Common Sense Media says

A heartrending, beautiful, educational classic.

Users say

(out of 22 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Adult Written byfrogger April 9, 2008
Kid, 11 years old April 16, 2010
Black Beauty is an extremely cleverly written book. I am eleven years old and I enjoyed the book thouroughly. There are some trajic parts of the story and there are some bad role models (people who ill use horses and another who is too drunk to ensure his and the horses own safety.) and a few deaths. However this book has tought me alot and really opened my eyes to animal rights. Words to describe this book: FANTASTIC! HEART WARMING SAD HAPPY EDUCATIONAL PAGE TURNER SWEET CLEVER Anna Sewell (the author) used all of her knowledge of horses and their treatmeant and thier lifes. She has good description or food, sttables, riding equiptment and this story is just timeless! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byPinkGirl4Life1 April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written by♥nadine29♥ November 8, 2010
I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!!!!!AND ITS GOOD FOR THE CHILDREN TO READ THIS KIND OF A BOOK....ITS TELLS US HOW WE TREAT THE ANIMALS....
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byheatherfeather April 9, 2008
Kid, 9 years old February 12, 2011

love it

this is a sad book but it gets better threw the book i want to read it again and again and again
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviegeek April 9, 2008

I couldn't put it down!

I was fully expecting to hate this novel, but I found that I couldn't put it down. For some reason, the thoughts of a horse captivated me and I was totally engrossed in the story. It really teaches a lesson about animal cruelty and everyone should at least give it a try. Even if you don't think you'll like it, you may be surprised.
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 22, 2012

black beauty

as well as Beauty's loyal attitude to even the most cruel human, out of date. But most kids will feel like one 10-year-old, who whispered, "I learned what it feels like to be an animal ... and I cried." Families can talk about treatment of animals. How has the treatment of horses changed since this book was written?
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byTAMANA January 12, 2012

till i read it was...????

its nice, INTERESTING. In starting it seems like a human talking about but...
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2012

by himanshi

this book is just amazing.there are a few deaths this book tells about the life of a lovely black horse from birth to back to the meadow where he was born.the horse was pretty good, gentle and polite.it also describes cruelties on animals and has opened my eyes to animals. this book has pretty good language
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2009

i read the book. it is good

very good
Teen, 14 years old Written byapuddy April 9, 2008

i loved it!

it was the best book i have ever read!
Kid, 12 years old October 13, 2010

Perfect for everyone over 10

I loved it. I love horses, and i hate how mean people are to horses. Sometimes, i sit in a corner and think about all that i can do to help these horses. This is a good book, and i feel that everyone should read this book
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byi_am_an May 27, 2013

black beauty

suppper book by anna sewell hats off to her veryyyyy nice!!!!!!and even a good review by katherine olney
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old October 1, 2011

book review of black beauty by anna sewell

Boring but good enjoyable but sad good language but not the latest
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byladysapphire March 10, 2011
perfect book for horse lovers everywhere! it shows the life as only a horse that has passed from hand to hand, both kind and not. that's about all i'm going to say thanks! on
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byDanny B June 14, 2010

Great Horse Classic

What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCotton0Candy December 23, 2008

This book is the best!

This is a great book for kids to read! <3 Cotton0Candy
Teen, 17 years old Written bymjett5577 June 24, 2016

Passes off an important message everyone needs to hear

Summary: Black Beauty, a horse, tells the story of his life in his own words. It is a story of how he was treated with kindness and love when he was young, but how his treatment changed at the hands of different owners: some were kind and cared for him properly, but others were careless or unkind, and this led to illness and injury. Plot: It was an OK plot, but not the best. Basically, the whole story was talking about all of the owners that Black Beauty had, also explaining everything in between. The thing that grabbed me about this story was the realization of the cruel treatment horses got. I've always been an animal activist, and this book just made me open my eyes to horses. Characters: Obviously, Black Beauty is the protagonist. I loved his kindness and thoughts on subjects. Some of his owners were incredibly kind, while others were cruel and terrible. It was those cruel owners that made me want to jump into the story and slap them in the face. Writing: The writing was ok, it was pretty good for the time that it was written. Thankfully, it's incredibly easy to read. I had no trouble at all understanding what was going on. I was never confused. Overall: I'm very glad that I found myself reading this book. I will never ride a horse the same again. Recommendations: 10+. Has some VERY MILDLY disturbing scenes. Nothing to be concerned about. Horse lovers would get a kick out of this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 7, 2011

1st and loved

This was the 1st navel I ever read, and I loved it, the book is better than the movie
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages