What to Read Next: Kids' Book Picks for March

Weasels, superheroes, and aliens make for interesting reading this month.
Regan McMahon Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two Categories: Reading, We Recommend
Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two

Whether your March is still wintry or noticeably spring-y, there are plenty of cool new book releases to keep your kids occupied inside or out. Here are our picks for March:

  • For kids age 5 to 8, there's Weasels by Elys Dolan, a whimsical, diabolical picture book that takes you to mission control for a bunch of weasels in white lab coats who are bent on world domination. The detailed watercolor and ink drawings show the animals plotting and planning, as well as drinking -- and spilling -- gourmet coffee, and mayhem results when one weasel accidentally pulls the power plug. Lots of giggles for both parents and kids.  
  • For middle-grade readers age 9 to 12, check out Marion Jensen's Almost Super, about two rival superhero families -- the Baileys (noble) and the Johnsons (villainous). The kids in both families learn that the powers they have are almost useless (one can light matches on polyester; another can transform his "innie" bellybutton to an "outie"), but they eventually team up to battle a sinister common enemy. The novel is narrated by the older Bailey brother, whose matter-of-fact descriptions of his eccentric family members and their powers are a hoot. And he unravels the mysteries at the core of the story in a funny, lively, and engrossing way. It's a fun twist on the superhero genre and should be an easy read for most kids. ​
  • For teens age 13 to 17, there's Conquest: The Chronicles of the Invaders, Book 1 by John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard. It's a pulse-pounding, complex science-fiction adventure set in Scotland in the aftermath of an alien invasion. Teen brothers work with the Resistance in hopes of overthrowing the attractive race of humanoid aliens who have invaded Earth and subjugated its human inhabitants. But, after they protect two female aliens, loyalties are up for grabs. The setting is fresh and the scientific speculation plausible, and both human and alien characters are presented as fully rounded, with conflicting motives and relatable traits. A winner for teens. 

Related tags

About Regan McMahon

Regan has been reviewing children's books for more than a decade. A journalist and former book editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, she cites as one of her toughest assignments having to read and review the 784-page... Read more

Add comment

Sign in or sign up to share your thoughts