All member reviews for Boy Toy

Common Sense Media says

Very mature book about boy molested by teacher.
 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bymeeohmyoh August 22, 2010
 
While the topic can help one learn about such situations, it was unnecessary to include explicit sexual activities. I wouldn't recommend it at all, although I believe there is never a good reason to include graphic/explicit sexual situations.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx October 27, 2011
 

Great, but extremely mature

This is an extremely well-written but extremely disturbing story of a boy who is seduced by his teacher but believes it is his fault since his teacher tricked him into thinking they were in love. Lyga makes a sympathetic character without making him the perfect victim (giving him anger and intimacy issues, etc.). All the characters are colorful and they breathe life into this twisted story. However, this is definitely for mature teens due to the SVU-like story told from the victim's point of view and harsh langauge like the F-bomb, s***, and etc. Even so, those who can handle it will find a fast-paced story that will break anyone's heart.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bydwade472 June 12, 2011
 

Very good

Very good story. Very relatable to a lot of pre-teen to teenage boys.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTils August 17, 2010
 

Amazing book!!

I loved this book!!! I could not put it down, the chapters ended the way they should, making you not want to stop, to find out what comes next. It may make younger readers a little uncomfortable at times, but not to bad. I do not recomend this book for anyone under 13.
Kid, 12 years old October 30, 2009
 

Amazing book!

This book was incredible and intense. At times it is a little bit disturbing because of very explicet detail of how the teacher (Eve) molested a student(Josh). Josh believes he is in love but in reality, hi teacher is abusing him. I read this when I was almost twelve and I think that I am old enough. I am a very advanced child and I attend an extremely enriched high school so I was prepared to read this sort of book. If you are not a very experience reader I would consider waiting until I were fourteen or fifteen to read it. I hope you found this review helpful and enjoy ''Boy Toy" if you read it!!:)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bylizwinn April 24, 2015
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byBooks Love Me April 5, 2012
 

Boy Toy

Hi! So I read Boy Toy around the middle of 2011. I went to Borders and picked it up and read it in less than a week. I say pause at 14 and under specifically because by the time kids are in 8th grade they have already been exposed to the things in this book. The sex in this book is pretty graphic, but also really low key in a sense. Parents should be aware of Josh and other characters language, because it is very strong. Even with what I say, you should pause and think about letting them read this book. I really liked the story. Josh was a strong character but he certainly had his flaws. He was a little dense despite his seemingly bright character, he had those flickers that actually weren't all that bad, and he apologized WAY too many times for my tastes. I loved Rachel, his friend, and Zik. They were great characters for the book. I also loved the romance. Rachel was so perfect for this and she just blew my mind in how wise she was. She said things that made you go "wow." I loved how she was a strong but girly character that really just KNEW what she was doing. Anyways, the book was real good. I'd recommend parents letting kids 14 & older (after thinking about it) take a go at this book. Please think about how mature your children are in the process so they do not "hurt their brain" or be "scarred for life".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byCElizabeth January 12, 2012
 

Extremely gripping but very mature.

When I read this I was 16, and I did find the sexual content surprising. It wasn't anything I haven't been exposed to before, but I was very shocked at how graphic it was. From the blurb on the book I would have never guessed that it was even about molestation. And I certainly didn't expect it to be so sexual. But it was a very good book, the characters were very well done. Not to mention Josh, the main character, he was so full of emotion that you couldn't help but love him. I would most definitely recommend this book to older teens (16+) and adults. Children and young teens should not be exposed to the contents of this book. Overall, I loved it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byphoenixadvanced June 7, 2010
 

Great book, bit confusing if you don't know all the rules of baseball

I thought it was a really good book. It has pretty graphic sex scenes which might make a younger reader a bit uncomfortable. The characters swear, but not a crazy amount, and most kids will already know all the words they use. I knew what the book was about before I read it, but because the blurb is fairly vague, it would be kind of confusing at the start if you didn't know what the book was about before you started reading it. The only criticism I had was that the character was constantly spouting baseball figures and always working out his batting average and slugging percentage and spouting off baseball statistics. Cause I'm English, I had no idea what the hell was going on cause I don't know all the ins and outs of baseball.
Teen, 16 years old Written bykmillsz January 27, 2010
 

Didn't know what to expect

At first i was kinda confused, but if you follow the book its really good. It gives a good inside look at what molested children go to.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bystuffhappens September 26, 2009
 

Great for older teens, but not recommended for under 15

This was a great book, but at times (i.e. when the flashbacks of Josh with Eve) I felt very uncomfortable.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bylizzy1993 April 9, 2008
 

not for imature/young

Great book i loved it. It has very expliciate language and flashbacks of sexual experiences. Very detailed about the differnt sexual experiences (detailed porn, oral sex, sex, hand jobs.. and so on
Adult Written bymoviemadness April 9, 2008
 

Wonderful, but very mature book.

This book is a wonderful look at a boy recovering from sexual abuse. The story is well-written and deals with its tender subject well. It captures the farther reaching consequences of sexual abuse, including the stigma that victims face. It is affecting and disturbing to read of Josh's experience from his "grooming" to the end of his abuse. There are extremely explicit descriptions of fondling, kissing, oral sex, pornography, and etc. which border on pornographic. There is a very disturbing scene where a grown man beats a child. There is also lots and lots of bad language. Since Josh is male, readers will likely have a different view of his experiences than they would of a girl in the same circumstances. This can be an excellent starting-point for discussions and deeper thinking. This is not a book for children, even if it is marketed to them. Boy Toy is honest and raw -not something even most older teens should be exposed to.