All member reviews for Chasing Vermeer

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A mystery, fantasy, and imaginative launch pad.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byfitzygrl10 September 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

one of my favorites

A really interesting plot, i enjoyed this book very much. It teaches kids to expand their horizons and look and things in a new light. Petra and Calder are fairly good role models except when they lied to their parents at the end. Overall a must read
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old August 1, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good plot

I think this book is very good .I love how how you can decode the messages going back and forth between Calder and Tommy.I hear this book will be a motion picture in fall 2011.P.S look out for hidden pentominoes inn the drawings.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySky is the Limit November 6, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

An intriguing art-history-mystery combo

Chasing Vermeer impressed me to say the least. Math is involved, and contradicting what commonsensemedia said, I think Petra and Calder are good role models. They are determined, intelligent, a little quiet, and not afraid to be themselves. Yes, they lie to their parents and sneak out, but there are consequences to their actions (almost getting burned up inside a building). Both Petra and Calder are from a mish-mash of cultures and racial backgrounds, and it's really quite refreshing to see two unique characters in one book. Calder is pushed off of a slide and is hurt, but it's not graphic. A bully in their class makes some snide comments but nothing really to worry about here.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookmarklqj April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Educator and Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byitseeker December 26, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for tweens, but younger kids may not be able to follw the story line

What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old May 24, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a mystery????????

well to start off this book is about where these kids get these letters and they are on a mission trying to solve the vermeer painting and they cant show anyone or tell anyone about the letter. if they do they will face the consequences. try to solve the mystery!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Suspenseful and Marvelous

This was a good book, period.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Gotta-have book!

Who stole Vermeer's art work????? This story is a mystery kind of like CLUE... There are mysteries and answers on every page!!!!!!!!!!! It's a must read for every age
Adult Written byyara_younan@yah... January 21, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was the best book i ever read+ i love mysteries
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byTaphari'sbaegirl March 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Chasing vermeer

I think that this book is really intersting and that they should read it to see what happeneds in the story... Maybe they would get interesting in that book....
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byunknown person June 10, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A mystery must-read

A superior book. Like fish caught in a hook, it draws you in. This is a must-read. Fantasy-lovers will even devour this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymysterygirl99 October 9, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

perfect for ages 12 and up

It is awesome. Has some inappropriate stuff, but very good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old September 18, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

perfect for all ages.

love it awsome you should try it whoever is reading this.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Chasing Vermeer

Kid, 12 years old September 17, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Chasing Vermeer

Good story; good story. I had to read this book for summer reading, so I didn't really have a choice! The first 9/10 of this book is EXTREMELY mind-numbing. I could die of boredom! But, the final few chapters are very exciting and fun to read. The book educates kids about art and some math. The main characters are good role models, and it has good messages!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMolly B. April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byschuymarch1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A must read book for anyone...

This book is real exciting. I really like mystery novels, so this was perfect for me.
Teen, 15 years old Written byKass April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not to be missed

When I first saw Chasing Vermeer in the store the same week it was released nearly three years ago, I was instantly intrigued. I read it straightaway. Since then, I've read it an additional half a dozen times and it’s become one of my favorite childhood books. After all, what's not to like? Mature middle school readers will be delightful the two unconventional characters, tossed headfirst into an international art scandal, and left to solve it use patchy clues, intuition, and chance. Furthermore, they’ll undoubtedly be captivated by Blue Balliet’s introductions to Chicago, Johannes Vermeer, Lo!, pentominoes, etc.; so much so, as a matter of fact, that they may chose to do a bit of investigating of their own.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypauli43 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY