What to Read Next: Back-to-School Books for August

Get kids in the mood with these great stories for kids, tweens, and teens, all set in school.
Regan McMahon Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two Categories: Back to School, Reading, We Recommend
Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two
What to Read Next: Back-to-School Books for August

Summer never seems long enough. Before you know it, it's time to head back to the classroom. Help your kids get in the mood with these school-themed books that deal with fun, friendship, and fitting in, as well as some serious problems such as bullies

  • For kids age 3 to 6, check out Monsters Love School by Mike Austin. This exuberant sequel to Monsters Love Colors features the cute, enthusiastic, upbeat, not scary monsters on their first day at Monster School -- which looks a lot like kindergarten. Moving from pre-school jitters -- "What if I get hungry?" "What if no one likes me?" -- through an engaging day of classes and recess, this lively picture book is very reassuring, as nice teachers are friendly and welcoming, and school looks like loads of fun. A great choice for kids starting preschool, kindergarten, or facing the prospect of going to a new school.  
  • For kids age 7 to 10, there's Rachel Vail's Justin Case: Rules, Tools, and Maybe a Bully. This is the third book in the Justin Case series, but you don't have to have read the first two to enjoy this one. Worrywart narrator Justin recaps enough so the reader knows what went on in third grade and the summer after. In the new book, Justin's starting fourth grade, navigating changing friendships, and dealing with quirky family members. His perennially worried narrative voice and his frequent leaps from utter confusion to brilliant insight and back again will keep young readers entertained and reflecting on their own experiences. The book works as either a read-alone or a giggle-producing read-aloud.   ​
  • For teens age 14 to 17, try Homeroom Diaries by James Patterson and Lisa Papademetriou (Middle School: My Brother Is a Big, Fat Liar). There's some serious stuff here, including cyberbullying, depression, and a teen suicide attempt. But the black-and-white comic book-style illustrations throughout lighten things up and give the book the feel of a journal​.​ And it's easy to fall in love with protagonist Maggie -- or Cuckoo, as she calls herself -- and her band of misfit friends as they work on their own happiness and come up with a creative plan to create a healthier, more positive culture in the school around them. 

More Stuff You'll like Powered by PubExchange (i)

 

Related tags

About Regan McMahon

Regan has been reviewing children's books for more than a decade. A journalist and former book editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, she cites as one of her toughest assignments having to read and review the 784-page... Read more

Add comment

Sign in or sign up to share your thoughts

Comments (5)

Parent of a 9 and 11 year old written by pkan

Why aren't there any ideas for kids 11-13? I'd love ideas for this age group!!! Was disappointed scrolling down to see nothing for this age bracket!
Parent written by Regan McMahon

Other recent school-themed stories include "Buzz Kill," a high school mystery for age 12 and up, and "Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus," the final book in the "Origami Yoda" series, which is rated for kids 9 and up, but plenty of 11-year-olds enjoy it.
Parent of a 11 and 17 year old written by Monette

Like another parent already posted, I am looking for recommendations for my tween—a just-turned-11-year-old boy heading into 5th grade. Would love any suggestions for books that he'd enjoy but that aren't too teen-aged for someone still in elementary school. Thanks so much!
Parent written by Regan McMahon

There are lots of great books rated for for 10 and up that 11-years-olds would surely enjoy. Also, check out these Editors' Picks lists: 1) Books About Middle School https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/books-about-middle-school 2) Books for Boys https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/books-for-boys

PubExchange

Common Sense Media is working with PubExchange to share content from a select group of publishers. These are not ads. We receive no payment, and our editors have vetted each partner and hand-select articles we think you'll like. By clicking and leaving this site, you may view additional content that has not been approved by our editors.