All member reviews for Bud, Not Buddy

Common Sense Media says

Well-crafted tale of an orphan's search for home.
 

Users say

(out of 45 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bynerdgirl96 January 16, 2011
age 8+
 

definitly deserves its awards

I love this book! It has some sad parts but still manages to be funny some of the time. I really like Bud; he has such an interesting perspective on life. I enjoyed Bud Caldwell's Rules and Things for Having a Funner Life and Making a Better Liar Out of Yourself. One thing I really like about Christopher Paul Curtis is that he writes about African-Americans in the North, who you don't hear as much about as those in the South.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 17 years old Written byBurninHot_1311 April 9, 2008
Teen, 13 years old Written byassaneopare April 27, 2009
age 9+
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byber10her January 12, 2010
age 14+
 

read it

it is a good book and i think kids and parent should read it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2009
age 8+
 

Great

It is a great book even though I haven't read ALL of it. Sexual behavior is when someone dips someones hand in warm water while there sleeping and they "wet the bed"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 October 13, 2009
age 8+
 

One of my favorite books of all time

"Bud, Not Buddy" is (in my opinion) a fantastic tale about an orphan boy in the Depression era who's on a search for his father. It has colorful characters, twists, and plenty of emotion. I read it as an assignment for school, but bought it because I liked it so much.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 8, 2011
age 18+
 

okay

i think this book should only be read by older kids but over all it was not that bad .
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 24, 2011
age 12+
 

terribul for kids, cool for teens!

it is terribil. Bud gets locked up in a shed overnight, scared because of what his foster parents told him, "there's a blood stain on the floor from the last kid who was in there! And the one before that had a bug stuck in his ear and it didn't come out!" the foster parent really lock him in the dark shed all night! And when he tries to get out he finds they put dead fish heads on the door handle! and they tell him that there are vampire bats in the shed, Bud finds one. then he wacks it with a rake and it's really a hornet's nest all the hornets attack kim and then he finds a way out and has to fend for himself on the street! i don't like this book at all! oh, and it says an unpositave word!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2010
age 11+
 

good for grades 3 and up

i am a student at morgan fitzgarald middle school. My reading teacher, Mrs Krausse , suplied us all with the book Bud, Not Buddy, to read and then return to her. We had this tape of someone reading it, chapter by chapter. I LOVED it!!! So did my other classmates in 6th grade. i think that every school should do this. i not only teaches you about the grate depersion, there may be new vocabulary that your familly can talk about and the unbeleving curage of a boy so yong as 9. it's inspiering......
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent Written bymomfizz January 8, 2015
age 13+
 

Good Historical FICTION for teens!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book as an adult! HOWEVER, realizing the influence literature can have over young readers I think it should be viewed similarly to PG-13 movie, with adults and kids conversing over topics. The first five chapters had some intense parts (i.e. DESCRIPTIVE fight scene between boys, issues with gun in the house, kid being locked in a shed)! If you as parent read those chapters and conclude its ok for your child then the rest of book should work. It would prove BENEFICIAL for someone to help children process these events, especially the gun episode because the main character goes into emotionally-charged detail as he imagines using the gun on an adversary (seems like schools would be cautious of this as our country deals with school shootings). There is a kiss and a reminisce of the kiss in Chap 8 during which the main character, who is age 10, states "...I FINALLY kissed a girl." When discussing this with my 10 year old (who had to read this for school), he confirmed my suspicions that this had strong potential to suggest that 10 is too long to have gone without kissing and that it should be rectified. Read by a 13 year old, this statement would be seen through a humorous lens and with the exaggeration that I think the author probably intended , but a 10 year old interpretation could have more serious implications. The use of the word "finally" changes the meaning and makes it a little too close to home for a 10 year old to read and a discussion of it would help the reader develop a more accurate self-awareness.
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2014
age 15+
 

If you like this book, you're dead to me.

My profile: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/users/epic-waffles This is the worst book of all time don't read it it's is horrible and boring. DON'T BOTHER READING IT!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byICONiac14 March 12, 2012
age 14+
 

Best Book Ever!

I think This Book Was Very Good! This Book is So Vivid, I use it In Almost All The Projects I Do For Reading.I read this Book Like 3 times!
Teen, 15 years old Written byCourtneyRheanne October 26, 2009
age 13+
 

best book ever.

Bud not Buddy is my favorite book, and It always will be.I first read this book in fifth grade, and I am still reading it till this day(: I have read it about 6 times. and every time I love it more. So if your looking for a good book. read BUD NOT BUDDY. hes journey is real aspiring.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymonkeypi May 27, 2012
age 9+
 

graet buk

i speak not english. book good. lots of love. sad. love the booook. cant stup reding.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old October 26, 2011
age 10+
 

good book

good book it did involve bud holding a gun so dont read to kids who cant handle boks with guns in it but other than that awesome book. exciting funny everything needed to make a book amazng
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old October 26, 2011
age 10+
 

Bud not Buddy

it is a wonderful book and it teaches kids how tough life was back in the 1800's
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bymomandbro April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Bud Not Buddy

is about a kid on the lam
Kid, 11 years old September 8, 2013
age 10+
 

Bud, Not Buddy

Bud, Not Buddy is a historical-fiction taking place during the Great Depression. It talks about a young orphan boy, Bud, wanting to find his father, after his mother passed away. But all he had was rocks and posters as clues of who his father was. As Bud set out to find his father, he runs away from his abusive foster family, meets a man who takes him to Great Rapids, and ends up meeting the man who was actually Bud's grandfather, not his father. I thought this book was an average book because it was easy to read and was really straight-forward. The book just states what was happening, without much suspense. Though the book wasn't the most interesting, the book talks about the struggles and accomplishments that people had during the Great Depression. It is like a mini history textbook written in a kid's point of view. To conclude, I would recommend this book to readers who want something simple, yet educational, to read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 5, 2012
age 10+
 

My favorite book!

I love this book, and my old 3rd-4th grade teacher (yes, I had the same teacher for 2 years) loves it too. My friend recommended it to me, since she was still reading it at the time and liked it. The book is just so entertaining! During a cheesy 45-minute weekly school library visit, I managed to read 90 pages (we have lots of activities there, so that's quite a lot). It was just that good! In the book, Bud and some people (if I said who he went with, it would be a spoiler) go to a place called the "Laughing Jackass", but that language is expected for the time period. Also, a man tells Bud what the whites are saying about black people on banners on their houses, and he has to "clean up the language" for Bud. One of the words he says is "Negro", so I think you know what the banners actually said. This book is great! -Samantha (chocolatecake123)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byAngelcooki March 1, 2012
age 8+
 

BEST BOOKI READ IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!!

The best book I've read in my entire life!!!So touching and sad.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages