All member reviews for Bud, Not Buddy

Common Sense Media says

Well-crafted tale of an orphan's search for home.
 

Users say

(out of 45 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byleftbehindcrazed8 January 24, 2012
 

Amazing!

Great book! I read it in 5th grade with my class and all of us had a great time reading it! The only thing I would point out is that there is some tame violence, such as when Bud's foster parents lock him in a shed for the night, and one innocent kiss between two ten-year-olds. This will keep kids laughing and grasping onto it until the last page! Great pick for kids :-D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 8, 2011
 

cool

ok
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2011
 

great book

i read this book in school and its pretty good.i think its ok for mature 8+ he kisses a girl and his foster brother beats him up and he carries a knife and almost stabbed someone
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2011
 

Bud,was dissapointing

I personally did not like this book, they never got to the point and the end was confusing.
Kid, 11 years old March 12, 2011
 

Historical report!

This was a great book, I just read it because I had to pick a historical fiction book, it was a good book but just not my type I perfer mysteries. It is a good book overall.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byMomma Dukes May 16, 2010
 

Good Book for 9+

My son loved the book, because Bud was great character! He also enjoyed the storyline. Good Read!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byderay2010 January 11, 2010
 

bud not buddy

I like this book but in class wen my teacher reads it i go to sleep
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 10, 2009
 

bud not buddy

loveit
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old February 24, 2009
 

Great!

i love this book! read it!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeds43@aol.com April 9, 2008
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
 

Liar Liar pants on fire!!!!!

This is a great book for kids from ages 10-13.
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookz April 9, 2008
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byEragonfan April 9, 2008
 

Great Book!

This book remind me of Forest Gump, in which many oddities happen in his life. This is a well written book and should be read by all. Yes, there is some violence, but it's not too bad Stars: 5 Not for children 8 and under
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bytimo16 April 9, 2008
 
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
 
Adult Written bybjmoomey April 9, 2008
 

Great book!

This is an excellent way to introduce The Great Depression to kids in 5th or 6th grade (or even older). It's true to life in the period and very well written. An audio version or read-aloud would be good for most kids because it would make the passages of dialogue in dialect easier for them to understand.

Pages