All member reviews for All-American Girl

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Marred by a pat ending, but an enjoyable romp.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old August 1, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

All-American Girl

I read this in 6th grade and I really enjoyed it. It's about this girl who saves the president's life and how her life changes by that ocassion. It does have some kissing and talking about women's 'parts'. And there's some teenager drinking at a party. But other than that, it's a really good book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. May 20, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pretty great fluff read!

I picked this book up in a used book store a while ago, and read it and really enjoyed it. Like with most of Meg Cabot's novels, there really isn't much depth, but will definetly hook book-worms and reluctant readers alike! It's a pretty tame novel, pretty much any tween or teen girl will enjoy this fun read, and you have to admit, the plot (Angsty teen girl saves the president, falls in love with the first son, etc.) is pretty brilliant, making this a quick fluff read. I'd also really reccomend Meg's Airhead series if your kids liked this one.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

GREAT for tweens

Omg, I LOVED this book!! It was great!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMrsKey April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old February 21, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Not Very Appropriate!

I bought this book for my daughter who is 12 and she loved it! She told me that there were some inappropriate parts that she skipped throughout the book and did not let any one read the book other than herself. We eventually donated it to a charity drive since no one else thought it was appropriate.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

idk

is this ok for my sis whos 9 she has had 'The Talk' And knows alot of it all
Teen, 13 years old Written byJewel♥ July 8, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I loved this book! It's really far-fetched I know! But isn't that what's fun and amazing about it? Meg Cabbot is a dreamer in my opinion. She has amazing plots. And I think her books especially this one is a must read for this summer! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byhellofreak July 3, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
It's a must read for every teen or tween girl.
Teen, 13 years old Written bydesto_92396 March 26, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

i loved it

i love the way meg cabot described things like with the egg it was confusing but i saw a movie in my head it was awsome
Kid, 12 years old January 23, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

One Of The Best Books!

The moment I got this book, I begun reading it - I am crazy over Meg Cabot's books. Laughter, sad moments... this book has it all. Simply a must-read!
Teen, 16 years old Written byBookMad February 22, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

All American Girl

It's a great book with an interesting and exciting story- really every girl's dream. It's not hard to read and is great fun.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bySexylesbian August 17, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

EWW

Disgusting
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 20, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

All American Story

All American Girl is an upbeat, coming of age story that should be read for generations to come. Samantha is an outspoken role model that happened to be in the right place at the right time- and that very moment ends up changing her life. A solid ending that slowly guides you into the sequel (pause for kids 13 and under).
Adult Written bybabybop August 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

LOVVVVVEEE this book!!:)<3

Susan Boone says to keep your eyes open. You can see if you look.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 16, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AMAZING BOOK!!

this was truly my favorite book and any mature tween can handle it. this is a great read and almost any girl would like it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byexrbklyngirl April 3, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good book

I really like this book. It doesn't have a lot of inappropriate stuff.
Teen, 16 years old Written bybookwormteen January 3, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBORING

ALL HER BOOKS ARE DA SAME IM TOOOOOOOOOTALLY BORED OF HER BUT NEWBEES TOWARDS CABOT SHALL LIKE IT
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byshanmae2 July 22, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all girls!!

Overall A great book. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 23, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Just fine but not appropriate

There isn't alwayse a book my Meg Cabot that is for kids and this one certanly is not! But perfect for an older teen who understands more.....
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookworm96 June 28, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Meg Cabot Has Out Done Herself

"All-American Girl" is one of the best books I've read in a while. It's predictable ending is more than made up for by its incredible humor and insight. It contains some mild violence, under-age drinking, and sexual content. However, it's all mild.

Pages