All member reviews for Big Nate: In a Class by Himself: Big Nate, Book 1

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Milder than Wimpy Kid, and a sure hit with boys.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 year old Written byBrettScott April 8, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Cute with no positive messages

It is a bit funny, but very negative. Nate believes he is destined for greatness and everyone around him is an idiot - including his family, teachers and friends. About his father: "...Way to break it to me gently. Nice parenting. "..he's pretty harmless... It's just that Dad's kinda clueless. He has no idea what it's like to be me." Everyone around him gets the same treatment. Nate denigrates the smart, artistic, hard-working people around him. He has terrific self-esteem but always under achieves. He marvels at his good fortune - School Record Holder for Most Detentions. A happy ending.
Educator and Parent of a 10 year old Written bycorysmom January 6, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

funny read

I love the fact that it makes my son want to read.
Kid, 10 years old March 24, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

like wimpy kid

great! loved it and the second
Kid, 10 years old April 23, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

funnehhh

Cool,funny, & everything like that its like diary of a wimpy kid but a lil better 2ed book rocks also
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old June 3, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AMAZING

This book is great and is giving me a heads up what middle school is like. It is like a arcade game. Will you get a thousand? Nope 5. It is probably for 11 year olds going to middle school.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 17 year old Written byhulk1996 August 31, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

good

love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bystan101 May 25, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great book

loved it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Big Nate: The Best

You should let all kids who don't like books and do like bools, read it. It's funny.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 28, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

big nate + a class by himself = forever alone

Wimpy Kid is a hit in realistic fiction sales, but why did so many desperate book publishers decide to decoy it? First came Dork Diaries, a natural disaster beyond natural disasters, now this? It's a great book, but it's thick on entertainment, but thin on actual plot. Some parts of the book are not amusing at all, and I wouldn't think kids would appeal much to a full-out lip lock performed by minor hallway students seen in the book. I believe that Big Nate wouldn't do well as a Wimpy Kid decoy, and especially after the second disaster, I don't think this series will go too far. Now anyways, about the book, you could buy it for kids, but give it a 2nd look, honestly.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old October 22, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

big nate in a class by himself is a nice story

i think this book is interesting and i think its funny. i think it makes lol (laugh out loud) and fun to read iw ould like people to read this fun book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old March 7, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good For Older Kids-Not for Little Kids

Funny Book..... Just like Dairy of A Wimpy kid! For Kids Above 8
Kid, 11 years old February 22, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Alright

This book is fine. Not my favorite but i dont hate it either! Its very funny though
Kid, 11 years old January 16, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

An Overall Good Book

Similar to Diary Of A Wimpy Kid, except suitable for younger kids! Very funny and has nice illustrations too! :D
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

perfect for kids

very hilarius, and gives u the great reading quality wimpy kid books give
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written byvillaswife July 6, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i really enjoyed it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 18, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Fairly good

It is a book that will get children interested, even if they aren't into reading. The plot seems to always get Nate into trouble, and kids will think that it is a funny comic book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsaac T October 11, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Funny but mild adventures of a middle schooler..

I loved this first book! Very little to worry about, besides a fair amount of name-calling (but no actual swear words.) Also, two 6th graders kiss in public.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good

appropriate for mature kids over the age of 8
Kid, 9 years old May 1, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

big nate reveiw

good role moddels, but not so interesting.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Kissing & Crushes

Great book. Love it!!!!!!!!!! Nate has a crush on a girl, and one time a couple is drawn kissing in the hallway. But does that REALLY bother you? I mean, some kids in middle school do that sometimes. O.K, maybe not.... but I'm 9 and it didn't bother me! I think unless you're kid is 7 and under they/he/she would not be bothered by it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much sex

Pages