All parent member reviews for Breaking Dawn: The Twilight Saga, Book 4

Parents say

(out of 77 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2 and 3 year old Written bybab202 April 8, 2010
 
i love it a lot i never like romance movie i loved scary movie but when i watched the first twilight movie i loved it i watched it over n over till i went to go buy new moon
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bysmnicole93 March 19, 2010
 

depends on your child

most parents say kids shouldnt read it due to sexual content, but it gives a good message because bella waits to have sex. it also doesnt go into detail about it. the birth scene is somewhat gory but i think most kids can handle it
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 6 and 10 year old Written byapplezz13 March 10, 2010
 

A great read for the mature, but do you really want THIS book to be the introduction and role model of romantic love for tweens?

It was a great book (but I am 41!!) Not Hemingway by any means, but a good page turner with likable characters. Sort of like the chocolate of books - enjoyable and tasty but serving no nutritional purpose! Completely a great read for older teens and adults. However, I WILL NOT let my daughters read it until they are at LEAST 16. There are so many underlying messages sent in the book that make for a good read for adults, but should NOT be an introduction to "fiction about love relationships" for an immature mind. They should be viewed by an older mind that is able to discern between fiction and reality and what in the book is OK for a fictional character and what is SOO NOT OK to use or imitate during life. I honestly don't think ALL kids under 16 have the knowledge or skills to discern the subtle difference in places.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byREarly March 2, 2010
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byEissen February 24, 2010
 

Again with the Necrophilia.. oh, and add some Bestiality and weird Child/Adult relationships (or 'imprinting') in there too.

First of all, there is this bloody birth scene which is just so disgustingly horrific. Then add in the sex scene in which someone ends up badly bruised and with mangled furniture... There's also the werewolf weirdo relationships with extremely young children. It is just bizarre. Neither Edward nor Bella NOR their relationship is a good role model for a future relationship for kids/tweens/teens because they're both willing to drip EVERYTHING for each other. That's not healthy. In comparison to Harry Potter, where friendship and family are the main concepts, The Twilight Saga is all about the importance of having a boyfriend and how you can't live without it. Bella would rather DIE than be without her boyfriend. Does that SOUND like it's "educational", has "good role models" or "positive messages"? The writing quality is satisfactory, but the words behind the prose are hideous. As a nineteen yr old girl, I'm confused as to why you'd pick teams based on who you want an insecure 17 year old girl to end up with romantically. Team Edward or Team Necrophilia? Team Jacob or Team Bestiality? Unless you're mature enough to see the downsides of this supernatural romance, this book and saga should not be read by your children, especially anyone 15 or younger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written bylangell@charter.net February 11, 2010
 

Not worth the read.

Not appropriate for anyone under 18.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educator and Parent of a 6 year old Written byMs. Coal February 1, 2010
 
I enjoyed reading the whole series and found the story addictive. But what better consequence for teens to read. Bella has sex the first time, gets pregnant, has a terrifying pregnancy and birth scene. If that isn't natural consequences for her actions then what is?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Parent of a 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, and 15 year old Written byNerdy_Mamma January 3, 2010
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent Written bymel342 December 31, 2009
 

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

I liked the whole series but i'd say they are for more mature kids at least 14; I wouldn't want my 11 year old sister reading it just yet.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written byskittle97106 December 3, 2009
 

i am a tween it is ok

i love this book and if they took out the marrige the sex and the baby there would be nothing at all that is the whole book if parents don't like it don;t let tyour kids watch it duh
Parent of a 4 year old Written bysquareybee December 1, 2009
 

Great book- for older teens

I love it, but the sex scences are all the way though- at one point bella asks why they can't just have sex constantly- they don't get tired. There are inuendos all the way through the book and can be quite violont. NOT suitable for under 14s
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bysexyvampire November 26, 2009
 

parents need to get over it!!!!

I am 12 and i am on the 4th book but i think it is nesasary because if you took the marrige, sex, or pregnatcy you wouldnt have Breaking Dawn. So I think that pARENTS SHOULD GET OVER IT BECAUSE IT IS VERY STUPID TO ACT THAT WAY BECAUSE OF A BOOK!!!!
Parent of a 7 and 12 year old Written byCV_Airwin November 13, 2009
 
Apart from the lousy way it's written, I was SHOCKED at what goes on in the book. Having read the 3 previous books (also not very impressive) this last installment in particular is more appropriate for adutlts!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bywrformica November 6, 2009
 

Kid review

I love this book!!!!!!! I read it when i was 10. I am eleven and it was great. There were a couple not to goos things. There were sweres such as S**t and D**n. Bella dosen't listen to wat will save her life
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 4, 11, and 14 year old Written byLoving November 1, 2009
 

Breaking Dawn- Good book, but only for teens

I think, like most parents, that it's not appropriate for kids or tweens. If your child reads this book, I recommend asking if any part is disturbing to them. Talking to them about issues such as violence and sex is a good idea.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written bymoonstark October 24, 2009
 

good reading for mothers/daughters

I loved the series myself and have enjoyed reading them along with both my daughters (one adult and the other a teen). I would not recommend it for any child under 12 and would suggest it be read by parents first. I didn't have any major issues with any of the series. I believe parents need to determine if their child has a clear understand of the difference between fantasy and reality and then make their decision
Parent of a 7, 10, 11, 13, and 15 year old Written byLisa mom to 5 October 23, 2009
 

great read... for adults.

I liked this book but it was too mature for my 13 yr old. Sadly she read it several times before me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymydaughtersucks October 19, 2009
 

for ages 11 and up

you guys give that book to your kids and let them read it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written bykutie.sweetie September 26, 2009
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycaitlin89 September 17, 2009
 

Awesome, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 12!

There were a lot of negative reviews for this book. But I really liked it! I am a big fan of the Twilight Saga. The sex wasn't too descriptive and was left mostly to the reader's imagination. The only part that would be a cause for concern is The birth scene (Quite gory!, but I didn't mind it because it was very realistic for the circumstances!) and possibly parts of Bella's pregnancy and When she becomes a vampire. No, it isn't comparable to Harry Potter or any other fantasy book I have read. I have people asking me to compare constantly. If you like the literary side of reading, different vocabulary and a really great (and complicated) story, Harry Potter is for you. If you want a good story with basic language and something easy to get into, Twilight is Good!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages