All member reviews for Are You There God? It's Me Margaret.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Classic coming-of-age story rings true decades later.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 85 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byhamstergurl09 April 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not One of My Favorites.

A lot of girls I know really enjoyed this book, because it was, in their words, "an excellent coming of age novel." I read it when I was 10. Personally, I couldn't relate to it, because Margaret is obsessed with physically developing, which I never really cared about. Also, she kind of just follows the herd, and listens to whatever everyone else says. I'm not like that at all. This book is also pretty dated, considering it was written in the early 1970s. It's a period piece...no pun intended. I guess a "girly" girl might like it.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
mild sexual behaviour
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byMorganwashere12 November 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

:) Awesome.

When my mother recommended the book, I was interested. I can relate to Margret, in so many ways. I loved it. It's a quick read, but defiantly worth reading. Read it in about a day.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBook_Worm313 February 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Every girl should read this before if not during 6th grade.

I absolutely love this book. Margaret is the type of girl we can all relate to. She has friendship problems (i.e. Nancy) and she has problems with coming into herself and her body as we most do (i.e. stiffing her bra with cotton balls). Another big part of the novel is religion. Margaret doesn't really have a religion since her mother is a Christian and her father is Jewish, so she feels the pull to choose. The book follows her search for her own self body wise (her wanting her period) and spirit wise (choice of religion). I read Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret when I began middle school, and now as I am almost done with my last year before starting the four year journey of high school, I believe that Margaret's story truly stated the confusion of being a preteen where you are just being that awkward stage of your body developing, and your starting to become more of your own person instead of your parent. I read the book at 11, but I recommend it for anyone grade 5 and up. The book does talk about something topics that are a little older such as bras, periods, and boys, but none of those topics are inappropriate for preteens. Every girl should read this book before she is 13, though it would be more informing and educational if she read it around 10-11.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNoseStuckInABook April 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great middle school (pre-middle school) reading

I read this when I was ten. I loved it. To be honest, I can barely remember what happened. But it's a classic. I loved it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old August 13, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I loved this book! It was funny and very educational at the same time!! =]
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 21, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

tweens will love it

i love this book its funny and very good. I would recomed this book for 10 up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byKawaiiPanda November 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Judy Blume, you've done it again!

I'm in grade 8, I have read it 10+ times. It is a wonderful book, great for those going through "That time"
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 30, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good for middle schoolers

best book i've ever read
Kid, 10 years old August 15, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for anyone who is dealing with puberty

Magret is mature but yet acts her age too. I think we are all margrets.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written byssara May 16, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

superb message

I enjoy reading the article. Its good at least there are people who think about god.Dentist NYC
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 25, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
i never read this book b4 but i really want to. im 11 and my mom said i can so, i guess i could. im in 5th grade too.
Teen, 13 years old Written byreadyourheartout March 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Every girl is like Margret(:

I am a 13 year old and i read this for a book report, and i have to say that it is a great book for pre-teens to read so they have a heads up on whats going to happen to them in the future. its absolutely amazing on what you read from Judy Blume. Just fantastic(: oh, and parents! i think you should talk to you daughter about whats happening in this book, because on some parts they might not understand it. So its a must read for tweens!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old February 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
an awesome book
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old August 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Love It! If you are worrided about kids exposed to talking about periods dont get it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bypopstar1049 May 11, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Pretty good! funny for sure!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old February 18, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
My friend read it as a 4th grader so i think its compleatly cool for about 7 and up, but you wouldent like it because you would have no clue what 1/2 the stuff is. umm... Ok well You know what, sex, and bras, and kissing, ALL PART OF GROWING UP and thats what the book IS ABOUT! so if u have a problem with that dont b annoying and say"Oh too innaproprate" Cuz its not innaproprate cuz its how U came about this world so suck it up cuz ur kids life is filled with this stuff, So she might aswell Know about it so she will feel less alone and feel better. I'd know. Im 13 and confused, and this book is a big helper.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysoccer_mufc13 September 26, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Really Good!

I read this book last year, and i really liked it, it had some stuff about periods, and boobs (bras) but asides that i think it was a pretty good book. I would recommend it for kids ages 11+
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old October 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I Loved this book! I am reading it again!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byneonnloveeee August 29, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
This is a great book for tweens! it is an awesome coming of age book. It teaches girls about puberty and other topics, also Margaret is basically a normal, real life sixth grader. I read it when I was ten, and it was a huge help. A must read for tweens ages 10-11+ !!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages