All member reviews for Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl

Common Sense Media says

Inspiring wartime journal reveals teen's inner life.

Users say

(out of 40 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysourcecoderocks October 9, 2011

Positive Role Models and Messages

I really loved this! I read it in sixth grade and it has really good role models and messages.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byCAROLINE<3 November 3, 2011

AWESOME

I read this book when I was about 8 and then again when I was 14. I think that it is good 8 and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byFelicitous Freedom April 9, 2015

Great Book, Would Recommend

I recently decided to curl up with this book once again, and really enjoyed it. I think it's a great, realistic account of what life would be like for a person in hiding during a world war. Before I start giving my review in detail, you should know that there are in fact two versions of this book. The first, the critical version, was put together by Otto, Anne's father. This is a great read, but has been censored and shortened a little bit. Things such as conflicts between Anne and her mother were dialled down, and a few letters about Anne's personal development were cut too. The other version, the definitive version, was put together fairly recently in comparison, and contains 30% more content. I read both of these books, and would thoroughly recommend trying to get your hands on the definitive version. This is the diary of a young girl, and to censor her thoughts seems to me to take away the whole point of reading it. Also, a few of the other reviewers mention that the definitive version isn't suitable for boys or younger children, but really, the content in the book isn't harsh or confronting at all. Anne does talk about getting her period in one or two letters, but this is a fact of life and steering people away from this won't help them grow at all. That being said, some people would prefer to read the critical version. At the end of the day, it is their choice, and depends on the reader. Just bear in mind that there are differences between the two versions when you are deciding which to read. "Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl" is set in wartime Holland. Anne is a young Jewish girl in hiding, along with 8 others. The diary's entries start before they have to go to their 'secret annex', as their hiding pace is revered to throughout Anne's entries, and follows Anne's journey from there. The entries reflect on Anne's thoughts and emotions, her development as a young girl into a teenager, and life in hiding. Anne's words are deep and profound, and tell a beautiful story. Of course, this beautiful story is a rather dark one. Anne is constantly living in fear of being found by the Gestapo. She has limited rations, and is cramped up into a tiny space, not allowed to go outside. The sound of gunshots are a common occurrence. The themes in this book are clearly dark. It's not a light read, at all. Anne's diary entries aren't graphic, but still leave you chilled. The entries Anne addressed were beautifully written. I found myself connecting with Anne, and before long I felt like she was a close friend. Anne's diary is written in such a way that it is impossible to distance yourself from her words. This book is a truly captivating read, and offers deep insites into a very important, yet dark, part of humanity's past. I would recommend for anyone in their late Tweens or above. This book would be enjoyed by a wide variety of ages.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2012

ANNE FRANK, (by Neve372000)

"The Diary of Anne Frank" is very very sad. Anne is a jew, so she is forced to hide from Hitler. I won't tell you how it ends, but i will tell you to buy lots of tissues.
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2014

Great book

As I said in my title great book. It got boring at one part otherwise it was filled with love and action. Parents should know that there is some sexual reference's like: When she wanted to feel her friends breasts and her breasts, She has lots of boyfriends in her short life, She kisses peter ( a boyfriend ) , She wants to have her period. There is a bit of drinking and gambling. Overall great book!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byTenillelovesbooks May 17, 2012

I love Anne frank the book

We are reading this book in class as a class novel. Not once have I ever been so interested in a book my whole life. The whole class is begging to read more pages because we only read it once a day :( My knowledge on world war II has grown so much considering I only knew so little. I feel as if I know Anne and when she's writing diary entries to 'kitty' I feel as though there to me. Words can't describe how strongly I recommend this awesome book! YOU HAVE TO READ IT! :) :) :) :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydedee March 13, 2012

good

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written bykarinajohnson November 27, 2011

Overall, something everyone should read

This was a excellent book for learning for my daughter who is 8 years. I read it with her which I would recomend doing if your kid wants to read the book but does gets scared or disturbed by books.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byCooldee December 24, 2011

The best book ever!

I first read Anne's diary when I was in 6th grade, and as I read it, I got more interested in the entire book. Over the past few years, I kept on reading the book almost every month. I highly recommend Anne's diary!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 9, 2015

Amazing :)

I've read the definitive edition, and it's an amazing book for those girls (sorry boys, that book isn't for you exactly) who will become teens. Some content is not appropriate for younger kids, as they talk about sex and the private parts, but it's still plenty of fun.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 2, 2014

Interesting

has some inappropriate parts, but it's interesting.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old June 15, 2013

Great, But Watch for Some Inappropriate Content.

It is a great gem, but has a lot of sexual content. It talks about Anne having her period, and other stuff like that.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old May 8, 2013

good

very good book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old November 23, 2015

What is wrong with today's kids?

