All member reviews for Among the Hidden: Shadow Children, Book 1

Kids say

(out of 78 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bymmecca March 23, 2011
age 9+
 

Perfect for ages 9+

It was a very, very good series! In fact, when I was in fifth grade, we read it as a class. That is what made me interested in the series.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 21, 2011
age 8+
 

Good book, sad at end

This is one of my favorite books, the only thing in this book that is sad and disturbing is Jen's death and how her dad tells luke how she died, but other then that the book rocks !
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 16, 2011
age 10+
 

Perfect novel for tweens!

Awesome! This is really good book that I think every tween should read. Margaret Peterson Haddix is a superb story teller! Please read it if you get the chance. I beg you!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 26, 2011
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 21, 2011
age 12+
 
i read this whole series. really good books.interesting series.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 10, 2010
age 9+
 

Really Good Book

My teacher read our calss this book. It is REALLY good. I think Jen (my favorite character.. it was so sad!) dying might scare younger kids.. and Lukes brothers talking 'dirty' certainly brought some 'ews' into the air when our teacher read this book.. but other then that.. a really good book. Kind of heart warming.. and heart jerking. Definably check out the sequels after readng this one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBean Bean Dou November 29, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written byxopeace1414 September 7, 2010
age 10+
 
Kid, 10 years old August 20, 2010
age 9+
 
Jen dies at the end
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 23, 2010
age 8+
 

I love it soooooooooo much!!!! But it's soooo sad at the end!!!!!

Love it!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBearyboo July 9, 2010
age 8+
 

nothing wrong with it.

It includes shooting....but doesn't give detail. if u have read it, read the rest of the series
Teen, 14 years old Written byallyra99 July 6, 2010
age 14+
 

Great

toatally awesome.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2010
age 10+
 

Good for the tweens

A great book very positive and a bit violent.
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2010
age 9+
 

I kinde agree that it should be 9 or 9+ cause the peope shot but only one time but the reast was GREAT!

I <3 its it was the best book i read so far my two favorite (main) charecters where Jan and luck but it was pretty sad when Luke had to move away and when Jen got shot but it was a AMAZING book
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byDEVILHAWK21 October 26, 2009
age 14+
 
it was good and not good
Teen, 13 years old Written bydramaqueen100 September 5, 2009
age 10+
 
i really loved it. i also read the series. thats good too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 August 24, 2009
age 10+
 

Great book for young'n's

Typical writing-ethic style, but the plot is absolutely grand. One part (I was surprised) very much disturbed me so that's why I gave the "Violence" concern bomb. This book'll have you reading the entire series, as I am trying to complete now.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byzipzipzap July 31, 2009
age 8+
 

super good book

this book is really good i have read all for in the seris and loved them all. This book is actually really educational and overall great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymaddy940 June 6, 2009
age 11+
 

great!

i really enjoyed this book! i read all of the shadow children books! but, i think the age limit should be ten. that seems a little more reasonable! but this book was very good, and i definitely recommend it!
Kid, 10 years old February 19, 2009
age 10+
 

this book is sad

the book is sad when he has to leave his family plus one of the main characters gets shot.not appropiate for under ten.

Pages