All member reviews for Artemis Fowl Book 5: The Lost Colony

Common Sense Media says

Fifth in series is less edgy, but still exciting.
 

Users say

(out of 25 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 16 years old Written bysherlocketernal February 10, 2009
age 11+
 

Drivel. But fun drivel.

These books are written for middle school boys. Need I say more? Expect flatulence and flat characters. Imagination and International intrigue gives these books fun fast paced reading.
Teen, 15 years old Written byM912 July 1, 2009
age 11+
 

Great for the average tween.

Excellent book, filled with suspense.
Teen, 16 years old Written byhalo 6 July 18, 2010
age 12+
 

great book

i read the whole series. its awesome!
Teen, 14 years old Written bylyna April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

It can't end like this,,,

THis book is so cool! He starts noticing his puberty and I think he likes that other girl genius Minerva. But at the end of the story, he returns from the time tunnel 3 years later and his parents have twins and that sort of ruined the series because he is now 18 and not all too exciting. Eoin Colfer has to have another book to correct this.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybobbeta30 June 23, 2010
age 12+
 

Are you out of your minds?

"Less edgy"? Now you've really lost it. Did you people even read this book? If you did, you say it was epic, not "fun". They described someone getting stabbed with a paragraph in detail!!!! For a site called common sense media, you need some common sense.
Kid, 12 years old March 21, 2010
age 9+
 

cute

i am just 12 and i read this a while ago. it was creative and refreshingly new in its plot and characters. i would say there is really nothing to worry about. i read this when i was about 9 and it was intruiging..although i doubt i spelled that right. heh heh.
Teen, 13 years old Written byavidcritc April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

terrific!

this is a great book. parts are really funny (artemis grumbling about 'this blasted puberty'). imp no. 1 is a goos character. (when he finds his nearly limitless vocabulary, he starts chuckling to himself over words he's delighted to find out. 'pink. ooh, what a nice word. bubble! they're so undemonlike!') the way artemis brought holly back to life is a really cool concept. i'm still in shock that artemis gets siblings. wonder how that'll work outif the series continues...
Teen, 14 years old Written byhedge9 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

A Definite Must!

I LOVE this book...so much emotion and so suspenseful...can't wait for the next of AF!
Kid, 12 years old February 11, 2014
age 2+
 

As if a good day to die hard isnt bad enough to watch, now we have to read it!

Dont listen to anyone who likes this. It is boring, disappointing, cliched, maddening, and forgettable. Also, plagued with plotholes. I stopped reading it after 2 chapters. It is that bad. Read it if you want to know how bad it is. P.S. So only 12 year-olds can discover the fairy world? what is time limbo, a game of limbo? Artemis somehow dicovered demons and went from hero to anti-villian again? Hybras was under a village and the LEP never found out? artemis gets magic from the time stream? Huh?
Teen, 15 years old Written byVoracious Reader March 9, 2009
age 9+
 

This Series Rocks!

They may be about fairies, but they're witty, fun, and action packed! I love the characters, the plots, and the awesome new ideas in each book!
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 7, 2009
age 9+
 

Interesting.

This book adds some new villains, a potential love interest in Minerva, Artemis finally turned good, a new hero, and more action. All in all, a good day's work.
Teen, 14 years old Written by3_Leaf_Clover April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Good, but not as great as the others

Like all of the other books in this series, it was, well...magical (excuse the pun). Although the ending was slightly dissapointing for me, and Minerva wasn't ideal, I still think it was a great book.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written byVirtuoso21 February 10, 2011
age 12+
 
This book series is and will always be my absolute favorite. As a freshman in high school, i enjoyed this book so incredibly much. The way Colfer executes the plot is brilliant, and the age limit is limitless. There are some "big" words used, not crude by any means, but some that younger kids might not recognize. i highly recommend this Entire Series! DIEHARD FOWLFAN
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 19, 2009
age 7+
 

Really fun, sometimes weirder than necessary

This is a fun series of books for just about anybody. It was funny and fun to watch the mastermind kid doing these things that really ticks off the fairies. There is nothing to worry about with violence or anything, I would just recommend a comprehensive reader reading this, but if youre 2 and you read novels theres nothing that should freak you out or anything, theres no blood or intense violence. There are also no flat out shooting scenes, its always creative and unrealistic (unrealistic is good in this case)
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

i bought this the millisecond it came out

Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2013
age 10+
 

Artemis Fowl is the best 8 book series!

This is a wonderful book and I loved reading it along with the other 7 books. it has only one reference to swearing, a fairy swear, D'arvit. there is only minimal violence, except in the end when N'zall the demon kills all of Artemis's allies, which later they are saved by Artemis stunning N'zall in the past before he killed Artemis's friends. this is a great book and I would read it over and over again.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bybrendonblaze January 3, 2011
age 13+
 
well first of all i think that artemis fowl is fo 11 year olds because the book has a small amount of language but the book is very interesting so 11 is mor age appropriate
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written bysuckmyazz May 14, 2015
age 13+
 

suckmyazzbizth

kids it has curse words in it too so dont worry
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much swearing

Pages