This book really is not inappropriate. In my school, this book was required reading. At page 130, Anne talks about her sexuality in non-graphic detail. My classmates freaked out about it, calling "Fifty Shades of Anne Frank". This is really offensive, comparing this to porn impossible to call literature (Fifty Shades of Grey). Some quit reading entirely, lying to the teacher, saying that they finished it. Some complained that Anne was "a sassy little girl that deserved to die." They obviously were not ready for this book. This book is not like that at all. It is not a piece of porny crap. It is a true account of the horrors of being a Jew in Nazi occupied Holland. Calling it horrible names is very insulting, especially to Jewish people from the Holocaust. The Annexe is a very uneventful place, so expect lots of repetition. The first two thirds of this book is about the families squabbling. The last third is mainly Anne and Peter longing for each other, with lots of kissing and a little distress. If you don't like romance (like me), you will be annoyed at this part (the romance eventually drops). Among these repetitive entries, you will find more important and interesting entries, about subjects such as WWII politics, England's invasion of Holland, and Anne's evolution as a young woman. In this book, you will find positive role models in Mr. Kraler, Mr. Koophuis, Miep, Henk, and Elli for hiding the Franks, the Van Daans, and Dussel. The Jewish people in hiding are very, very. brave. This book is very educational about the Holocaust. There is no violence depicted, but the Jews hear soldiers fighting outside, and Mrs. Van Daan gets very scared when this happens. There is talk of the British invading Holland, and what life in a concentration camp would be like. Towards the end, there is an attempt to assassinate Adolf Hitler, which fails. Eventually, all of the Jews, except for Anne's father, die in concentration camps. Anne talks about her evolution as a young woman, including her sexuality. She mentions her period three to five times. She recalls when she once kissed a female friend, and then asked if they should feel each other's breasts as proof of their friendship, to which the friend refuses. She sometimes feels a desire to feel her breasts. Anne recalls times when various boys have fallen in love with her, and has sexual dreams involving a former love interest, and eventually Peter. Anne and Peter fall in love, where they frequently kiss and hold each other. Anne experiences tension with her dad when he tells her to cool it with Peter. Peter washes in the kitchen, and tells people not to enter the kitchen when he is watching. Peter once shows Anne the male reproductive organs of a cat. However, the sexual content here is not graphic and should not be as offensive as it seems to be. The only language is one use of h-ll by a man, one use of silly a-- by Anne, and mentions of Peter cursing to himself when he is angry. I was able to handle this, but many other kids were not. For them, all of the WWII content was overshadowed by the sexual content. In my opinion, it is maturity and not age that determines whether someone should be able to read this, but people aged 12 to 16 will probably be able to identify with Anne the most.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byStoic-Demon August 5, 2014

Wonderful Book

the reason why i chose age 13: Anne Frank was a teen when she was writing in her diary on how she felt. I feel that 13 year olds (and above) will have a sense of what's going one, because they are close to her age in the book. 13+ teens will also know what's being said in the book. I read it when I was 11 and didn't understand what was going on. I read it again in my English class when i was 13 and I understood more and what feelings were being felt in the book. Also to the people rating the book as "too much violence", it was during world war II, give it a break.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 17 years old Written byAura Lawerence May 9, 2014

Its Like a Peep in Someone's Life

Reading this was sort of a revelation to me ! I read it for the first time when i was 14. It made me look at the World War II In an all together different way! The one thing that strikes u hard is that it isn't something created by the mind dude, it is what some people went through at some point in this world! Being a teen it surprises u that Anne was so much like us, an ordinary girl of 21 century only born in a wrong time period! Despite everything she manages to write cheerfully and almost bluntly about the things she goes through!!! She is not being preachy how could she, she just writes naked truths! Try it if u really wish to know what all unimaginable things went on behind the terror of Hitler and under the Banner of the Most Brutal World War II
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic June 4, 2012

Great diary with World War II references

BOOK INFO: A great diary written by Anne Frank before she died. Many references to World War II. VIOLENCE: Medium. References to the war, shootings, bombings and air raids etc. No mentioning of graphical/bloody scenes in the text. LANGUAGE: None. SEX: Low-Medium. Some sexual references and kissing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old May 22, 2014
a great book for kids that are interested in the world war 2.I love reading war books and we are going to read it in the brookridge middle school! So i am super excited!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byMani Dixit August 15, 2012

It's worth your time!

i believe that dis is not just somethn like a book...it instead is some1s lyf nd so it is soo very important to respect it nd consider its horrible context too... i read dis book 4 my skul project nd nw i feel it ws worth evry hour i spent reading it... its a diary of a young teen girl nd so teens wud love it... language is quite difficult though bt wht 4 v have a dictionary,huh? parents cn read it as "How To Be A Good Parent" kind of buk..as in it Anne tells us abt her personal fellings of hw a parent shud be.. so ultimate thing is that it is a MUST READ...!! (I lvd it nd so wud u) :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 5, 2014

Touching

I first read this book in Grade 4. It was really inspiring and made me want to write a diary too.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages