All member reviews for Black Beauty

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A heartrending, beautiful, educational classic.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 21 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byfrogger April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old February 12, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

love it

this is a sad book but it gets better threw the book i want to read it again and again and again
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 16, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Black Beauty is an extremely cleverly written book. I am eleven years old and I enjoyed the book thouroughly. There are some trajic parts of the story and there are some bad role models (people who ill use horses and another who is too drunk to ensure his and the horses own safety.) and a few deaths. However this book has tought me alot and really opened my eyes to animal rights. Words to describe this book: FANTASTIC! HEART WARMING SAD HAPPY EDUCATIONAL PAGE TURNER SWEET CLEVER Anna Sewell (the author) used all of her knowledge of horses and their treatmeant and thier lifes. She has good description or food, sttables, riding equiptment and this story is just timeless! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byTAMANA January 12, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

till i read it was...????

its nice, INTERESTING. In starting it seems like a human talking about but...
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviegeek April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I couldn't put it down!

I was fully expecting to hate this novel, but I found that I couldn't put it down. For some reason, the thoughts of a horse captivated me and I was totally engrossed in the story. It really teaches a lesson about animal cruelty and everyone should at least give it a try. Even if you don't think you'll like it, you may be surprised.
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

i read the book. it is good

very good
Adult Written byPinkGirl4Life1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written by♥nadine29♥ November 8, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!!!!AND ITS GOOD FOR THE CHILDREN TO READ THIS KIND OF A BOOK....ITS TELLS US HOW WE TREAT THE ANIMALS....
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

by himanshi

this book is just amazing.there are a few deaths this book tells about the life of a lovely black horse from birth to back to the meadow where he was born.the horse was pretty good, gentle and polite.it also describes cruelties on animals and has opened my eyes to animals. this book has pretty good language
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old October 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

book review of black beauty by anna sewell

Boring but good enjoyable but sad good language but not the latest
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old October 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Perfect for everyone over 10

I loved it. I love horses, and i hate how mean people are to horses. Sometimes, i sit in a corner and think about all that i can do to help these horses. This is a good book, and i feel that everyone should read this book
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byheatherfeather April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byi_am_an May 27, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

black beauty

suppper book by anna sewell hats off to her veryyyyy nice!!!!!!and even a good review by katherine olney
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 22, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

black beauty

as well as Beauty's loyal attitude to even the most cruel human, out of date. But most kids will feel like one 10-year-old, who whispered, "I learned what it feels like to be an animal ... and I cried." Families can talk about treatment of animals. How has the treatment of horses changed since this book was written?
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

1st and loved

This was the 1st navel I ever read, and I loved it, the book is better than the movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byladysapphire March 10, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
perfect book for horse lovers everywhere! it shows the life as only a horse that has passed from hand to hand, both kind and not. that's about all i'm going to say thanks! on
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySNK November 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I love this book.A timeless classic.Must read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byDanny B June 14, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Horse Classic

What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Love it best book ever even my teacher said so.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCotton0Candy December 23, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

This book is the best!

This is a great book for kids to read! <3 Cotton0Candy

Pages