All member reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Common Sense Media says

Classic morality tale is highly entertaining.
 

Users say

(out of 75 reviews)
age 7+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written byasad chishti August 2, 2010
 

i think it is best for every kid

i love this story
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 3, 2011
 
I love it and got me hungry!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byinduja July 26, 2010
 

d best book for all

its d best book u"ll find in a store or a library that is appropriate for ur kids of age 10+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 31, 2011
 

charlie and the chocolate factory is just so SWEET

An amazing book by an amazing author in the fantasy genre. This book started it all, and although I got annoyed by its swear-free but annoying historical-like language and unfunny opinions (such as Wonka stating that cereal was made from pencil shavings), this book is one of the best R. Dahl books I've ever read, one that I recommend to you if you haven't gotten a taste of Dahl's work.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byYour Grandma February 12, 2014
 

What? Hang on a second...

Willy Wonka at some point has one of his guests drink chocolate. Ick. Oh yeah, the guest also swears at the chocolate, gores it up, and then he sells the chocolate. And he also kind of learns his lesson, so that's ok I guess...
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written byMorniel July 10, 2010
 

Horror in the guise of "cute"

Roald Dahl's stories are among the darkest, most terrifying examples of the horror genre in existence. While they "reward" a so-called "good" child, they nonetheless portray depictions of abuse, including sexual abuse, extreme poverty and deprivation, and so on. They are far darker and more horrific than any "fairy tale", and the film adaptations (Gene Wilder, Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka, specifically) are even darker and more terrifying than the novels themselves. While "Chocolate Factory" is the best known of Dahl's novels, all of them, without exception, are entirely unsuitable for any child under the age of 15 or so. The books have no redeeming qualities for the age groups at which they are supposedly aimed, unless "redeeming" suddenly means nightmarish, upsetting, and terrifying.
Adult Written byLady Marmalade October 30, 2009
 

Marvelous fun.

While it certainly isn't educational in any manner, this book is a real gem. The amount of creativity that is contained within is exceptional, even 7 years after reading it I can still see the influence that this book, and all of the other fine books Mr. Dhal has written on my girl. Of course that might also be the reason for her insatiable sweet tooth...
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old March 25, 2011
 

BRILLIANT

It is BRILLIANT and very exciteing i could not get my head out of it until i had finshed
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byjcsoblonde April 9, 2008
 

1 of the best books for kids...

this is one of the greatest books u can ever buy ur kid. i got it wen i was younger and i just loved it!! everything a kid dreams of: unfair treatment getting punished, enablement to "fly", and of course what every kid loves, candy and chocolate...and endless supply...it has no bad morals in it, actually it teaches something parent want to hammer into kids heads, "be good"...all the characters who misbehave and are well "brats" basiclly are justly punished, and the good hero is rewarded. the book is unique in itself, and its full of laughter and amazing twists and quirks! ur kid will love it!
Kid, 2 years old February 3, 2014
 

Best.Book.EVER!!!!!

This is one of the best books i have read.If you have a child that loves candy and loves Rouald Dahl,then your kids willl love this!!!! The only thing is since this story is placed on the old times,when Agustus fell in the chocolate and struggled to get out,Wonka said A..
Parent Written byjai chand rathore September 15, 2011
 

book friendly

welldone
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byvery nice book November 24, 2010
 

charlies chocalate factory

i love it!! its good not so bad fine
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bypoplol5052 March 11, 2009
 

charlie and the chocolate factory

Adult Written bynbridges April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written byKiauna November 1, 2010
 

for kids ages 10+

I think that they should not have said sissy ass.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bypichoda October 22, 2010
 
i like it b coz it is very funny and v can learn a moral from it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 24, 2011
 

perfect for everyone

i loved it so much i could just stick my head in it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byYannaLovesYou January 6, 2011
 
i love it so much :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 10 year old Written byjkj April 19, 2010
 

Author Study Review

It's a great book that a lot of kids love because it's funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old March 20, 2010
 

love and hate

I love it but I know it is so bad

Pages