child to be on the app for a day. You can change this at anytime. To begin with I set a time limit for an hour a day but if she had a sleepover or she went out with her friends etc. I would simply extend the time limits. Simple!
I believe snapchat is a fun friendly safe environment if used responsibly by the child and monitored sometimes by the parent.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bycalgary-flames November 1, 2019

Fine

My kids love the app and as long as your kids are responsible there’s no problem

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byNatalia Anastasia October 28, 2019

THE MOTHER READY TO SPARTA KICK ALL PREADTORS INTO A BOTTOMLESS PIT!!!!!!

Like my title said I'm a mother with a battle scream to all pedophiles!! Come at me! I will sparta kick you into a bottomless pit if I learn of you for any child!!!!!

The following is a face book post I conducted in my community events and info from my husband's page.

Snap chat!!!!

Because of how dangerous it is I took over her account either indefinitely or until further notice. I.e. the email user is now my email, and I changed the name as well as password.

I dont usually partake in social media but am today for the sake of our know nothing teens that think they know everything and are far far to trusting in the internet world they play in daily. I wanted to get on here and stress to all parents if your child has snap chat make an account and follow as well as truly learn how that app operates. Our teens are being preyed on at an increasingly alarming rate and they are all so clueless because they are having a good time being social. A grown man added our daughter on quick adds and demanded to know her location. So thankful she didnt share but another user added her from quick adds and said right off the bat he, "didn't want to sound like a perv but wanted to know if she sent nudes" she said yes and sent the internet photo of a hairy man chest and reported him. I spent a good chunk of my day monitoring her peers as well as her account and witness so many clueless teens post to their story things like "who ever isn't afraid to post your number to your story repost this pic with your number" you truly don't want to know the number of kids that did verses kids that didn't and then how many of these kids except people from quick adds. Snap chat is dangerous!!! You don't know who you're adding from quick adds and they add these people because it gives them social status points on an app that matters not in the grand scheme of things. Additionally there are alot of teens in ee, sheridan, as well as abroad that arent ghosting their location on this app which gives any predator the general location of their location.

The first three photos in the following images were my warning to pedos, another making all of our teens aware that producing and distributing images of themselves is a federal offense, and lastly letting all my daughters actual friends know that she wasn't actually sending any but she had predators adding her with the immediate response of their nasty ass member on my child's direct messages.

My message to team snap chat about them being a platform for pedophilia.

Derrick 69 is a user that added my child and then proceeded to ask her age and she told him, he proceeded to ask where she's from and ask for a photo she told him no sorry. Upon my reading this message correspondence I was relieved that she didnt tell him where she was and also questioned him as to why he wanted a pic so I decided to engage his sick ass in conversation because i noticed he didnt say a word about his age and after very stupid guessing game he had me play about his age I found out he's 26 and he wanted to continue contact with her to try and get pics. Mind you she's not yet 16 or anywhere even close to 18 so he's 110% a predator.

Alex brown is the user that said he didnt want to sound like a perv but was wondering if she sent nudes she said yes and searched hair man chest on the internet and sent a pic of that and then he popped back demanding she sent him nudes which she just left him on read. Also a grown ass adult man preying on a girl that had said she was a teenager to try and acquire nudes.

I lit both their asses up with a very moma attack and will be reporting them to cyber crimes they were also both informed before they were blocked that I was doing so. Parents they both came back seeming like they weren't doing a damn thing wrong. We have to do more to protect our children from this mess.

In addition to all this after I sent pic 3 to every snap chat user she's ever contact with as a informative platform 2 different users attempted to engage me in conversation. Both were teens, both had their general location available for my viewing because I went to see if they posted an age with the user name and they didn't so I asked one 14 and the other 15 I had to forcefully tell both I was an adult woman the age of 34 and had absolutely no interest in engaging in conversation with minors more than once and to scoot along because I was investigating daughters account for predators. Which brings me to the painful point that alot of teens crave attention, not saying they want to be victims but they crave and seek outside attenion. Scares the ever living day lights out of me but its shockingly true. Neither boy said anything sexual to me but kept trying to engage me in conversation with my repeat put down.

Parents please please look into this app and make sure your child is protected.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byIn95050 October 24, 2019

Snap Releases Kids’ Info

Google “snap amazon partnership” and you’ll see that gets info on users (they aim for 13-18 demographic) and releases it to Amazon to sell them merchandise. Who knows who else they release it to. It should be illegal to peddle info on 13yo kids but Congress focuses on Facebook so nothing is done.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMollypup October 21, 2019

Safe for kids as long as they are mature

It is a safe website as long as your child is mature, because Snapchat can have some inappropriate content depending on what your child is searching or sending. If your child is mature I would recommend Snapchat for ages 12 and up

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byC_Stark October 8, 2019

It’s fine if your kid is responsible

Honestly, I don’t see what is so bad about this app. It’s no different than the texting or WhatsApp. If you monitor your kid, it should be fine. In fact, it’s safer than texting. If you want to send anything to someone, you have to friend them, and they have to friend you back, so you can’t just send anything to anyone. But while texting, anyone can send you anything. If you have a teen, you should monitor them more. Overall, I think it is a fun app for kids if you monitor them. Ages 10+

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byBigbootyluci September 3, 2019

I’m usually pretty lenient but this crosses a line

My 15 year old was sent a picture of a mans genitals on this site. I realize that makes me sound like an old lady but I can’t say d pic on here I don’t think. Don’t get me wrong, kids at that age are sexually curious and some even active but this picture wasn’t expected or requested. I’m not naive about kids and their sexuality but this just grossed me out to hear. Have some respect. I know teens can find sexually explicit just about anywhere but I think this website is a bad idea.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byaoibhekelly August 8, 2019

DISAPPOINTED

hello everyone my name is aoibhe (ava) (a-vah) and quite frankly i am very peed off about this app. All of my pictures have disappeared and i’ve emailed telling them and still nothing is been done about the situation. I have been on the app for 3 years and took ALL of my pictures on it and may have lost some very valuable pictures me myself and my family and friends. I am so so angry about this it would be a different story if i didn’t get in touch with them but the fact i did makes this unexpected

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byHeather M. July 27, 2019

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byEnmcneil July 27, 2019

Snapchat not safe for kids

App is not for kids sexual content is very inappropriate they can click on any of those inappropriate ads that you cannot control
Adult Written byRobbie B July 18, 2019

Awful/Disgusting

Started to review my 13 year old kids Snapchat, so I pressed an unknown name that sent a snap and guess what I got? A picture of a penis, yup. In f___ing believable. This app is ridiculous and definitely should not be downloaded for kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAnneJ1771 June 23, 2019

Worst App for Kids

Do not let your kids get this! Kids don’t truly comprehend the footprint they are leaving about themselves with this.

Pages