What to Read Next: Kids' Books for National Poetry Month

Whimsical collections and a novel in verse make great choices -- even for reluctant readers.
Regan McMahon Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two Categories: Reading, We Recommend
Senior Editor, Books | Mom of two

April is a great time to share poetry with your kids. Since 1996, the Academy of American Poets has chosen this month to celebrate the art form and outstanding American poets and to inspire kids, teens, adults to read and create poetry. You can learn more about it at Poets.org, where you can sign up to receive a poem a day for a whole year -- for free! 

Kids get healthy doses of poetry from the start in toddler fare such as Sandra Boynton's colorful, rhyming picture books and through Dr. Seuss' fanciful wordplay. But don't stop there! Short-form poetry can be a great way for reluctant readers to fall in love with words and get hooked on reading. And teens may find they can devour novels in verse quicker than prose fiction, as they grapple with adolescent issues in an entirely different way. 

Here are this month's picks of titles old and new, from funny rhymes to an intense novel in free verse:

  • For kids age 4 to 6, select a classic collection by the late poet-illustrator¬†Shel¬†Silverstein, such as¬†Falling Up¬†or¬†Where the Sidewalk Ends¬†(just out in a 40th-anniversary hardcover edition). A keen observer, Silverstein offers whimsical, imaginative, comically illustrated takes on everyday situations and conundrums that will resonate with both kids and adults. There's also his rhyming-verse picture book¬†A Giraffe and a Half¬†(now in a¬†50th-anniversary¬†hardcover edition), the zany, cumulative tale of a boy and his giraffe.¬†
  • For middle-grade readers age 7 to 12, check out Karma Wilson's Outside the Box, engagingly illustrated by Diane Goode. The book is dedicated to Silverstein and has the look and feel of one of his collections, with expressive, often funny line drawings enlivening and amplifying short poems that capture kid-size reflections and ponderings. Another collection, poet-illustrator Douglas Florion's Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles, seriously lays on the funny and features more doodle-like and thicker-lined drawings that underscore the comic predicaments people, animals, and monsters have gotten themselves into.
  • For teens age 13 to 17, there's The Sound of Letting Go by Stasia¬†Ward Kehoe,¬†a story told in verse and narrated by a 16-year-old girl who's living with a severely¬†autistic -- and violent -- 13-year-old brother. This¬†could be a good choice for the siblings of autistic kids or other children growing up with differences. Steven's behavior is extreme, but even readers who haven't experienced Daisy's situation will be able to relate to her concerns. And, being in verse, it makes for a quick read.

About Regan McMahon

Regan has been reviewing children's books for more than a decade. A journalist and former book editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, she cites as one of her toughest assignments having to read and review the 784-page... Read more

Add comment

Sign in or sign up to share your thoughts

Comments (1)

Adult written by Senser123

I think a good poem should be an example of what it would be like vicariously to write from a great poet's view.