What to Read Next: Kids' Books for May, Full of Adventure

A moose wants to be an astronaut, four Prince Charmings are on the run, and a teen gets in hot water over love letters.
Regan McMahon Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two Categories: We Recommend
Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two

As the school year winds down, there's no shortage of great pleasure reading waiting to take kids into summer. From a wacky picture book to a trilogy-ending fairy-tale fantasy to a teen romance spiced up by sassy sisters, expect laughs, adventure ... and kisses.

Here are our picks for May: 

  • For kids age 4 to 8, check out Richard T. Morris' funny picture book This Is a Moose, illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld (Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site), in which a duck director is trying to shoot a movie about a moose who goes off script to reveal his dream of being an astronaut. The director insists that his star act like a moose is supposed to. But soon other animals get into the act, going against type and talking about their own dreams. Things get crazier and crazier, until the duck gives up and joins the animals in an impossible space adventure. Lots of laughs, loads of fun, and a positive message for kids: You can be anything you want to be. Great for read aloud.
  • For middle-grade readers age 8 to 12, there's Christopher Healy's​ The Hero's Guide to Being an Outlaw, the satisfying conclusion to the rollicking fairy-tale trilogy that began with The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom. The four Princes Charming are on the run after being falsely accused of murder, and they must clear their names and save the 13 kingdoms in many harrowing showdowns. This final installment is an exciting, sweet, and fitting end to the wisecracking, swashbuckling fantasy adventure series.
  • For teens age 13 to 17, try Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, which tells the story of Lara Jean, a half-Korean, half-white teen girl whose love letters -- which she never intended to send -- end up delivered to the five boys she wrote them to. But apart from Lara Jean's romantic adventures, what makes this novel really special is the bond among three sisters (Lara Jean is the middle one) who work to keep their family together after having lost their mom six years earlier. It's a great teen read, especially for readers hungry for novels featuring diverse characters.

About Regan McMahon

Regan has been reviewing children's books for more than a decade. A journalist and former book editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, she cites as one of her toughest assignments having to read and review the 784-page... Read more

Add comment

Sign in or sign up to share your thoughts

Comments (1)

Educator written by gloriarood

I totally agree with you but games are also the part for kids.. they should have some time spend on playing games so i should recommended one latest game named Hair Do Design Kids Game for Girls.... https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gameimax.hairdodesign