Common Sense Media says

Well-crafted tale of an orphan's search for home.

Users say

(out of 50 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bynerdgirl96 January 16, 2011

definitly deserves its awards

I love this book! It has some sad parts but still manages to be funny some of the time. I really like Bud; he has such an interesting perspective on life. I enjoyed Bud Caldwell's Rules and Things for Having a Funner Life and Making a Better Liar Out of Yourself. One thing I really like about Christopher Paul Curtis is that he writes about African-Americans in the North, who you don't hear as much about as those in the South.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byassaneopare April 27, 2009
Teen, 17 years old Written byBurninHot_1311 April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written byber10her January 12, 2010

read it

it is a good book and i think kids and parent should read it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 October 13, 2009

One of my favorite books of all time

"Bud, Not Buddy" is (in my opinion) a fantastic tale about an orphan boy in the Depression era who's on a search for his father. It has colorful characters, twists, and plenty of emotion. I read it as an assignment for school, but bought it because I liked it so much.
What other families should know
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written bymomfizz January 8, 2015

Good Historical FICTION for teens!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book as an adult! HOWEVER, realizing the influence literature can have over young readers I think it should be viewed similarly to PG-13 movie, with adults and kids conversing over topics. The first five chapters had some intense parts (i.e. DESCRIPTIVE fight scene between boys, issues with gun in the house, kid being locked in a shed)! If you as parent read those chapters and conclude its ok for your child then the rest of book should work. It would prove BENEFICIAL for someone to help children process these events, especially the gun episode because the main character goes into emotionally-charged detail as he imagines using the gun on an adversary (seems like schools would be cautious of this as our country deals with school shootings). There is a kiss and a reminisce of the kiss in Chap 8 during which the main character, who is age 10, states "...I FINALLY kissed a girl." When discussing this with my 10 year old (who had to read this for school), he confirmed my suspicions that this had strong potential to suggest that 10 is too long to have gone without kissing and that it should be rectified. Read by a 13 year old, this statement would be seen through a humorous lens and with the exaggeration that I think the author probably intended , but a 10 year old interpretation could have more serious implications. The use of the word "finally" changes the meaning and makes it a little too close to home for a 10 year old to read and a discussion of it would help the reader develop a more accurate self-awareness.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written byjustinflores557 September 30, 2015

Read this book

I recommend the book(Bud, not Buddy) to the age i put because it teaches them about the great depression.The story has a sad part to it when poor Bud was going to live with a foster home , which he didn't like like.He had to conquer this big mean boy named Todd who he had to live with.This book is for good for the people who read it that feel bud"s feeling in that time he was living.why the book is meant for good to stop racism like the the whites always didn't like the blacks.I recommend this book who like about history and the past.I gave put this book under the category educational, great messages ,and has good role models. First this book teaches kids about the depression and how racism is a huge problem.The book will teach you kids how bud lived is like in a terrible time but he had his ups and downs threw the way to find his dad.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 8, 2011

okay

i think this book should only be read by older kids but over all it was not that bad .
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byMomma Dukes May 16, 2010

Good Book for 9+

My son loved the book, because Bud was great character! He also enjoyed the storyline. Good Read!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeds43@aol.com April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written byAngelcooki March 1, 2012

BEST BOOKI READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!!

The best book I've read in my entire life!!!So touching and sad.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 8, 2011

cool

ok
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 24, 2011

terribul for kids, cool for teens!

it is terribil. Bud gets locked up in a shed overnight, scared because of what his foster parents told him, "there's a blood stain on the floor from the last kid who was in there! And the one before that had a bug stuck in his ear and it didn't come out!" the foster parent really lock him in the dark shed all night! And when he tries to get out he finds they put dead fish heads on the door handle! and they tell him that there are vampire bats in the shed, Bud finds one. then he wacks it with a rake and it's really a hornet's nest all the hornets attack kim and then he finds a way out and has to fend for himself on the street! i don't like this book at all! oh, and it says an unpositave word!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byderay2010 January 11, 2010

bud not buddy

I like this book but in class wen my teacher reads it i go to sleep
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2009

Great

It is a great book even though I haven't read ALL of it. Sexual behavior is when someone dips someones hand in warm water while there sleeping and they "wet the bed"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written byEragonfan April 9, 2008

Great Book!

This book remind me of Forest Gump, in which many oddities happen in his life. This is a well written book and should be read by all. Yes, there is some violence, but it's not too bad Stars: 5 Not for children 8 and under
Kid, 11 years old September 8, 2013

Bud, Not Buddy

Bud, Not Buddy is a historical-fiction taking place during the Great Depression. It talks about a young orphan boy, Bud, wanting to find his father, after his mother passed away. But all he had was rocks and posters as clues of who his father was. As Bud set out to find his father, he runs away from his abusive foster family, meets a man who takes him to Great Rapids, and ends up meeting the man who was actually Bud's grandfather, not his father. I thought this book was an average book because it was easy to read and was really straight-forward. The book just states what was happening, without much suspense. Though the book wasn't the most interesting, the book talks about the struggles and accomplishments that people had during the Great Depression. It is like a mini history textbook written in a kid's point of view. To conclude, I would recommend this book to readers who want something simple, yet educational, to read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 5, 2012

My favorite book!

I love this book, and my old 3rd-4th grade teacher (yes, I had the same teacher for 2 years) loves it too. My friend recommended it to me, since she was still reading it at the time and liked it. The book is just so entertaining! During a cheesy 45-minute weekly school library visit, I managed to read 90 pages (we have lots of activities there, so that's quite a lot). It was just that good! In the book, Bud and some people (if I said who he went with, it would be a spoiler) go to a place called the "Laughing Jackass", but that language is expected for the time period. Also, a man tells Bud what the whites are saying about black people on banners on their houses, and he has to "clean up the language" for Bud. One of the words he says is "Negro", so I think you know what the banners actually said. This book is great! -Samantha (chocolatecake123)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages