All member reviews for Animal Farm

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Classic satirical allegory about the abuse of power.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Really good!

I liked this book a lot. It's perfect for younger teens.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bydaughterofhappiness April 12, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Animal Farm ~ Review by DaughterofHappiness

You'll need a level of maturity to be able to understand this book if you are a kid. Otherwise, most won't be able to see the reason this book was written.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byNomacop January 6, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

animal farm

a brilliant, clever, satirical novel
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byTommy141 August 8, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great educational book

This is a great book, and it is even better if you know all of the historic links to the Russian revolution. Lots of schools read this book, as it is very educational if you understand the things it is trying to say. The content is fine for young readers, but I would suggest reading it after you know the basics of its themes.
Teen, 17 years old Written byTwitt@mi2dangerous4u February 16, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

twitter me :@mi2dangerous4u

I would recommend Animal Farm because it is an interesting novel to read. Another reason I would recommend Animal Farm is because it is a very educational book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bynovelreader January 4, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

One of the best novels I have ever read.

This is an absolutely marvelous book about the Russian Revolution. I first read it when I was 10 years old and I was shocked by the massacre, but teenagers and older children who are not as sensitive as me can read it and be just fine. Also, the pigs obtain alcohol, but it is a small detail. so I was fine with that when I was 10 years old. Boxer is a great role model and has a lot of determination. It is great for your children to read this if you want to talk about the Russian Revolution or totalitarianism, and Orwell makes you sincerely hate Napoleon and the other pigs (maybe it is just me). Read it if you have the chance!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 1, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A great book for all ages!

Animal Farm is a very good book. I personally think that it's a book for all ages. For example, little kids can read it and just think it's a fairy tale about animals whereas, older kids will probably get the true message and understand that it's about power. I really enjoyed this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Adult Written bythebookreviewer02 December 21, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Appropriate for almost any age, but it will be spoiled if you don't get the message!

This is truly a masterpiece, and, if you choose to read it, you will know the basic gist of Soviet Russia and totalitarianism, both incredibly complex issues, in less than a full day! I was amazed by the sheer magnitude of the message and the many layers waiting to be unraveled. If your child wants to read this book, it's your call whether to let them or not, but be warned! If you read this book without knowing what it's about, the magic of this incredible piece will be lost! They will walk away confused and wondering what the point is. This book is not at all disturbing, especially for young children. Now, I know you're thinking, "What?", but it's true! Young children (minor spoiler) probably won't even know what the glue factory is, and the most disturbing part is that, even though this seems incredibly dystopian, it has happened in real life-several times! In conclusion, if you think your child is ready, suggest and encourage them to read this amazing masterpiece!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Adult Written bydesireeg November 20, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A perfect book.

It is obviously a book informing us about the events leading up to the Russian Revolution of 1917 and then on into the Stalin era in the Soviet Union. I think it is completely appropriate for any age, but you would also have to think about the reading level. But absolutely awesome book, and a good way to give the students a picture in the their heads about the Russian Revolution and how all that came about.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMavrah333 October 10, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Better and more logical than 1984!

Ok, to start: MUCH BETTER THAN 1984! 1984 left me sad, horrified and disappointed, and I started up a new game of Half Life 2 to see whether or not it was as depressing. Half Life 2 wasn't as depressing as 1984 by a long way. On the other hand, Animal Farm is a much better book. With an interesting storyline, a lot of twists and a more satisfactory ending than WARNING SPOILERS FOR 1984 INCOMING HIDE YOUR EYES: he died loving his worst enemy. Some explicitly described violence, but no worse than the cartoon, and some consumerism, but the latter is necessary for the plot. Great book, read it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookconsumer February 1, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not as good as 1984

I think that although there are great underlying meanings in this book, and it discusses communism in great detail, that it is a tad simplistic and that 1984 is better. George Orwell is one of the best authors that I know of and any of his books are great. Anyone who enjoys this book would enjoy 1984.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byEliza B. October 4, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Animal farm

It is a very good book, and kids of almost any age can read it, though younger kids might not understand it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking