All member reviews for Along for the Ride

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byMegan Lovely April 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Megan's Review

I think that this is a good book. It just shows a girl who didn't have a child hood re-creating her one with a friend. Sure, she makes a few mistakes; but doesn't everyone?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byh8rPatrol December 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Every teenage girl can learn to fall in love with this story!
Teen, 15 years old Written byOGORMAN January 17, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A fairly well written book, but contains little real emotion.

Auden has grown up somewhat self-centered due to her uptight mother. Auden's mother puts down everything and is never impressed or seems happy. Then her father, on the other hand, is way too obsessed with his work and, in a way, refuses to take care of Auden or Thisbe (his newborn daughter) properly. Which leaves Auden's stepmom Heidi to raise a somewhat colicky baby by herself. Auden begins to relax a little after meeting and falling in love with Eli. Eli seems to be different from everyone else with his love for BMX and a tragic past.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKatie-Kakes September 24, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

couldnt put it down

this book is brilliant i think that auden is very smart and i can undestand her really quite well. some points in this book are not exactly appropriate for yonger teens but mostly the book is quite tame. i couldnt put it down and stayed up into the early hours of the morning trying to finish this brilliant book. i belive that this book will be good for anyone that wants to read about a character they can relate to
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bykitkatrocksyasox February 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

not all true

Auden never lost her virginity to Eli.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byBooklover13 October 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byChuckNorrisApproves December 12, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Pretty good book I must say!

I liked this book a lot! The plot was good and I thought that it gave a stong, good message, as this is how many families are: divorced parents,new step-mom, new half-brother sister, etc. I think it was one of Sarah Dessen's better books! Chuck Norris helped me approve this novel :P
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byM.Thomson.ATL February 25, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for tweens and teens, especially grades 5-8

I think "Along for The Ride" is a great book for middle schoolers. Some parents may think it's a little mature for elementary schoolers but I read books like it in the 4th and 5th grade, so I think it would be fine for 4th and 5th grade but no younger. It is a little mature, has a little non-graphic sex, and drinking, but most of the drinking is just wine, and most kids' parents drink wine around them anyway. And if kids didn't already know what non-graphic sex is like (i.e. how it is described) they may not even realize it's non-graphic sex.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byllynch7 March 19, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

love it

love it! it just the right amount of romance, family issues, and finding your idenity!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Along for the Wow

Loved this book. Not a lot of bad things in the book, except some iffy language. But Auden is true to herself, and very into her learning.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byjaliep15 September 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

It was ok

It was ok I still recommend Just listen if you want something uplifting
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byimmzzzzy June 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Wonderful.

An incredible book, I find myself re-reading chapters again and again. I don't think any of the issues mentioned above really apply, and I have to mention the misconception of Auden losing her virginity in the book. Never happened. This is a definite must read.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byezmx23 April 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

amazing!

THIS BOOK IS AH-MAZ-ING!!!!! such a good plot
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookee January 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

VERY INSPIRING BOOK :))

This book is a good one for people who are aloof and mostly self centered ones. I do not think that this book would be inappropriate for teens even if it contains some parts with teens drinking because first of all, the main goal of this book is to encourage teens to change for the better.HOW WOULD TEENS RELATE IF THE MAIN CHARACTERS WOULD BE ADULTS?
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybook13lover June 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

GREAT BOOK

This is Sarah Dessen's best book so far. I think Common Sense is a little bit overprotective, any 13-year-old could read this. No big deal. No younger than a mature twelve, though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLissaNicky May 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great, a must read

Great book! this is a heart warming story about Auden a teen who has a life that is far from perfect. What happens when she spends some time with her dad. step mother, and new step sister... read to find out!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byemm680 May 3, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great book, but the CSM review is wrong.

I love this book, read it like 4 times.Little bit of drinking but nothing major. Auden Did Not loose her virginity to Eli, she fell asleep on a couch with him(there's a big difference between the two!) Great book for anyone above 12.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLucky7Bluue June 9, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Making things straight here.

Marvellous! And, no, Auden did not, NEVER did loses her virginity to Eli. All what happened was Auden cried infront of Eli after hearing her dad and Heidi fight through the doors and Eli didn't say anything, just brought her to his apartment. He made some kind of rice crispy treat, something his mother would make everytime his sisters get upset, for Auden. They talk, Eli pretty much did all of that as he hopped on the bed. Auden did too joined him on the bed. their conversation was till almost to 4am, and Auden felt sleepy, and then fell asleep on the bed with Eli. The next morning, Eli was hugging her, as Auden wakes up, she gently get of the bed, not wanting to disturb Eli, she did a nice favour in brewing coffee for Eli as he was still asleep. Then she went back home to Heidi's place and continued sleeping. DUH, what is wrong with you people?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 6, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Really good, but not her best.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycarleighskates February 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pages